Find companies:
State of West Virginia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

State of West Virginia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great SICU to work with. Family type atmosphere. Exciting and challenging work. Nurses were provided autonomy, and their opinion and expertise were...
registered nurse (Former Employee), charlestonSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: some medical surgical floors offer 8 hour days, learning experience is great
Cons: poor benefits, no life work balance, less than adequate compensation, extreemely difficult to advance, schedule is less than flexible, 50% of the time no lunch break, or bathroom break
A work day would begin at either 0700 or 1900 and the earliest departure would be 12.5 hours after the start of the shift. Working in Surgical Intensive Care I learned an incredible amount about different treatments for different types of critically ill patients. We were the only unit in the CAMC division that could handle all critical patients, not – more... just our specialty. We took care of surgical, medical, pulmonary, neurology, trauma, cardiac, oncology and women's health. At rare times, we treated pediatric trauma also. The co-workers were like a family to me. There was bickering and disagreements, but we always banded together, and supported each other. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the families who just couldn't accept their loved ones wishes, and trying to appease them while giving the best possible treatment to your patient who is the number one priority. (families usually don't see it that way) Also, the administration at CAMC is very difficult to deal with. The administration appears and behaves as if they are more concerned about the image the nurses portray rather than excellent patient care and treatment. We were scolded and disciplined on a regular basis for petty infringements including but not limited to: wrong color shoes, name tag facing backwards, cell phone at the desk, missed clocking in punches, etc. However if there was a gross negligence against a patient, nothing was every said. They appear to only care if a VIP threatens lawsuit. They also do not compensate their most experienced nurses well nor in comparison with the new graduated nurses. There is little incentive to move up in their career ladder, and they make it extremely difficult to do so. So much so, that most RNs give up, due to the fact that they don't have time to jump through those hoops, and provide the best patient care and treatment. I am grateful for everything I have learned there from the physicians and my mentors, however I would never work there again unless on a contract basis due to CAMC administration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Challenging
Investigator II (Current Employee), Charleston, WVJune 25, 2014
Need more job assignments. On call, Mangement installed GPS on all investigators vehicles. Maganment will not punish individuals doing wron. no chance for raises or job assignment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant and Wonderful
Courtesy Patrol Officer (Former Employee), State of West VirginiaJune 8, 2014
A place that encouraged growth and personal responsibility with an emphasis on employee growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and interact with the public and enjoy the creativity of the culinary arts.
Courtesy Patrol Officer (Former Employee), summersville wvaMay 9, 2014
A great place to work and interact with the public and enjoy the creativity of the culinary arts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Economic Service Worker (Former Employee), Charleston, WVMay 7, 2014
Pros: easy going place
Cons: temporary position
Enjoyed doing data entry
Learned more about the criminal system for WV
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State good, good job
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Charleston, WVMarch 2, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: not many
State goods are always good jobs...
Good pay
Days and no nights or weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed doing something productive with my time
Baker (Former Employee), Glenville, WVFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: plenty of leftover sweets and food after everybody was served.
Cons: long work days
I pretty much set up my materials and stared working. I like to pre-weigh all the ingredients so that we have a smooth day. I learned how to roll and bake bread and pastries from scratch. I supervised 6 others in my crew. We worked together to complete most of the daily tasks. The hardest part on some days was cleaning as we worked so we wouldn't have – more... such a extreme clean-up at the end of the day but the best part was experimenting with different spices and ingredients and eating whatever you created. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sr. JAVA developer (Current Employee), Charleston WVDecember 13, 2013
Pros: productive and fun work place
Cons: productive and fun work place
Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work – more... place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place Productive and fun work place – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and benefits
Disability Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Charleston, WVNovember 21, 2013
Pros: good vacation and medical leave
Cons: unnecessary pressure for production
The job was mainly desk work and the hardest part was the pressure to do more with less help. The co-workers were the best part of the job. There was not much room for advancement. It was very educational if you want to know about medical procedures and medical problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job security, working with the public, generous vacation time after more than 15 years as a state employee.
Legal Assistant (Current Employee), Charleston, WVNovember 4, 2013
Pros: 8:30-4:30 hours, 5 minute commute, never had to be late for any of my children's activities.
Cons: each assistant handling approximately 1000 cases. caseload standard is 450 cases per assistant.
Now that my children are grown, I'm ready for a career change. I no longer need to be concerned with my work schedule coinciding with the school calendar. I've learned much about domestic and family WV law, but am ready for a change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
licensing
clerk (Former Employee), elkinsSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: paid sick days a holidays off with pay
Cons: no raises, hours are inconsistent, stressful to say the least
Gained knowledge about a lot of things but the training wasn't the best an had to travel far away to get training. Coworkers were not very friendly and hassles about a day off. Management shows a lot of favoritism an takes forever to get an answer to a question. If one boss doesnt know the answer they send you to another supervisor. Customers have to – more... wait to long. Very overwhelming. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing place to work
Child Protective Services Worker (Former Employee), Charleston, WVJuly 25, 2013
Duties included working with troubled kids from all over the tri state area. Sad stories of things that happen to these children. Pay was not great either. Management was horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job but with terrible pay and no room to grow
Counselor (Current Employee), WVJuly 14, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: low pay no room for growth no bonuses or raises
Terrible starting wage. No matter how many years of experience you have you start at the lowest compensation package. There have been no raises there aren't any bonuses or perks worth staying for. During training they send you hours away to stay overnight. They pay for your hotel but you pay for your meals for the week then you get reimbursed. Someone – more... in the financial department wasn't thinking there. They want you to pay to go to their training itt doesn't make sense. No more will I put my money out then have to wait to get it back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political job
Assistant Attorney General (Former Employee), Charleston, WVApril 16, 2013
Pros: structured work environment
Cons: no job security due to politics
Enjoyed the work a great deal, but having to leave with the political changeover and the treatment I received, was disappointing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics is an interesting career choice.
Information Systems Manager (Current Employee), Charleston, WVMarch 27, 2013
Pros: used to be security & benefits
Cons: location and time away from home
Looking for medical benefits and mid level salary near the Bridgeport/Clarksburg WV area. Previous jobs have required over 500 trips to 41 different states converting large beverage distributor computer systems.The Racing Commission has now required me to stay 5 days a week in Charleston and this is proving to be unacceptable. It's time to move closer – more... to HOME. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a job.
Dietary Cook (Current Employee), LakinMarch 25, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: job security for slackers
Unfortunately there is no incentive to perform. The non-performers have the same exact pay and benefits as the performers. It is one’s own self-respect or lack of it that dictates performance.