Find companies:
State of Alaska
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

State of Alaska Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Aircraft Dispatcher (Former Employee), Fairbanks, AKSeptember 5, 2014
Working fire is a great way to earn money for college, while still attending college. I love the people and the places you get to travel if going on a fire assignment out of state, but it isn't enough to keep someone like me busy year round. It is a seasonal job. The long hours and weeks are manageable for the short amount of time you work there during – more... the year.

Management has been different every year, which makes for a difficult working relationship.

A great college/summer job or for those who have full time jobs in the winter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very detailed and proffesional work ethic with a laid back enviroment
Investigator II (Current Employee), Anchorage, AlaskaAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great learning enviroment, travel, laid back atmosphere
Cons: long hours, short lunches, short staffed
One begins the day reviewing cases and responding to emails. Then follow up with open cases while responding to incoming scene responses throughout the state of Alaska. Some scenes require travel most do not. My co-workers are professional and courteous. Some more positive than others. The hardest part of this job to me is responding to child and infant – more... deaths. I believe you are not normal if this does not affect you in some way. What I do love about this job is that it's something different everyday and not stuck in a rut or same old routine. The office is always open for broadening training and letting you attend educational conferences pertaining to the field of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good over all but far from perfect
Technician (Former Employee), JuneauJuly 27, 2014
Pros: reasonally good pay and benefits. job security if you can stand living in juneau.
Cons: apathetic and marginally competent management. extremely expensive housing. expensive medical care.
The good old boy system and nepotism are both alive and well, particularly in Juneau. The management was not adequately competent to effectively manage the technologies and talent that were at their disposal. One of my co-workers would occasionally throw temper tantrums at me and management would not address the matter until I threatened outside legal – more... action. Shirking and incompetence are tolerated due to being protected by a union and management not being willing to take on the union. Discrimination is rampant. I personally either witnessed or experienced discrimination for reasons of age, race, gender and not being from Alaska originally or having not lived there for many years. Most of the people there are friendly and helpful, but when they are not it can drastically effect your ability to do your job and there is no recourse because it is a small area and managers have known each other for many years, frequently play sports together and or go to the same gym,etc., and will not act if it could potentially put them in a contentious situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and exciting
Accountant IV (Former Employee), Juneau, AKJuly 17, 2014
A typical day at work involved preparing reports, reconciliations and handling inquiries from various outside sources and in state departments. I learned about the investment industry. The management was great as were my co-workers.The hardest part of the job was the challenge to meet strict deadlines which I always did. I loved the fact that I was – more... constantly learning and always busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED this position!
Administrative Clerk II (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 23, 2014
This position was with Public Assistance in Anchorage, Alaska. Our office served the villages on the coastal plains of Alaska. My typical daily duties were sorting paperwork and filing as well as answering phones. I learned several skills with this job in Microsoft Office.

The hardest part of this job was lifting boxes full of files.

