State of California Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Recreation Orderly (Former Employee) –  Herlong, CANovember 18, 2017
working in california is great. i love the job offers that are open to me in this state and enjoy meeting and working with others. i would love to retire in this state
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great pay
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 13, 2017
Good job , great pay and supervisors are family oriented . Good hours, and very relaxed office lots of potlucks from supervisors , lots of room to grow
Pros
Free food, good pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Security and Job Advancement
Department Manager, Fraud Prevention (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 12, 2017
I highly recommend the State of California. It has great job security and you can move through the ranks easily. The State offers great benefits and good salaries. It is considered one employer but has many different agencies and positions to choose from. You can make your career with the State of California.
Pros
Great Benefits, Great Job Security, Room for Advancement
Cons
Getting in from the outside can be challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy
Maintenance Appliance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Corona, CANovember 11, 2017
working for this company It was great but there is a lot of lack in spending time with family and being home with children. Its great pay you get great benefits but is was stressful when it came to missing out of my child's growth at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding, and very rewarding.
Fire Watch Crew Manager (Former Employee) –  Norco, CANovember 9, 2017
This type of work is not for everyone. It is the hardest type of labor imaginable, and you are doing it under extreme conditions at all hours, often with little sleep. It is however very rewarding, and the fact that it will have you in the best shape of your life is very, very gratifying.
Pros
High energy. Outdoors. Fed very very well.
Cons
Dangerous terrain. Working with little or no sleep. The heat and smoke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was prison
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Chowchilla, CANovember 6, 2017
I was working for the prison. no one in their right mind would like to be an inmate and work for them only making .12 cents an hour. I know I would never do it again.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Porter (Former Employee) –  Avenal, CANovember 5, 2017
It was a good experience. Changed from working in the kitchen to working as a porter. Learned a lot of team player skills, how to work together as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh work place
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaNovember 3, 2017
Don't forget you are just a number. Who you are or what you do for the state means nothing. Great pay great benefits other than that not a good work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly toxic then; is it possible to have changed much?
Temporary Accountant (Former Employee) –  OC Fair & Event Center in Costa Mesa CAOctober 30, 2017
During the time I worked for the Orange County Fairgrounds & Event Center, it had a very political, negative, nasty culture. The people in mid-management and supervisory positions knew little if anything about the departments they oversaw - apparently they were promoted based on politics, nepotism, and cronyism. This place was HUGE on allowing and even promoting bullying. I don't know what it is like now, but be prepared for the worst.
Pros
Insurance, reasonable hours
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to work for if u have Patients
Elderly Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Alhambra, CAOctober 28, 2017
I love my job. I work well with my clients. I make sure they are happy and up to date on everything. Working on my own has definitely been a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAOctober 25, 2017
Volunteering for the State of California was one of the best things I ever did. It was a real life lesson on how to take care of other people.
I cooked for about 4000 women. witch was a lesson in it's self.
Pros
free time
Cons
felt like you were locked in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office environment very professional
Financial Program Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 21, 2017
Job was being assigned a projects such as determine if a grant was given to a company or nonprofit to perform specific duties within a specified budget.

1. Immediately after being assigned a project I would go to the
agency that gave out the grant.

2. Review the grant.

3. Contact the entity that received the grant and set up a time to
review their records and the work that was performed by the
entity

4. Travel to the entity and perform the above steps.

5. Write a report on the conclusions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to learn and work.
RECYCLE WORKER I (Former Employee) –  Chino, CAOctober 20, 2017
A good experience , learning how to work with a diverse environment of people . Good time management and the ability to follow simple instructions. was glad for the opportunity to learn all tha was available.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
no career growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement , low pay, no assistance, no job security
Caregiver. IHSS (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CAOctober 17, 2017
would rather work with more patients, instead of one.would like a company behind me. would like night, grave yard shift. would enjoy a variety of patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunities
staff information systems analyst (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 16, 2017
The jobs vary greatly but in all my positions I stayed very busy, which I loved. Lots of variety. There are many opportunities if you work hard and test for promotions. The hardest part of the job was understanding the inefficiency of how things were done and the micromanagement.
Pros
good benefits, lots of opportunties
Cons
micromanagement, inefficient way of doing things
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Custodian (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 16, 2017
A typical day at work is get the job done.Sacramento assists employees. Management like any other place ok. The fact that we are High Gov. standard is what makes this place work. We are devoted.
Pros
They would try to help you.
Cons
Pay day is once A month.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Motor Vehicle Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CA 92374October 15, 2017
Applying policy and law to all transactions. Working in a fast paced environment and have to be flexible as to laws and policy always changing. Once a policy in the morning may not be in the afternoon.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Corcoran, CAOctober 12, 2017
Going to work there was sometimes very stressful, you never knew what the day would bring. you never knew if you were going home at the end of your shift.
Pros
pay
Cons
risky environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CA can be a fun place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaOctober 11, 2017
I call my patients and set up my visit schedule for the day.I have learned that time management is essential in order to be successful in the California work environmeent
Pros
Many available jobs
Cons
Over abundance of competition for jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tehachapi, CAOctober 8, 2017
To obtain this job is not recommended. The requirements are minimal. Training is provided. Assignment is at discretion of assignment Luitenat.I do not recommend this job.
Pros
Training
Cons
Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of California. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 374 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7