Find companies:
Steak N' Shake
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
96 reviews

Steak N' Shake Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great with customers
Production Worker (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYApril 9, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: bad management, unstable job
Steak n' shake has its ups and downs but most of all this company is known for its hot served well food and nice employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with a lot of work to keep you busy.
Grill Cook (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 5, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: rare breaks
I would get to work at 6 am and immediately start setting up the kitchen for breakfast. The first few hours of the day there was only a manager, prep cook, server and myself as the grill cook. This meant I had to do many of the stations inside the kitchen as well as manage between the diner and the drive-thru. Week days were typically slow early in – more... the mornings inside the diner. However drive-thru could get busy. Weekends consisted of constant work for hours due to huge rushes of people. Management was friendly, but lacking in organization. This led to a lot of employees slacking off when work was at it's highest. The worst part about the job was the lack of organization in the store. However, the people who worked there were very kind and friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Fountain Clerk (Current Employee), Ballwin, MOMarch 31, 2014
Pros: discounted food, flexable hours
Cons: stressful rushes, poor managment
Many employees were lazy and/or undisciplined. It was a daily occurrence were there was a missing person in their station and i or another employee had to do their job and the missing person's job. Manager was slow to help during rushes. I usually had to do fountain and clean dishes because the store couldn't afford a dishwasher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Production (Current Employee), Kennesaw,GAMarch 24, 2014
The work isn't hard but the job is very demanding. I'm a full time student and I work almost full time. But if you want a lot of hours it the pretty place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Drive Thru Operator (Current Employee), Morrow, GAMarch 4, 2014
This job was very stressful and team members did not work as a team. The team leaders were even rude to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Grill Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 3, 2014
Enjoyed the fast paced environment. I really like to stay busy and they were always good for that
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Waitress (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: poor management
I loved the working with the customers and taking their orders while being able to interact with them, but I did not like the management there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for little to no recognition or respect.
Grill Operator (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: it was a job
Cons: please see review, would not recommend for anyone. i'm 250 pounds & strong, & it wiped me out harder than any construction job.
I worked hard breaking sales records the 2 years I was there, & was described as the best. I later found out that the intense nausea & the heat stroke I suffered from came from the grill's 400 degree heat, & asked 5 of the 6 different managers to be moved away from the grill. I wasn't moved, I never received the raise I was promised for a year, & the – more... owner destroyed morale every time he visited. I had finally had enough of the hostile atmosphere, & heat after they added about 10 permanent items I had to take care of, with no added compensation. I became so stressed I couldn't force myself to go back, even though it was my major source of income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty fun and reliable place to work
Food Preparation Worker (Current Employee), Crawfordsville, INJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: discounts on food, pretty flexible schedule if anything comes up
Cons: poor inventory at times
Working at Steak n' Shake for the most part is pretty easy, stress free. There has been some drama with some of the employees. Most of the coworkers do their job without having to be told and are pretty reliable. Management where i work for the most part is reliable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Fountain Worker (Former Employee), Prattville, ALJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: short hours
Steak N' Shake was my first job but I was friends with a few of the employees before getting the job. This made making friends very simple. Often times I made friends with everyone in the store during my shifts but couldn't let my performance slip due to that. Even though I desired to be in the front they always placed me at the fountain in the back – more... with no customer interaction at all. I was very good at what I did. I could make a quality shake in a short time. I was very quick on my feet when it came to making shakes and I made few, if any, mistakes. I was not the only shake maker. I often had a partner. On slow days when there was no dish washer on duty me or my partner would be required to take over the dish pit. I was a very fast dish washer. I was able to keep the area cleaner than most and still have time to assist my partner when things got a little quick paced and I had a clear, or nearly clear, dish pit. After each day it is our responsibility to take out the trash and break down boxes taking them to the recycling bin. That was my least favorite part of the job. There were days I got to be a hostess. Those were often my favorite. I was able to greet the customer and be the first person they saw when they walked in the door. I would seat them and prepare them for their server always leaving them in a good mood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but busy
cook (Former Employee), Huber Heights, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: free food sometimes
Cons: it was extremely hot
a typical day at work i go clock into work , then go prep my station and get ready for all the orders to start coming in. what i learned from this job is leadership and teamwork. i learned when it got busy how to pick the pace up and help out others around me during the process . the mangers helped alot, they in a way tough me that we things get tough – more... theres not always going to be there to hold your hand , by just lettin us figure out how get things done with out their help. my co-workers did their job like everyone else and they all held themsleves accountable. hardest part was trying to keep everything and everyone in the kitchen in order when it got busy. the most enjoyable part was mainly all of my co-workers got along so it made work real enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), fort oJanuary 10, 2014
i loved serving but the places management and team work is poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money and fun atmosphere
Server (Former Employee), Lancaster, OHJanuary 6, 2014
I loved working here! The staff was fun and the overall job experience and gain of skills was unbelievable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Restaurant Manager (RM) (Former Employee), Florence, KyDecember 30, 2013
Since it was my first job, I learned alot from this company, I manage to get into management, with a lot of dedication and caring about the business it gave a great opportunity to get the management experience i have now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed getting tips everyday and the fast working place
Server (Former Employee), Topeka, KSDecember 23, 2013
It was fun to work at because trying to get as many tables and tips as possible working with the people was fun at times but there was a lot of drama and just wish I would have gotten more hours the management was always nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in.
Cook (Former Employee), Oakwood, GADecember 16, 2013
Pros: close by my house.
Cons: bad communications between entry level employees and higher paid positions.
Management does not know how to convey messages to employee's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Drive Thru, Cashier (Former Employee), Joplin, MODecember 3, 2013
Pros: half off of food when working
Cons: little pay
A typical day at work for me would be a busy one. No matter what your job was to do you were always busy either cleaning or working with customers. Through this job I learned better customer service and to be less shy. My co-workers where fun to work with and hard workers. The hardest part of my job would be closing up the store. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job was meeting all the different customers and talking with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active, a lot of different skills
Server (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 19, 2013
Pros: experience and skills i gained.
Cons: some managment
Every day was very different. I would usually on a slow day come in and stock up supplies for a "lunch/diner rush" along with cleaning getting ready for the rush. Or on a busy day I would grab the first couple tables to help out. in free time maybe waiting on food it is very important to keep everything stocked I would restock any and everything I could. – more... I learned very good people skills, time management, multitasking skills, and how to work on a team. I also learned how to work the drive thu and the shake machine. I would also work the cash register. My co-workers were very helpful. Not really a stress free job but I like the adrenaline rush and being active. The hardest part of my job would be to serve while working the register and hosting/cleaning tables. I do enjoy making people happy so a happy customer is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back place to work
Grill Chef (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 17, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: benefits
Everyone does their job but I need a job that offers benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, quick turn over
Server (Former Employee), Holland, MINovember 12, 2013
Pros: quick paced
Cons: stressful managers
The job made great money as it had a quick turn over of tables. The managers were very stressful and they did not work well when the restaurant was busy, which was often. I learned a lot about quick paced work and customer service. The hardest part of the job was not mixing up orders and avoiding getting yelled at by the managers. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job were the other coworkers. – less

1 2 3 4 5