Find companies:
State of Wisconsin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

State of Wisconsin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exec. Management
Section Chief-Field Operations (Former Employee), Waukesha WIJuly 7, 2014
State of Wisconsin Section Chief-Field Operations
May 2001 to May 15, 2014 (Retired)

Responsibilities

 Supervise 22 staff and managers in the Boiler and Elevator Inspection Program
 Develop and execute the program activity plans
 Hire and discipline staff
 Collect and report activity indicators
 Monitor staff activities, workload and work products
 – more... Conduct customer research
 Identify and manage process re-engineering projects
 Assist in development, implementation and evaluation
 Participate in development of Bureau activity indicators and customers research using information to recommend changes in Bureau policies and programs
 Advise Bureau Director on issues affecting programs and assist in formulation of strategic direction for division activities
 Provide complex technical and engineering assistance in the following programs: elevators, boilers, pressure vessels, liquefied petroleum, natural, and compressed natural gases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with co-workers and managers
Program and Policy Analyst (Current Employee), Madison, WIJuly 6, 2014
Excellent place of employment to advance your knowledge and career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
SOA Business Analyst (Current Employee), Madison, WIMay 29, 2014
Nice work place with nice team and more diversified learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience with professional people
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 3, 2014
Pros: professional experience, always something to do
Cons: temporary position
I learned how to handle deal with co-workers and customers on a professional level and was able to travel to meetings as well as important work sites. My co-workers were licensed architects that would give me assignments and look to me to schedule travel arrangements. The most difficult part of the job was the constant flow of plans that came my way – more... and keeping up with getting them transported to the final storage destination. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the architects and being able to travel a week at a time to other offices around the state. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced administrative office
Program Assistant Advanced Confidential (Current Employee), Neenah, WIMarch 14, 2014
A typical day in this small administrative office is fairly fast-paced and always interesting. The regional managers are wonderful to work for and I have become a crucial part of the budget, purchasing and personnel side in the region. Co-workers have a variety of administrative duties to support the region. I enjoy most every part of my job, which – more... has variety and challenges. I excel at personnel process and knowledge. The hardest part of this position is dealing with constant change in a government agency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LPN
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Union Grove, WIMarch 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: vacation scheduling
Worked under supervision of RN with all duties of a RN.
Respect was shown within administration.
I enjoyed working for the residents, to make them comfortable and happpy in any way I was able.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience without career
Custodian (Former Employee), Oshkosh, WIMarch 5, 2014
Pros: work experience
I had a job vacuuming floors, cleaning and sanitizing common areas, and swept and mopped the stairs and landing. I also performed other duties as assigned. It gave me extra work experience that I can use in other similar positions. There really was no advancement unless you applied for another position doing something else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an overview my my work experience with the State of Wisconsin
Consumer Case Coordinator (Former Employee), Barron County Job CenterJanuary 25, 2014
I worked for this agency for many years and my job required multi-tasking, doing whatever I could to assist individuals seeking employment. I learned that each person has a different circumstance and you had to coordinate their abilities and limitations. Our office has the best management team you could want, and my coworkers (team members) made it – more... possible to sometimes do the impossible. Every once in awhile, there would be a job seeker we just could not assist. One the other hand, there were many days when we all celebrated because of a successful outcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Children and Families
Initial Assessment Social Worker- Advanced (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 25, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: taxing hours
I learned a new meaning to multitasking and was challenged daily to push myself. I worked with a great group of social workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get job orders
General Laborer/carpet cleaner (Former Employee), Oshkosh, WIOctober 30, 2013
Pros: no rasies
Do job orders
Complete jobs
record times for jobs
Maintain machnes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people I worked with and interesting work
Retired court reporter (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 23, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very demanding job
I worked with wonderful people. Most of the time my closest co-workers were my judge and clerk. They were like family. I also made good friends who were also court reporters and still keep in touch even though we are retired.

My job could be very intense and demanding, as I was required to take down every word spoken in court. Accuracy was essential. – more... Also, when transcripts were required to be made, there were time limits for that production.

We did manage to have fun in the process, and there were many humorous incidents which helped because there were some very serious and sad cases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot about Screen Printing and Embroidery
Cook (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 18, 2013
Pros: a happy job
A very busy job, which I liked.
I learned how to print and burn logo's on clothing and screen for printing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EHR Incentive Program
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee), Madison, WISeptember 25, 2013
Subject matter expert specific to electronic medical records (EMR), electronic health records (EHR), and health information exchange (HIE), healthcare related regulatory controls, policies and procedures, standards, and accreditations (i.e. HIPAA, HIE, HL-7, CCHIT, HITSP, NHIN, etc.).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Governors playground! idiotic management...
Engineering Consultant (Former Employee), Waukesha, WISeptember 18, 2013
Pros: average pay, secured job
Cons: almost every minute, e-mail, phone, conversations of your work life is recorded.
Does not matter how intelligent you are, it's all about who you know!. You may be the lowest skilled person in entire States but If you know anybody within the Administration you will get the job regardless how many people they interview for that opening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RNs LPN's CNA's all get forced 16 hours frequently with or without notice.
Nurse (Current Employee), Union Grove, WIJuly 25, 2013
Pros: newer building.
Cons: force employees part time to work full time and frequently 16 hours.
Since Walker the benefits are more like everyone else. The pay for LPNs very low. RN's average. HR dept at Union Grove is terrible, sneaky and non-trusting. Typically HR does not return calls. There is NO loyalty for good work done. Short staffed most of the time. If you want part time work, DO NOT get a job at Union Grove. They rarely use agency help, – more... they prefer to force all part time staff to work full time and ALL staff to work 16 hours with or without advance notice, frequently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers
Residential Care Technician (Former Employee), Union Grove, WIJune 6, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: supervisors
I loved this palce great teamwork residents are fun and very active.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely busy all the time
Child Care Specialist (Former Employee), MilwaukeeMay 8, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: high turn over rate
High turnover rate...high case loads...Co workers were extremely helpful...Team oriented evironment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The first day
Personal Care Worker (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 27, 2013
Pros: split shifts
Cons: not engough benefits
The hardest part of the job is not knowing what to expect on the first day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very fun
Janitor (Former Employee), Fox Lake, WIApril 15, 2013
I scrubbed floors with buffer. Also cleaned bathroom and supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative management
Deputy Director Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Madison WisconsinApril 3, 2013
Pros: traveled and attended conferences .
Administrative assistant to the Deputy Director of State Courts. I was responsible for the day to day operations of the office. Hiring new staff and managing the reserve judge system and training of coworkers.

It was a constant learning experience and very rewarding.

Hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult people.

Most enjoyable was working – more... with great professional people. – less

About State of Wisconsin

Find out what over 40,000 dedicated employees have already discovered - interesting jobs, excellent benefits, and many advancement – Read more

State of Wisconsin Photos