Find companies:
State of Louisiana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

State of Louisiana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy everyday
Motor Vehicle Compliance Analyst III (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LaJuly 26, 2014
Very busy place, that makes the day go by fast.
Stressful and mentally draining.
Lack of pay raises
If you don't like dealing with the public believe me this is not the place to work.
Management is all about them selves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job
CORRECTIONS LIEUTENANT (Former Employee), Angola, LAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great opay
Cons: distance to work
The pay is great as long as the governor don't put another freeze on annual raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current position offers fairly stable, consistent employment but below average compensation and opportunity for advancement.
UI TAX AGENT III - Tax Auditor (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: working completely independently
Cons: being unable to meet all required quotas of my position due to the large volume of responsibilities
I am the only tax audior in my region which covers the typical surrounding five parishes and parts of three additional parishes. My job responsibilities are vast in number and subject matter. I audit employers' payroll records for compiance with unemployment insurance tax regulations and the misclassification of workers. I audit employers' with and – more... without current state unemployment tax accounts. I advise the public on unemployment insurance tax requirements and responsibilities. I work directly with most local accounting and CPA firms. I answer questions and assist with problems on unemployment tax accounts. I also address delinquent accounts and collection issues with employers setting up payment plans when requested. In addition to auditing, I provide complete customer service to employer's and accountants.

A typical day can include everything mentioned above. I have learned alot about auditing in general. I have learned Louisiana unemployment insurance tax regulations. My direct manager is housed in Baton Rouge. I work completely independently. By being the only tax auditor in the region, contact with my co-workers is usually only by phone unless a regional meeting is scheduled. The hardest part of my job is juggling the numerous requirements. We have quotas in every aspect of my job. Audits are continuouly becoming more complex and time consuming which makes it difficult and sometimes impossible to meet quotas in other categories. The most enjoyable part of the job is the independency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back environment
Office Worker (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 13, 2014
A typical work day for me was working on a computer. I downloaded files and answered phones. I made copies and mailed items to peoples homes. I learned how to scan different items into different case workers files.. I had a good working environment. I enjoyed my coworkers, we worked well together. The most enjoyable part was that it was a very laid – more... back and non stressfull job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table.
Front End UI Developer (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 11, 2014
I Learned new things. The co-worker were so helpful. And the hardest part of job is to finish big Project in time and enjoyable part of the job is getting very good experiance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of employment
Nursing Manager RN Supervisor A (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lack of sufficient pay raises and opportunities for advancement
In a typical day I provide supervision and oversight to the daily flow of a center for Adult Behavioral Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Sr. Informatica/Database Developer (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 8, 2014
Learned new things and the co-workers are so cool and helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting new projects and teamwork processes, and performance outcomes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Auditor 4/Audit Supervisor (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 1, 2014
Pros: extensive projects
Cons: time
Job taught me how to think on my feet quicker, and how my decision and work product served as an impact on others. I was able to work with others through out the department and other areas of the agency, which made the learning process fun. Having the support of management and others made work enjoyable, hardest part of the job at times was not knowing – more... exactly what I would be working on next considering the extent of my job duties and responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
UI Developer (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 21, 2014
Learned new things and the co-workers are so cool and helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting new projects and teamwork processes, and performance outcomes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
PRINTING OPERATOR 2 (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 17, 2014
This place has a very good environment, and the people, who are willing to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep
Motor Vehicle Analyst II (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: mon.-fri. day shift
I enjoy assisting customers with their records to the best of my ability in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Coordinator (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: being laid-off often
State government is the premiere employer of the south if you can stay on and not get laid-off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy all the time; challenged; knowledge, experience and ideas are valued by team
Admin Coordinator, Capital and Juvenile Divisions (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: seeing progress; teamwork
Cons: we need more staff.
Each day includes reviewing & updating financial records; email, letters and phone communication with attorneys and expert witnesses; working with co-workers on projects and developing databases to allow the most efficient method of tracking and reporting of client data and field funding; maintaining field reports and client records; supporting the – more... State Public Defender and my other co-workers.

The hardest part of this job is having to deny funding for a client.

I enjoy the relationships with my co-workers and the contacts in the field. Knowing I am helping to move the rock and connecting dots that make the department and our services better for our clients, attorneys, expert witnesses, co-workers, other departments and the state. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about my life
maintenance repair 2 (Former Employee), new orleansJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: good pay/ yearly raises/paid hollidays an benefits
Cons: on call 24hrs day, no lunch on certain days, working constantly in rain for hours, not having all tools to.do certain jobs
Busy fixing things on campus, and making sure campus is maintained. Learned how to take apart cubicles and put them back together, how to operate machinery, how to replace a roof on greenhouses,how to pour and smooth out concrete for sidewalks and steps, and how to operate the work order program on the computer. Learned how to become a department manager – more... for warehouse. Loved working them, because they are hard working, great people who were also willing to teach me anything. There isn't anything hard to complain about. The best part of the job was getting to work along side great people who work as a team to get jobs done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After thirty years...
Police Lieutenant (Former Employee), Dept. Public Safety - RetiredDecember 29, 2013
Pros: good people to work with good equipment and good training.
Cons: bad people, bad weather
I have been involved in many aspects of law enforcement from answering telephones to taking cover and kicking down doors. The State and particular the Department of Public Safety, has provided me the opportunity to meet some very interesting people. But mostly to work with some of the most giving and caring people. Now that I'm retired what I miss the – more... most is the people, and doing the job of helping those who need our help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Oriented
High School Instructor (Former Employee), Dry ProngDecember 3, 2013
Superb place to work, good leadership and positive work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving my community
Juvenile Probation Officer (Former Employee), Lafayette, LANovember 26, 2013
Weekly court dates doing my best to provide individualize safe community serves to help make youthful offenders productive law abiding citizens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health and Human Resources
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), New Orleans, LouisianaAugust 18, 2013
Pros: working with people to give them assistance for their health
Cons: having a better lunch system
A typical day of being involved with people health records. I have learned how to determine what was needed to be approved for State Health Insurance from the government. My management system was a great deal of help when needed. My Co-Workers was at hand when needed assistance. The hardiest part of the job was to turn down applicants whom was not qualified – more... for assistance when documents was not produced as requested. The most enjoyable part of my job was to know that I did completed all task as respected of me to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DHH It's a White Man's World!!!
Program Manager (Current Employee), Baton RougeAugust 9, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: unfair management practices
1. Benefits are decent. 2. There's no longer job security d/t layoffs and privatization. Many have been there for 30+, retire, and are allowed to come back and make a salary on top of retirement. Promotions are rare and the top jobs are filled by outsiders.
3. Management staff are highly untrained in employee relations and employment law. 4. There is – more... really no work/life balance because you're often off the job thinking about how disgusted you were while on the job. 5. The culture is grim, dismal, and lack values. They lie, cheat, steal, and maybe even kill. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers
Licensed Clinical Social Worker 4 (Current Employee), LAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: great working hours, good working environment and fufilling expierence.
Cons: poor pay-no raises in 4 years, constant non-stop changes in work process due to state becoming managed care.
Provided clinical service including assessment and diagnosis to persons with behavioral, emotional and mental challenges. Also provided group and individual therapy, treatment planning and use of electronic records systems.

1 2 3