Find companies:
State of Maryland
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

State of Maryland Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Jessup, MDDecember 8, 2014
Pros: eat all i want
Cons: working without a break
Wake up at 11:00 am, start by prep food for cooking, wash tables, make juice and stock up supplies. I learned that just because someone is rude to you doesn't mean that I have to entertain the rudeness,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive environment to work
Contractor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MarylandDecember 4, 2014
Pros: supportive staff
Productive and supportive environment to work located in Baltimore, Maryland. Typical day varies and work is focused on medical review, coding and compliance with State laws. Co-workers are knowledgeable and are available to colleagues and clients. A nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a child care provider for members of the Athletic Club in Westminster
carroll cty public schools (Former Employee), Westminster, MDNovember 21, 2014
Pros: i was able to bring my children, who were young, with me at the time.
Cons: when there were no children in the club we did not have to stay .
I worked with such wonderful people who became friends. We were provided with training and certification in cpr which provided more confidence when working with small children. The manager was very pleased with our work and dealings with the children. We also kept the playroom and toys clean so that the children would be healthier in the playroom and – more... we provided things for the children to do while their parents were in the athletic club. It was an enjoyable experience at the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Job
Correctional Officer (Sergeant) (Former Employee), Jessup, MDNovember 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: cant leave the job site for lunch.
As long as you come to work thinking safety, you will go home safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive managing and learning new sills
Clerical/Receptionist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 5, 2014
i learned alot of new skills fast learner hard worker co workers was amazing love working around people where i can feel comfortable with the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting
Office Secretary I (General) (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 3, 2014
Pros: leave
Cons: benefits
A typical day at the work place is being able to meet staff at their needs to effectively complete their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correctional Environment
Chief of Security (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 3, 2014
During my 14 year tenure, within the Department of Corrections and Public Safety, I have obtained and sharpened my skills in the areas of analytical thinking, decision making, problem solving, communication, leadership competence, negotiation and delegating capabilities, conflict resolution, adaptability and tolerance to stressful situations, creative – more... thinking, and listening abilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportunities, investigative type work, no day exactly the same as the day before
Correctional Officer II (Former Employee), Westover, MDOctober 27, 2014
Pros: monday - friday
Cons: very tense atmosphere
Laid back workplace where you were allowed to work at your own pace without close supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable to place to work and network
Financial Agent Supervisor II (Former Employee), various state facilitiesOctober 25, 2014
Pros: benefits, work schedule
Interviewed all involved in a in-patient hospital setting for reimbursement for cost of are
Maintained file, annual follow-up
Most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers and the people I met performing my job duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 17, 2014
Pros: productive, supportive, pleasant environment
Cons: budget cuts
Created files base on venues, properly entered data into the Docket Manager Database Management system. Typed court documents; waivers and Certificate of qualified experts and processed the orders of transfers to the Circuit Court. Prepared ordered dismissals, strike lists, cover letters. My co-workers was very supportive. I learned that even though – more... a doctor have a malpractice case filed against him do not mean there was any negligence.

The hardest part of the job was to review some of the graphic, fatality, sealed cases due to negligence.

The most enjoyable part of the job was all the legal knowledge I obtained and my pleasant environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work and life balance. Good environment and co-workers.
Database Specialist Supervisor - Teradata DBA (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDOctober 7, 2014
I come in and execute TRFCs which are job orders.

I've learned how to co-work and help each other. I've also learned TD skills from the contractors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
NETWORK ENGINEER (Former Employee), Pikesville, MDOctober 5, 2014
Company offers great benefits, exciting projects to work on. Also paid training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment
Research Economist (Former Employee), Crownsville, MDSeptember 30, 2014
Friendly work environment. The job impact lives of hundred of people. Gives you sense of fulfillment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this State of Maryland agency
Chief Deputy Register of Wills (Former Employee), La Plata, MDSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great boss and co-workers
This job was perfect for me. I had an amazing boss, great co-workers, stable hours, safe environment, wonderful pay and benefits. If I could have taken the job with me when I moved out of state, I would have. I miss the job and dealing with the public. I looked forward to going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Resident Advisor/Tour Coordinator (Former Employee), Cheltenham, MDSeptember 15, 2014
Good for money but hard on your home life. Kids did not make the job hard it was the overgrown kids (staff) acting like kids that made the job harder than it had to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employer
Administrative Officer III -40 hrs week (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: you have to work 8 hrs every day.
I am learning more about EEO and the differences between federal and state. The best part of the job is the staff. They are nice and accomodating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of current position
Medical Care Program Associate, Lead (Current Employee), BaltimoreSeptember 12, 2014
Too much micromanaging in my department and unrealistic goals with inadequate staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding workplace
Coordinator of Special Programs II (Current Employee), White Plains, MDSeptember 9, 2014
Cons: no chance of advancement
Pleasant co workers
Flexibility
Calm and quiet enviornment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STability
Unemployment Adjudication Claim Specialist II (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 19, 2014
The State of Maryland offers a great place to work while meeting and working with different group of people. Each day his different and a learning experience for me. I love working with customers to explained the different aspect of unemployment inusurance laws and policies. That adjudication have to follow with each claim that his process. Even though – more... customers might not be happy with my determination of benefits I provide excellent customer service to each and everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of Maryland
Tax Clerk (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: close to home with good health care.
Cons: salary
My team was very close and hard working. We managed the department with professionalism. Our ability to enter confidential information with goals to meet was never a concern. The job required we work different departments at times, this could be challenging. We were still required to meet our deadlines with less team members. The hardest part of the – more... job was tax season when there was more work to be completed with the same amount of team members. We all got the job done by working together. – less

1 2 3 4 5