Find companies:
State of Hawaii
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

State of Hawaii Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Administration, Assist inquiries with multi-line phone call, operating office equipments, file management, prepare payment plan,
Office Assistant III (Former Employee), O‘ahu, HIJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great colleaques
Cons: wate fountain can be changed
Very enjoyable to work at the Attorney General Office. I have learned to use people search for legal documents need. Assist in answering multi-line phone, chuting messages via outlook. Hardest part of the job to be vigilant on being a great listener, empathy, and yet assertive when working with debtors in commit to a payment plan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Over 9 years of experience in developing Web based and distributed J2EE Enterprise Applications and expertise in implementing Object Oriented Progra
Portal Lead Developer (Current Employee), HoustonJune 5, 2014
• Strong Experience in the development of SOA (Service Oriented Architecture) based systems using JAX-RS & JAX-WS based web services.
• Working experience with Apache Tomcat web server and Weblogic, JBoss, websphere application servers.
• Experience in full System Development Life Cycle (Process Engineering, Design, Development, Deployment Support and – more... Testing).
• Excellent experience in the development of Portlets using JSR168, JSR286 and WSRP specifications.
• Excellent experience in implementation of hook, portlet, EXT plugins and web content structures & templates.
• Extensive experience in major in different open source social networking API’s like Twitter, Facebook, Gmail etc…
• Good experience in developing portlets by using Portlet Framework 1.0 and 2.0 and also excellent experience in implementing Inter Portlet Communication (IPC) between different portlets.
• Good experience with Liferay’s content management system and structure, customizing portlets, and out of the box Liferay features.
• Excellent experience in developing JAX-RPC and JAX-WS based webservices using Axis2/CXF Framework.
• Experience in java application testing using JUNIT framework and SoapUI for unit testing.
• Extensive experience in major build management systems and version systems such as Visual Source Safe (VSS), CVS, GIT and SVN.
• Proficient in implementing various Java/J2EE design patterns including Singleton, Factory, Abstract Factory, MVC, Front Controller, DAO etc.
• Good experience in developing enterprise content management system using Alfresco CMS.
• Experience in configuring and deploying java web applications (WAR and EAR) on Web logic, JBoss 4.x and Tomcat 4.x/5.x/6.x application servers.
• Hands on experience in writing/using build scripts based on ANT, MAVEN build tool.
• Good in analytical skills, problem solving, communication, interpersonal skills with the ability to handle multiple tasks or projects working independently as well within a team also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Teacher (Former Employee), Wahiawā, HIMay 2, 2014
It was an excellent place to work. There was always something to do, so the day would go by quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around hard work
Kitchen Worker-Prep Cook & Server (Former Employee), Kailua, HawaiiFebruary 10, 2014
Cutting, mixing, prepping and serving meals to a population of 350 people on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Building Maintenance (Former Employee), HonoluluJanuary 28, 2014
Great people to work with. Good benfits, great co-workers, alot of growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active & Responsible Work Ethics
JANITOR II (Current Employee), hawaiiSeptember 15, 2013
I like competition and challenges in daily work and personal activities and motivated to improvement, time management, and productivity in completing projects, knowledge, finance, and health.
Work involves teamwork and having the tools in keeping up with assigned duties. Cooperation with management in moral and ethics.
The completion of a good day's – more... work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed my position working with children in school setting
School Based Behavior Health Specialist (Current Employee), Hickam - Pearl Harbor Joint Base, HonoluluAugust 30, 2013
I have gained expereince in the last 12yrs working with military families in schools located in the community as well as my current location at Pearl Harbor Joint Base in Honolulu
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive workplace.
Construction Foreman (Former Employee), Kahului, HIJuly 31, 2013
Pros: bring your own lunch.
Cons: lousy work furnishings.
You can apply for an internally posted job opening here and be notified that the position has been eliminated, then find the same position posted in the local newspaper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HELP THE COMMUNITY
Eligibility Worker (Former Employee), Waipahu, HIJune 30, 2013
Pros: increased days off
Cons: many people were not giving correct information to receive benefits
ASSIST THE COMMUNITY TO RECEIVE ASSISTANCE FROM THE STATE. LOW PAY, WITH LOTS OF WORK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier and balance patients accounts. Learned how to commuicate with patients.
