Find companies:
Stein Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Stein Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and secured environment.
General Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, NCAugust 26, 2014
Pros: bonus
Stein Mart was a very pleasant company to work for; the District and Regional management was personally connected with all the store management and associates to a degree of comfort. Stein Mart corporate office had a very educated support system that would always correct and help and resolved any problems.
My personal experience was a challenge and – more... I learned many aspects of retail operations that were very fulfilling.
I only resigned because of relocation to Pennsylvania. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Clientele and Very Diversified
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wheaton, ILAugust 19, 2014
Pros: 20 % discount to employees
Cons: same as previously stated
Enjoyed Conversations and Feedback to Engage and Promote Business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales associate/Cashier (Current Employee), San Dimas, CAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: meet lots of people
Cons: certain types of management
- Assisting in customer decisions
- Cashiering
- Cleaning
- Putting out new merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and helpful co-workers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Seminole, FLAugust 17, 2014
Pros: hour long breaks, helpful and friendly store manager
Cons: the distance (moved to clearwater after a while) with drive time
Fairly good days of work. Good co-workers that are willing to be backup cashiers. Manager is very kind and helpful and was a great teacher for training. The hours were well balanced and the work environment. The hardest thing usually when it comes to the job was the heavy flow when tourists were in town or when we had a 12 hour sale. Lines would be – more... all the way back to the store and it became nonstop. But in the long run it kept me busy which made the day go by faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to work
Home and Shoe Department Lead (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCAugust 14, 2014
Pros: employee discount
At Stein mart I would clock in and go to my department to see what needs to be completed during my shift. The management showed a lot of favoritism towards certain employees. My coworkers were mostly pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place but the hours were bad
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Plantation, FLAugust 13, 2014
Pros: cake
Cons: min. wage
you get assigned to a department with some flexibility and trained. its a friendly work place but the pay and hours are tight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Murrells Inlet, SCAugust 6, 2014
An overall good experience. Co-workers are like family. Definitely a place where you can advance in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for a first job
Sales Associate within Men's department (Former Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great place to start, friendly environment
Cons: low pay, asks a lot for a little
a typical day at work consists of signing in and reporting to your manager for tasks to be fulfilled. then you help customers and are on call for register help. then you will be provided with a break. Once that is done you complete the rest of the day and recover the store when it closes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Store Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch provided by the store gm from time to time
Cons: difficult to change schedule if other plans arise
I was a sales associate in the Gifts and Linens Department, and I occasionally covered the Shoe Department while the associate was out for lunch or out of work for the day. My job entailed creatively stocking products on the sales floor and assisting customers in a polite manner regarding the product they would like more information on.

Management – more... and co-workers are there to assist each other. Everyone helps each other out especially during closing time when some departments are not able to straighten and clean the department. The employees want to get out on time so everyone works together to complete the task. Management brings in food from time to time and provides employee appreciation with nice perks. Sometimes it is difficult to change schedules when other plans arises due to the dwindled employee base and economy; some days I am the only worker covering my department as well as other nearby departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Ladies' Department (Former Employee), Plant City, FLJuly 30, 2014
I dealt with customers in person and over the phone. I had to keep the merchandise on the floor organized and the fitting rooms cleared. I did the mark-downs for the clothing and I helped customers find their desired items when needed. I learned better customer service skills. Management was strong. My co-workers were wonderful and positive. The hardest – more... part of the job was not having a set hour schedule. Everything else was wonderful and enjoyable. I loved the co-workers, the job description, and the environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're young apply
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 20, 2014
Pros: you receive experience that's it.
Cons: doing more than what your job title requires
Overall the empolees were undertrained and underpaid. This company lacks appreation for their empolees. They are treated with no respect and yelled at. All management with this company is horrible that I have met at least. They expect you to do a lot of things that are not a part of your job tilte.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well maintained and energitic workplace
Material Handler/ Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 14, 2014
A typical day is coming to work around a comfortable staff,completing all of my task such as pulling,picking,and sorting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job but didnt feel comfortable
Part-Time Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: the customers and co workers loved working there
Cons: management one of the least liked in all my experience in retail and customer service
loved working with my co-workers but Management was terrible and my store manager had an alcohol problem that was known to everyone and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management willing to schedule around your life, fun people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rockwall, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: hour lunch, easy scheduling, enjoyable co-workers
Cons: variable hours by season
Scheduling for full time is 30 hours, part time can be much less. The harder you work the more hours you will be given. Co-workers friendly, as well as management. If you work just under full time hours they will classify you as part time with no additional benefits. Full shift for them is 7 hours but with unpaid hour for lunch, only end up working – more... six. Poor incentives for people to improve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PERSONABLE STAFF AND GREAT WORK ENVIRONMENT.
Sales Lead (Former Employee), FLORENCE, SCJuly 1, 2014
Pros: staff/benefits
Cons: standing on your feet all day.
GREAT PLACE TO WORK AND GET SOCIAL SKILLS WORKING WITH THE PUBLIC. MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss Managed....little or no training
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJune 23, 2014
Pros: good compensation package for upper management
Cons: hostile work environment
The Store Manager in Amarillo does not make sure associates are trained. She is demanding and can be a bully. Therefore her associates rarely stay for long. High turnover increases the work load for associates who do stay. This combination makes Stein Mart a very unsatisfying employer..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a summer job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 21, 2014
There wasn't too much training required for this store. It seemed like it was more of a greeter job then a sales associate position but fun wither way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The local store manager was the problem.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, South CarolinaJune 20, 2014
The store manager had poor employee relations and senior management was unwilling to give an honest review due to high turn over in middle management and there was retaliation from the store management toward any employees that complained against her.

The store manager also did not like it when an employee had to request time off for a funeral. She – more... would threaten there job again the senior manager was not there to take action against the local manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 19, 2014
Pros: good off days
Cons: no benefits
Nice clean work place.
Great customer service.
Handling money
being around new people laughing and talking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant work environment
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Florence, SCJune 19, 2014
There's room for advancement only if you apply yourself. All team members must be on the same page in order for the workplace to run smoothly.

1 2 3 4 5

About Stein Mart

Stein Mart's style is to operate department-like stores that feature discount prices. With some 260 shops in some 30 states, it – Read more