State of Iowa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical government job
Community Development & Workforce Manager (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 31, 2017
Poor managers. Low morale. Too many worthless people making work. political positions filled by friends and incompetents. No incentive or accountability for poor performance improvement.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no accountability for poor work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work environment with little support.
Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 30, 2017
Difficult work environment with little support. I was expected to do certain programs without any support. The job wasn't what I was told it was up front.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
IT Support Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 28, 2017
Such an amazing company, not only is it a great place to work but the people you work with are very intelligent and easy to work with. The job does have its hurdles as it is a state government job and with that comes some slight unknowns with budgets and election years.
Pros
Pay, Pto, Friendly
Cons
Budget, Election Years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor had there favorites look out if your not one
Polk County Clerk of Court (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 20, 2017
Coworkers were a great group very helpful.
Good work pace busy but not overwhelmed unless your supervisor is hanging over your shoulder nagging at you STRESSED OUT NOW!!!
Usually easy to get personal time off.
Not all Departments/Branches are this way
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Nagging supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of Iowa what a job.
Social Worker II (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IADecember 13, 2017
I loved the actually work I did for the State of Iowa. My caseload was big and we had little support from managers or higher ups. Hours were long and you never knew when an emergency removal would need to happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Executive Secretary (PSE1) (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 5, 2017
Learned lots of new rules the state makes and how they are made into law.
Management for the most part was pretty good.
work place culture was good but it was very difficult to fire bad employees
Pros
Good pay
Cons
incompetent employees at all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people who work there were by far worse than the inmates!!
CO (Former Employee) –  Mt. Pleasant, IANovember 29, 2017
The staff would back stab and throw you under the bus just to save face or to be funny. I hated most the people who worked there they made the job unbearable. So many unhappy people.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience and people
Licensing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IANovember 26, 2017
meeting new people from different part of the USA and have the opportunity to use my Spanish abilities and gain more knowledge on working on an office setting.
Pros
gain more experience
Cons
working on sunday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My oppinion on working for the State of Iowa
Criminal History Auditor (Current Employee) –  Cedar Falls, IANovember 23, 2017
The current job I have now offers me flexibility - I need to put in 40 hr of work-or scheduled time off- as long as it equals 40 hours. The quality of people I work with are very knowledgeable and willing to work with you to make sure you understand the full extent of your job.
Pros
stability of employment, able to see accomplishments of my job
Cons
pay raises are never a sure thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positions
Human Resource Associate (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IANovember 18, 2017
Exteremly hard to advance but feel free to get assigned extra work for doing a good job. Management will lie to gt you to do what they want. Promoting from within is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about State of Iowa?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Storeroom Supervisor
Storeroom Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mitchellville, IANovember 9, 2017
Not a good a place to work do not recommend working there. I did learn a lot from them and was able to work my way to the top of the pay scale. hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun place to work
Assistant to Secretary of State (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IANovember 6, 2017
Every day was different. Met politicians from all over the U.S.
Nice office and workplace. A typical day was working 8:00 to 5:00 and always learned new ideas and how to do job efficiently.
Pros
Cafeteria was a nice place to congregate with other employees and get new ideas about our jobs.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position
Support Recovery Officer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 25, 2017
My position requires good organizational and personal skills. There is a lot of customer contact and usage of many computer databases. It can be stressful as it deals with personal issues and families
Pros
Good pay, ability to help people
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place with efficuebt management
Licensed Massage Therapist (Former Employee) –  Near ottumwa Ia.October 13, 2017
i enjoyed working for Fairfield Chiropractic .

I enjoyed working in a small town: Fairfield, IA

The work atmosphere was very relaxed.

I was an Independent contractor.
Pros
Independent Contractor
Cons
No retirement fund
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary employment
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Rockford, IAOctober 4, 2017
Great place to work for temporary employment. I became a substitute teacher to supplement our income. It worked great when there was employment. The schools I worked in were grateful to have a teacher.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Open days of unemployment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term care surveyer
Health Facilities Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 28, 2017
we were responsible to go and make sure that our elderly members were getting taken car of properly. But we went to small towns where there was usually no hotels so you had to travel a ways to get from your hotel to your facility. The days were long, you did not get paid for being away from your home when you stayed in a hotel Monday thru Thursday. 53,000 for being gone from home that much and when you were at home you still spen many hours getting ready for the next week. The hotel reimbursement was around 50.00 a night and it was ver difficult to find a nice or decent one for that little.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get that application filled out!!!!!
Labor Market Economist (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 13, 2017
Excellent work environment. Co-workers and other department employees were helpful with any task that I needed assistances with.

Director, Managers, were very helpful and assisted with any thing an employee would need help with. Super place to work...
Pros
Manager made the job well worth it.
Cons
There was NONE...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Accounting Clerk I (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 31, 2017
I would recommend anyone to apply for a position at this Department. You get good pay, good benefits and good work hours and good parking. There are good opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Pay raises lack behind Private companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part-time
Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 30, 2017
worked this job in college. Low paying, but good experience, especially with underprivileged youth. Only worked one summer. Had to pay for own mileage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great teamwork.
Judicial Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAAugust 26, 2017
Great teamwork at the State of Iowa. The benefits and the ability to balance work and family make it a great place to work. I would have never left the career had we not had to relocate for another job for my husband.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Iowa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 127 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4