State University of New York Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workspace
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 12, 2017
Great place to learn and grow. A typical work day was pretty relaxing. Workload was never too heavy. Not too much overhead management. Fun environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchase Printshop: very close to my heart
Part-time Printshop Monitor (Former Employee) –  Purchase, NYJuly 9, 2017
I loved working at the Printshop on the SUNY purchase campus. It is an excellent side gig for any printmaking major. But in order to get the job, you need to show the shop manager you can be trusted.
Pros
On campus. Fun environment.
Cons
Stressful dealing with students. A little disorganised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fredonia, NYJune 30, 2017
I worked as a teaching assistant for Fredonia, and the people who run the school seem to not really care for the students. More about how they look/making money. The professors care at least, not the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Decent.
technical support and customer service (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 16, 2017
Slow paced environment and not enough pay incentives. They need to treat employees with more respect and provide an opportunity for employees to grow within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
Only complaint is compensation, Workplace is excellent. Students are highly motivated and engaged in the learning process. Management is extremely competent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most professional, knowledgable, and supportive department
Adjunct Professor/ University Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New Paltz, NYMay 31, 2017
My three years working as an Adjunct Professor and University Supervisor were the happiest years since my retirement from public school. My colleagues are caring and extremely passionate about educating our future special educators!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for personal growth
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canton, NYMay 25, 2017
This job, although challenging, is great for professional and personal growth. It also covers your room/board and meal plan charges, which saves you from paying an extra $7000 on your bill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyable place to work that prioritized productivity over micromanagement
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 1, 2017
I performed experiments in the field of water treatment by investigating the formation of disinfection byproducts in drinking water. From this experience, I became trained in analytical chemistry, learned effective presentation skills, and improved by technical writing.

The most difficult part of this job was learning analytical chemistry techniques. The learning curve was steep. The part of the job I found most enjoyable was gathering data and presenting it so that my audience could easily understand it. My supportive lab group also made for a
Pros
flexible schedule, supportive staff
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the benefits...
Administrator/Manager (Current Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYApril 8, 2017
Terrible / non-existing on-boarding process! Not sure if it's SOP when working for the state, this particular office, or the education field as a whole, but awful experience! This is a center for learning, but honestly... I've NEVER had a position where I was expected to anticipate, ask, and seek my own answers to questions at a new job! This is a newly created position where the priorities and expectations change with each passing day! Smh...
Pros
State pension/benefits if you make it that long
Cons
On-boarding process, bigoted working environment, elitist attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  New Paltz, NYApril 1, 2017
This is a traditional 4 year institution that does not realize its own potential. Generally, staff are pleasant to work with. Thee is a definite distinction between adjunct and full time professors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about State University of New York?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Disciplined University
Post doctoral research associate (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMarch 24, 2017
State University of New York is a great university with wide campus, well equipped with knowledgeable faculty, staff and other scientific tools required for academic success.
Pros
Excellent faculty and working climate
Cons
Nothing that I know
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and fun work place
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  newpaltzMarch 14, 2017
it is a nice palce to work ,because of this position i improving my skills ,subject knowledge ,.the students area very good and talented.i am helping them to solve their doubts on aurdino projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Computer Technician (Current Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 11, 2017
This job was great. I would go to work and spend my day with campers. I would facilitate their activities and go with them on trips. It was a great experience overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern (Current Employee) –  Oneonta, NYFebruary 28, 2017
I interned for a head start program where i worked hand in hand with the family partner and this is where we set up goals with families to better themselves.
Pros
Good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Graduate School Experience
Master's Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 28, 2017
Very good professors
Extensive training in PK/PD modeling
Drug development
Drug delivery

Laboratory experience was extensive with thorough guidance
Experience in writing and presenting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to teach and learn
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYFebruary 25, 2017
State University of New York is a good school for gaining work experience for students.

I tutored Java and HTML to undergraduates and it was a fun experience. I got to learn many things while teaching them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Media Relations Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Paltz, NYFebruary 7, 2017
I was able to receive a wide background in digital marketing across media relations, social media, content creation. I worked with great supervisors and expanded skills after showing interest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Recreation Attendant (Former Employee) –  New Paltz, NYDecember 28, 2016
Had a good experience working there after graduating college from there. The athletic staff was very welcoming and nice. Learned a lot about the typical day to day for college coaches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge Experience
Hospital Business Office (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 20, 2016
Working at downstate I was in the billing department for outpatient.

I worked with 10 other co-workers. We all learned everything at the same time. we trained together and grew together.

The challenge was starting from scratch with others who did the same.

Overall a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Math Lab Tutor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 15, 2016
Ideal place for the student to help other students with math learning while making a little bit of money on the side. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and the time spent teaching reinforces the concepts for the tutor as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State University of New York. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 109 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

State University of New York Reviews by Location