State of Georgia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a relaxed environment
Family Independence Case Manager I (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 25, 2017
The job I had was stressful sometimes because caseloads were too heavy. They had a lot of people getting paid as caseworkers but were not actually working as caseworkers.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Heavy caseloads 2609
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay sucks
DOL Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  Statewide, GAOctober 23, 2017
The Georgia Dept of Labor asks for college degrees but pays most of the employees less than $30,000 a year. Most range between $22,000 and $27,000. Fast food workers earn more.
Pros
Vacation and Sick Days
Cons
low pay, outdated software and no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment place to work
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 27, 2017
I rather keep most of my comments private.
The State of GA has been overall a good place to work or as a career as the type of work has changed over the years. More open training could be helpful.
Pros
Hours flexibilty
Cons
Lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Type atomsphere
Customer Service Agent II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 30, 2017
Enjoyed working with this company I also enjoyed the friends that I met It was a great place to work I wish I had stayed and not resigned The supervisors and managers where a great group of people.
Pros
Learn about mortages and loans
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Counselor Assisant (Current Employee) –  Cumming, GAAugust 16, 2017
It has been a nice place to work. The staff is very pleasant to work with. The work location is key for someone who is looking to stay close. I love the hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational place to work
Driver Services (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GAAugust 9, 2017
I have nothing to critical to say about my work place. I believe there should be more diversity training. There is a glass ceiling with no many opportunity for advancement. I believe that there should be an annual salary evaluation. Employees are paid below their worth.
Pros
medical benefits
Cons
professional advancement limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work hard and long hours. Pay not worth the work.
Eligibility Specialist Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2017
Overall 3 stars. Pay is not worth the work you have to put in. They need to hire more case mangers as work load is excessive. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OR-Supervisor-Tech.scrub students
LPN (Former Employee) –  FloridaJuly 6, 2017
6:30AM-change cloths-check in with students. Give room assignments from scheduled surgery/day

Assess students for sterile technique/ make appropriate assistance or scrub in myself to assist and teach.

Culture was great. The OR is very exciting

I loved being back in the Operating Room! It's the best place to work.
Pros
It's like a family
Cons
Not hiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the State of Ga was very stressful and could be at times very over whelming.
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Valdosta, GAJune 30, 2017
Work for the State in corrections take a certain type of person. Not a judge mental person but someone who can access situations and adapt to them. I enjoy working and staying busy, so at the prisons it wasn't hard. I give a hundred percent day in and day out and go home knowing I earned a days honest pay.
Pros
14 holidays a year
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok job
Case Manager/Agent III (Current Employee) –  Valdosta, GAJune 22, 2017
Its an ok job. I have experienced to many changes at this job. I would not say any thing other than that. I would rather keep my comments to myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatcher
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Matthews, GAJune 13, 2017
Awesome place to work. The people are nice and willing to work along side you. They will help in any possible. I would recommend this place for sure. I would be willing to work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harassment and Discriminated
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 8, 2017
I worked with the State for less than 6 months and this was the most stressful job, I have ever had. My direct supervisor had not communication skill and when I made a complete with HR I was terminated. Working in Behavioral Health made me need an outside counselor just to deal with this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt Place
Health Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 6, 2017
The managers here turn a blind eye to employees not performing their jobs for the benefit of their patients. Excess overtime because of the high turnover. The pay is terrible and the staff are extremely low skilled.
Cons
Inept, Unprofessional Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a horriable place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 2, 2017
Management hires family member and promote them over tenure employees. They are cut throat and when advised of personal issues, they placed your business or the associates to the floor, Unprofessional and uses profanity on the floor was rep's are taking calls
Pros
pay check
Cons
everything about the place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 2, 2017
For me each day was an adventure. I work with our DEA and fugitive squad. I had many duties and each day was a fulfillment. I enjoyed the accounting portion and management of budget.
Pros
Working with coworkers
Cons
Driving downtown
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting place to work
Procurement Agent 2 (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 28, 2017
A typical day is always fullfilling
I learn to read everything and never assume something is there
Management is a good , cool people
Workplace culture is workplace culture
The hardest part of the job in getting to work ...traffic is bad
The most enjoyable part is the different people i work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Statistical Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2017
Awesome workplace environment. The best part about this job is the people. Lots of opportunities for training. Pay could be better but for state government, its not bad....
Pros
Ample paid vacay, holidays and sick days. Low stress environment
Cons
Pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting position.
Communicable Disease Specialist (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAApril 3, 2017
This was a very interesting job. I tested, tracked, interviewed and treated people with sexualy transmited diseases. I was trained by the C.D.C. in Atlanta, Georgia. I also handled any of the other 52 diseases that are reportable to the C.D.C.
Pros
Never knew what people would tell you about their most personal life.
Cons
Had to go to bad parts of the cities and towns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Regional Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAMarch 29, 2017
The Department of Juvenile Justice is a good place if one is look for longevity and pension. there are plenty of opportunity within DJJ. I would recommend employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Disability Adjudicator (Former Employee) –  Tucker, GAMarch 14, 2017
This was a fast-paced environment which was very detailed and high caseloads. The clients were very important but we as workers were not given the time necessary to complete the job as needed to really help the customers.
Pros
benefits & holidays
Cons
work environment and a numbers game
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Georgia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 140 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0