Find companies:
State of Indiana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

State of Indiana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Temporary Program Specialist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 29, 2014
Investigated and analyzed unemployment fraud cases while using discretion to protect individuals’ privacy. Always maintained a professional attitude while speaking with individuals under investigation despite often negative reactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would like to work there again
Administrative Assistant to the Director (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 13, 2014
Managed, prepared, serviced, and maintained service contract records for the 170 Bureau of Motor Vehicle License Branches. The contract included but not limited to the following:
- Janitorial Care.
- Floor care- hard surfaces and carpeted areas.
- Snow removal and lawn care.
- Window care and drinking water.
- Requests for moving office furniture in – more... the Administrative Department of the Bureau
of Motor Vehicles.
- Located vendor and offered them to submit bid(s) for these service contracts.
- Assisted customers via telephone and in person with regards to their motor vehicle needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was difficult at best.
Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJuly 11, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: not enough training, being treated badly.
A typical work day began as soon as you sat down. The employees were not allowed to leave our desk/cubicle without permission. We were expected to do an abundant amount of work with very little training. Management was unfriendly and made this an unbearable place to work. The hardest part of the job was feeling like you were in a concentration camp. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Services Agency
State Eligibility Consultant (Current Employee), Mishawaka, INJuly 9, 2014
Pros: nice benefits
Cons: clients can be rude and demeaning
Typical day includes reviewing the policy manual to keep up to date on State and Federal policies. I interviewed clients and informed them of policies, procedures and how to obtain benefits. I reviewed cases to determine eligibility. There have been many changes during my time with the agency. The changes include hiring an outside agency as contractors – more... to assist with case maintenance, adding new computer systems to maintain cases and multiple office changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding work to help others.
State Eligibility Consultant (Former Employee), Veedersburg, INJune 26, 2014
I enjoyed my job at the state. I liked helping others and felt a sense of appreciation and gratitude from most people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Zurich
Custody Officer (Current Employee), Carlisle, PAJune 17, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: express claims ctr.
Come in and review new claims and old claims with constant investigation of various claims of all nature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Safety
Highway Maintenance Worker III (non-union) (Former Employee), Central IndianaJune 5, 2014
Show up to work and get the daily assignments. Cannot say much else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment.
State Eligibility Consultant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, IndianaMay 30, 2014
I enjoyed my position as SEC. I learned a lot and was able to help a surplus of individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of individuals willing to assist as needed
Welfare Consultant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 19, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: large building and parking spaces
All work was reviewed by staffed medical doctors and senior consultants that were state employees
I did former work as public assistance caseworker
I was familiar with the data base used to determine eligibility, but I learned more on the Medical Review Team data base and the Disability Evaluation manual used to determine disability per federal guidelines
Management – more... and colleagues were available if needed
The hardest part of job was receiving documents that were not legible
The most enjoyable part of the job was department being recognized by the Governor for doing outstanding work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to work here. I love my job. I like being treated as an adult.
secretary (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 1, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules-stress free for me
Cons: health insurance could be better, but i deal with it
At this point and time, i am loving my job. I planned to retire from this job. The people are great to work for, the 7 guys that I do permits for are wonderful to me. It's nice to work for men for a change. I am looking for a part-time job at this time, preferably in data entry field.

Thanks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Senior Applications Developer (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 30, 2014
I learned a lot about configuration management and writing specs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is fine, Management is horrible
Labor Analyst (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 30, 2014
Job work was intresting
Micro-managing supervisor
No way to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Local Veterans Employment Representative (Current Employee), INApril 9, 2014
I have enjoyed my time here. Looking for advancement. Great benefits. The locations were close to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always on time.
Data Entry Specialist/Intern (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 26, 2014
• Matched SSN Number to database
• Data Entry into DART System
• File Organization for BBDS
• Documentation Prep for BBDS
• Passed HIPPA tests online
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good state to work in.
Outside Sales Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: connections.
Cons: weather.
I know the area and have many connections within Indianapolis and the outlying areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but not enough run volume
Firefighter (Current Employee), 122nd Fighter Wing Fort Wayne, INJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: co-workers relations, hours of work
Cons: run volume
The Fire Department is a great place to work. Training exercises, and daily details keep the days enjoyable however I would like more run volume and community involvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 16, 2014
A very dynamic environment, the employees were friendly, the hardest part of the job would probably be dealing with irate callers, however, once you have helped an irate caller properly, you certainly feel content of what you have done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid place to work
Sr. Disability Adjudicator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 10, 2014
limited upward mobility Best training ive ever received, dull boring place to work, good benefits horrible pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership lacking
Senior Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee), IndianapolisJanuary 8, 2014
Biggest issue was the lack of leadership. Individuals who were in management positions were not qualified. This reduced potential for doing a lot of good for the people of Indiana.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Public Assistance Caseworker Supervisor (Former Employee), indianapolis, INDecember 7, 2013
This is laid back environment to work at. The clientele is very diverse.

1 2 3