State of Arkansas Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 51 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frequently understaffed
Program Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARAugust 11, 2016
This workplace is very much government regulated. There are very tight deadlines for all work. The management was kind and tried to work with people within the perimeters they were allowed. Pay is low for such a multi-faceted job and does not increase with the skills and additional programs you learn. There is little opportunity for advancement. Most people hired in retire in the same position.

There is a lot of time off earned. The longer you work there the more hours off per month you earn. The benefits are average for most professional positions.
Pros
Consistency in hours and time off earned
Cons
High stress and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most boring job ever
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport, AR 72112July 5, 2016
I filled a position that was not needed. All I did was sit and wait to be told what to do and the lady that I was hired to help was never at work. This job held lots of potential and I feel like I was short changed because of who I got stuck with. I was originally hired for a different position but on my first day of employment they changed it up on me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the State of Arkansas
UNEMPLOYMENT SERVICES (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARJune 6, 2016
• Provided guidance to individuals during the process of filing for unemployment.
• Created an Arkansas Job Link (AJL) portfolio for each citizen seeking a job and helped direct them to a new career path.
• Performed miscellaneous administrative duties.

I learned how to communicate and show compassion for those looking for jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appears to be a Company that I could be happy as an employee.
Client Instructor (Current Employee) –  Nashville, AR 71852April 26, 2016
I have not previously worked here, but I have heard good reviews. It would very interesting and fast paced, with interaction with others.
Pros
insurance
Cons
none that I know of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
DFA Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 9, 2016
Excellent management and great benefits. You receive paid leave time sick and annual with all holidays paid off and inclement weather days.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average assessment
Workforce Specialist (Veterans)/Human Resource (Current Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARJanuary 30, 2016
Good to have State employment experience. Management has open door and easy to commuicate. Patience is key with workiing in the public landscape. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obtained additional skills
Auditor/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 25, 2016
The overall experience working at the State of Arkansas, DFA Office of Personnel Management and Criminal Detention Facility Review was a great learning experience that offered profound insight and education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent institution
RN license (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 21, 2016
excellent mental health facility in the state, working as a nurse brings great reward. The physicians are very skilled and professional
Pros
good nursing care
Cons
food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an awesome company, fun , challenging and rewarding.
territory manager (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, AEJanuary 18, 2016
Responsible for recruiting, interviewing and training potential and new agents.
● Conduct daily office meetings.
● Analyze agent reports and train on areas of improvement.
● Assist agents with daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual goal setting.
● Trained daily on product knowledge, closing techniques and roll playing.
Pros
Continually training and support, great commission structure, recognition and trips
Cons
Charge backs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Health Service Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJanuary 8, 2016
I provide services to the Public in regards to Immunizations and WIC. I do intake for these services that require expierence with different Insurance companies and working with all Races and Ethinicities. It is great to be able to help provide nutritional supplements for Women, Infant and Children in need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran around on my feet all day. Fast paced. Loved it.
Claimstajer (Former Employee) –  El DoradoOctober 20, 2015
I was the first contact for anyone applying for unemployment benefits. Because of extensive unemployment experience, I knew what everyone needed to do to apply for benefits or move forward with their claim. I didn't have a desk because I didn't have time or the need to sit down. The position was funded for only a short time. When the funding ran out, I was gone.
Pros
Positive, supportive management and co-workers
Cons
Unemployed eope are not hapy people...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
FISCAL SUPPORT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARSeptember 16, 2015
Wonderful manager and co-workers.

Not enough work to do. Busy at times then looking for work to do.

Political work environment.
Pros
2 breaks each day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Buyer, Office of State Procurement (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 16, 2015
Great co-workers that care about their job and you. If the pay was better I would never leave my job. Leadership is amazing and we get family time off during the summer and winter.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Tax Auditor II (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 4, 2015
No room for growth here. Not made for someone fresh out of college that's eager to learn. Typical job for someone that is more settled.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Shirley, ArkansasJune 15, 2015
I like substitute teaching except for the fact that I don't get to interact much with the children. On the other side of that sometimes in this particular setting, there was no instructions left for the kids to fill in the time while their teacher was gone which lead to chaos. Everyone is very friendly in a small school system.
Pros
Children are great
Cons
Nothing for the kids to do except go wild.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high volume work environment with plenty to eat.
Dept of Finance & Admin (Former Employee) –  Little RockJune 10, 2015
A typical dayat work consisted of taking 30-40 calls per day in regards to mtor vehicle titling, registration and insurance rquirements for the state of Arkansas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of employment yet a stagnant and impassable position
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  ARMay 26, 2015
Professionally, pleasantly greet guests
Learned to appear busy
Management needs management
Co-workers pleasant to work with
Appearing busy when work is done
Going home
Pros
Permanent position with benefits
Cons
Hard for ethnic interoffice personnel to move up or get promotions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great vacation spot for the outdoor enthusiast! Five star accommodations.
Facility Manager (Former Employee) –  Mt. Magazine, Paris, ARApril 7, 2015
Loved the clients/guests....favorite was working banquets/special events. Proud of our State Park system. Mt. Magazine is definitely top of the charts as best place to visit in Arkansas.
Great employees. Best benefits. Only downfall was inconsistent hours....never knew when you worked or days off....took all my time away from family.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Inconsistent work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers
Program Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee) –  Little RockApril 1, 2015
The best part of my day is having such fun and supportive co-workers, where we can all carry out the objective of Arkansas Services
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work enviroment
Department Of Motor Finance, Title Examiner (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 20, 2015
It was 8:00 to 4:30 and it was a nice place to work. Always got along with my co workers. Management was good. The best part of my job with the state was paid holidays.
Pros
had good benenfits.
Cons
not enough pay for thew job that was being performed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Arkansas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8