Accountant Clerk II - Emergency Hire (Former Employee), Honolulu, HawaiiMay 26, 2013
Pros: customer service
Cons: too short employment.
greeting patients in their own environments. cashiering duties. balance at end of day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the children's best interest in mind at all times
Foster Parent (Former Employee), Lihue, HIMay 12, 2013
Being a foster parent can be both rewarding, and tragic. Very much like being a parent, your work day does not end, you have no weekend off, no overtime/ holiday pay. You can't call in sick, and you are on call 24 hours a day.
But I have learned that these children are special. Many are neglected, abused, or troubled in some other way. They need the – more... love of a foster parent.
The management is not always there to help, as a matter of fact, often times, you need to figure things out as you go along. But I have absolutely NO regrets about fostering.
The hardest part is seeing what the children go through. You go through it with them. If you have compassion.
But the result is reward enough, and if they are reunited with their birth family, that for me, is the most enjoyable, although bittersweet part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was very organised and professional
Clerk II (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIMay 2, 2013
Pros: abiity to talk to suprvisor with any qustions or conserns with job requirements
Cons: there were no negative parts in working there
Assisitng other clerks when called to do so
I learned a great deal of land and tax property laws
Our manager was truly excellent and great at explaining my job
The co-workers were always teaching me new ways to make my position more efficient
Working under deadlines while answering phones, clients waiting, keeping up my schedule but it was always completed – more... in time – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIFebruary 27, 2013
Good Job. Great people to work with. No complaints except wish it wasn't on call
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job working at risk youths
Educational Assistant (Former Employee), Kailua-Kona, HIJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: great schedule
Cons: no benefits
This program was a alternative learning center for students that graduated with a competency based diploma.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Assistants
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: great coworkers, location, off weekends, etc...
Answer phones
mail incoming and outgoing
data entry
file
greet client
assist case managers
typing
xerox
upkeep files
close accounts
make new client folders
There are 4 case managers here, a secretary, and several volunteers like me trying to obtain work experience until hired by another employment. I have been learning how to operate the updated office – more... equipment like xerox machines, etc.. also about how the program works for those in need of assistance. The hardest part of the job is leaving once i find employment, its a small office and we are like a family here. Mostly everyone in this department has been employed more than 10years and 2 just recently retired. Its too bad state will not have an open position here in the near future i would have love to stay. The best part about this job i like is the days we work. That is 5 days a week, Monday - Friday and weekends off; and also the work place environment and its staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State employment may be good for some...
Cashier II (Current Employee), Kapolei, HawaiiJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: the state offers a very generous vacation and sick leave package.
Cons: medical premiums are very expensive, no freebies or othe perks that someone might receive if they work for a private company, salary is based on senority rather than merit.
State employment is good for those willing to sacrifice pay, healthcare benefits, and advancement opportunities for a lot of vacation time and sick leave. Good for those with young children, or others who may need the flexibility of being able to take time off as situations arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot
Clerk Typist II Public Health Nursing (Former Employee), hilo hawaiiOctober 31, 2012
Pros: learned about health
Cons: short term
learnewd alot about TB and how it has a mojor affect on your health and you well being
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the State of Hawaii - Department of Trasportation - Airports Division was fun, challenging and informative.
Airports District Manager (Former Employee), HawaiiOctober 9, 2012
Pros: solving job problems
Cons: long process to hire new personnel
Working for the State of Hawaii was interesting and informative. The employees of the DOT-Airports are excellent and can generally be counted on to do their best. My management resposibiities incuded supervising administartive, security, airfield and facility maintenance, and airport operations personnel. The most difficult part of my job was the time – more... it takes to fill budgeted positions. The most enjoyable part of my job was solving problems and meeting people while performing my job. A typical day at work was to meet with airport staff memebers and review work schedules and discuss special projects. Also to meet with various airline and concessionaire managers to review airport any concerns or issues they might have. Other meeings might involve meeting with various government or community agencies ( FAA, TSA, Police, Fire Department, County, State, and Federal ). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience! Experience! Experience! Loved this Job!!
Legal Stenographer, II (Former Employee), Honolulu, HISeptember 23, 2012
Pros: attorneys took me to lunch
Usually worked for four to five Attorneys at a time. Prepared, edited and completed court documents for Attorneys review and signature. Filed documents with Courts. Prepared subpoenas for sheriffs. Prepared and edited documentation for all Attorneys. Handled Attorneys travel, meetings, vacations,and calendars. Answered switchboard, greeted clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and effective for SSA
Social Services Assistant IV (Current Employee), Honolulu, HISeptember 8, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: pay
Nice place to learn the legal system , Human and Social Services!