State of Montana Employee Reviews

Showing all 89 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Governemt employment
Civil Engineer Technician (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJuly 7, 2017
Working for the DOT i enjoyed the duties of my job alot. It could be a rewarding place but due to slow paced, dont work yourself out of a job attitude wasting tax dollars... It is heard and muttered all over. But i know there is good areas where honorable and humble employees take pride and sense of accomplishment with the very self rewarding projects duties.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work if your part of the good ol boy club
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Deer Lodge, MTJune 30, 2017
The organization has an entrenched management team that has been in place for way to long. Current leadership is very clickish and if your in the club then great, if not......don't quit your day job or any job to work for this organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Deer Lodge, MTJune 27, 2017
MSP is the best place I've ever worked! They make sure everyone is highly trained in all fields, they educate all staff, everyone works together as a team. Best policies and procedures are in place. Safety is priority, it is a seamless facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle management is very untrustworthy and phony
Safety Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Helena, MTJune 14, 2017
Middle management (Safety) is very untrustworthy, phony, very poor communicator, unprofessional and unreliable. They will stab you in the back, beware.
Pros
Actual field work is rewarding, get your own state car, pay decent.
Cons
Middle management is unqualified, cutthroat, cold and phony
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job with good benefits
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Helena, MTMay 25, 2017
The state is a stable job, provides good benefits and a good retirement package. It is nice having paid holidays and having annual and sick leave. My experience with the state is that is is pro-family and that is important if you have children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience mostly positive.
Executive Assistant to VP Operations (Former Employee) –  Helena, MT 59604May 22, 2017
Vice President who I originally supported was awesome. Once he retired, new Vice President was hired and although I was included in the hiring process, the candidate hired portrayed herself one way during the interview and oppositely once hired. Her vision included complete reorganization of a well-functioning company and she was given full authority to make changes that did not keep the best interest of the company in mind.

When the opportunity to return to healthcare presented itself, I made the choice to go.
Pros
Profitable company and many wonderful, compassionate employees.
Cons
VP of Operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
state job
Adult Probation and Parole Officer (Former Employee) –  Bozeman, MTMay 12, 2017
Coworkers can be pretty fun but lots of wasted time on just talking and not overly productive. The state wastes tons of money just like all government entities.
Pros
benefits paid time off
Cons
government work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont' know what to write
Lawn Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Deer Lodge, MTMay 1, 2017
I don't know what to write in this space. I am unemployed and need to get looking for work and don't have time to fill this dumb space out and that's all I have to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Default Resolution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Helena, MTApril 20, 2017
The ability to assist customers on a daily basis is challenging and rewarding. Great work atmosphere, with people who enjoy coming to work and are eager to assist other team members.
Pros
Flexability
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security, retirement plans, decent wages.
Investigator (Current Employee) –  Great Falls, MTApril 11, 2017
State employment offers benefits, decent salary depending upon qualifications, retirement plan, and a general sense of security in employment so long as you perform as expected.
Pros
1 hour lunch, flexible schedule, security, paid holidays.
Cons
Raises are few and far between, costly deductibles for medical.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
IPS Officer/SWAT (Current Employee) –  Deer Lodge, MTMarch 25, 2017
management had issues but the work wasn't hard. Pretty negative atmosphere constantly. Great promotion opportunities if a guy is willing to sacrifice a family life.
Pros
pay is good
Cons
working odd hours constantly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment with no real authority, vision, or skill. 90% of co-workers are scary bad nurses.
RN (Current Employee) –  Warm Springs, MTMarch 17, 2017
stay far away from this place. the patients are not scary....it is the staff. poor location. food is made at the prison and trucked in...scary gross. crazy staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management deserves less than one star
Housing Unit Sergeant, FTO (Former Employee) –  Deer Lodge, MTMarch 12, 2017
the job itself wasnt horrible, some coworkers were pretty good but, the management was horrible and they would foster an enviroment of disgruntled employees and reward people for telling on others, even if it wasnt true
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTFebruary 25, 2017
Must be able to be flexible. Encounter all types of people, from State Employees to Detention Officers; felons who just don't care, and felons who recognize that they made a mistake and want to take accountability. Long hours inside, with no windows to see outside--sometimes I went inside when it was dark in the mornings, and came out after it was dark at night. Must maintain strong boundaries when working with incarcerated people--some will attempt to manipulate you at every opportunity.
Pros
great state benefits
Cons
long hours, depressing environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Helena, MT 59601February 2, 2017
Montana State Fund employs many wonderful people that make the work day enjoyable and a balanced learning environment. Team work is abundant and employees enjoy their positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver services
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Bozeman, MTJanuary 20, 2017
You will renew a licenses for Class D and Commercial licenses, replacements, id cards, Out of State Transfers, Commercial written tests, class d written tests, motorcycle tests, class d, commercial and motorcycle drive tests. You also have to do re exams on customers with Medical issues. You were multiple hats during the day and it is a very stressful place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Program Supervisor/Director of Candidate Services (Former Employee) –  Helena, MTJanuary 8, 2017
I worked for the State of Montana - Commissioner of Political Practices for 15 years. I loved my job. Every day was different and working with candidates running for office was a fabulous experience. I also enjoyed being the legislative liason for the agency. It is a small office but everyone is compassionate about their jobs which meant as a team we all wanted the agency to succeed. I gained a great deal of experience in program planning and budgeting as well as the human resource aspect. I am happy that I gained this knowledge and believe that it will help me go far in the future.
Pros
Excellent benefits including paid vacation, sick, health insurance, and retirement
Cons
There was no more room for advancement being such a small office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
MDT (Former Employee) –  Belt, MTDecember 1, 2016
The state job has everything one could want, except the politics. You don't have to be good at anything except to cut others throats to promote yourself. I couldn't play it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer support of law enforcement communication and public safety.
Computer User Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Helena, MTAugust 27, 2016
The opportunity to support the computers and users in law enforcement communication and public safety was a personal desire of mine. I learned much more about customer service there.
Pros
Supporting law enforcement communication and public safety was a personal desire of mine.
Cons
Extremely low wages for a position of high impact.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sr. J2EE/Guidewire Consultant (Current Employee) –  Helena, MTAugust 27, 2016
Productive and fun place to work.
MSF handle workers compensation of the state of Montana making it preferred workers compensation insurance provider.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Montana. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 89 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

60%
28 ratings
Add your rating