The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was managing the file room, finding lost files and setting up files to be picked up by the archiving company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Loan/Collection Officer I (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 20, 2014
The State is a great place to work, if you are able to transfer to other departments. Where I am now there is no room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting clerk
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), Anchorage,AKJune 10, 2014
All Accounting tasks associated with criminal, civil and minor offense cases.
Reconciling transaction data by report (Deposit Register) and maintain a spreadsheet of all payments posted.
Respond to inquiries from defendants, courts, and other agencies regarding account status.
Balance Suspense accounts and auditing debtors account and reports for errors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment with a variety of tasks.
Ferry Terminal Assistant I (Former Employee), Juneau, AlaskaJune 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits, variety of tasks, positive work environment.
Cons: minimal chances to advance.
My position performed a variety of tasks. Selling tickets, customer assistance, answering phones, warehouse management, landscaping, snow-plowing, heavy equipment operating, security, maintain cleanliness of terminal and surrounding areas, tying up large passenger vessels and other duties as needed. My co-workers were wonderful people to work with. – more... The hardest part of my work day would be tying up ships in pouring rain/freezing weather, while helping travelers was my most enjoyable part of my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated, professional team, good work / life balance
Advisor to State of Alaska Time & Attendance (Current Employee), Juneau AlaskaMay 24, 2014
Pros: professionalism
Cons: no free coffee :)
Start early to end early and enjoy the summer time. Winter folks work longer due to shorter daylight. Great team, great management. Truly professional, dedicated and hard working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Managment Operations Center, plenty to do every day.
Emergency Management Specialist (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKMay 8, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: people in charge resist change/improvements
We are on the cutting edge of emergency management in many things, but decades behind in many others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work
CHAPLAIN ASSISTANT STATE OF ALASKA (Former Employee), Eagle River, AKMarch 30, 2014
Pros: meeting many new people
The hardest part of this job was the location. The best part of this job was meeting new people and being able to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place, fast paced and delivered great services to the patrons.
Lead Dishwasher (Former Employee), Eagle River, AKMarch 18, 2014
Pros: fast paced, meeting new people everyday
Cons: no healthcare plan
A typical day at work consisted of me greetind and helping customers with their purchases. I would make sure that the merchandise was well stocked, and the store clean. I learned how to use a computerized register for sale item and gasoline. The management team was the owners. They were kind and kept the store running effeciently. The hardest part of – more... the job was staying behind the register when therw were no customers in the store because I like to stay busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers and making their day better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying but Satisfying
Investigator III (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits, stable work
Cons: emotionally draining at times
I learned all the ins and outs of taking a criminal case to trial, both misdemeanors and felonies. I spent my day researching documents, listening to interviews, conducting my own interviews, and looking for anything that might assist in defense of our clients. The co-workers are wonderful, most of the people that work here are true believers in the – more... justice system. The hardest part of the job is losing a case that you felt you should have won. The most enjoyable is watching your client receive a not guilty verdict. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
confusing
Communications Technician (Former Employee), Anchorage, AkJanuary 31, 2014
as with most governmental agencies, this one seems to concentrate on only putting out fires and dwelling on the beauracracy instead of focusing on preventative maintenance and improvement. sometimes everything flows smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional experience to experience social services on a state level.
Children's Protective Specialist (Former Employee), Juneau, AKJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: travel to remote villages and interaction with diversified cultures.
Cons: very, very long work hours, degree of substance abuse in the native community, lack of law enforcement backup.
I loved the state of Alaska! Alaska was always on my bucket list. I returned to be closer to my family. I'd worked for the Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians, but wanted the experience in social services working for a state agency. Exceptional employees with genuine concern for the community. I travelled a great deal throughout southeast Alaska. Many of – more... the communities I covered could only be reached by ferry or small airplane. The most difficult part of the job is the degree of substance abuse in remote villages and communities. I absolutely loved my experience in Alaska! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Employment Security Specialist lA (Former Employee), FairbanksJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: great teamwork, management and work environment
Cons: was only a temporary position
I worked at the Unemployment Claim Center, answering phones in a queue, opening unemployment claims and adjudicating nonmonetary decisions. I was hired on long term temporary position. I learned so much about the codes and laws that govern unemployment in the State of Alaska and learned how to be accountable for my work and be more detail oriented. – more... When I worked for them it was the beginning of the federal emergency unemployment compensation and the work load was staggering. The whole office worked productively and diligently under the supervision of the one of the best supervisors that I have ever worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Productive and Dedicated workplace.
Office Assistant I (Current Employee), Dutch Harbor, AKDecember 11, 2013
Pros: meet great people.
Cons: seasonal job
Data entry most days. I have learned so much about the condition on our oceans. Everyone is on the same page. It is hard to take mandatory seasonal leave. It is nice to have holidays off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of Alaska / Accountant II
Accountant II (Current Employee), Juneau, AKDecember 6, 2013
Pros: benefits, job security
A typical day at work involves routine and structure. I learned to request additional work to keep busy and contribute to the work environment. Management varies, best recommendation is to establish expectations of the working relationship to maximize potential. Generally co-workers are friendly, helpful, and cooperative. The hardest part of the job – more... is to get your supervisors to delegate additional duties. The most enjoyable part of the job is the environment including the pleasant co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (Current Employee), Fairbanks, AKDecember 4, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: resources in community limited
Small office with a team orientation. Serve individuals with a disability providing services to help them with employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good schedule of work hours, Enjoyable working in retirement home
Permanent employee (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 29, 2013
Pros: good work schedule and great team of co-workers
Cons: not full time (40 hours) available and dishwashing
Typical day included working throughout the kitchen at the Pioneer Retirement Home. Food service to over 200 elders, that included the preparation of food and dietary drinks. The storage of products, and properly stocking all kitchen products. Being a waiter and general elderly care services. All duties within accordance of the Municipal, State and – more... Federal public health, social and food services. I learned a lot how the flow of big kitchens need to be handled and executed to give people the services they need. Management was good and gave good direction in how to execute the procedures needed. Had a great team of co-workers that knew how to get the job done efficiently and safely. The part least enjoyable about the job was the dishes after breakfast/lunch/dinner service due to serving the entire home at once however not overly consuming. The best part of the job was the free food! Only if there was left over from the food service but the cooks always kept us fed. – less