Find companies:
Stein Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Stein Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Very Flexible
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Greenville, NCNovember 13, 2014
PROS;
Great Flexibility
Learn lots of new skills
Great Managers

A typical day consist of setting sales, unloading shipments, freight, and help cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have grown and learned much from this company
Area Sales Manager (Current Employee), College Station, TXNovember 11, 2014
Customer service is the number one priority. I would help maintain a store culture on service. I would uphold to the highest standards of not only the store's, but my own. I create an empowering, infectious environment of positiveness, enjoyment for the day to day routine. I communicate well with the staff both physically and verbally. I would train – more... and develop my staff to better themselves and exceed at their job, and hopefully in life. I set daily goals, not only for myself, but my staff. I have the cash handling of daily deposits, register transactions, end of day settlement. I would say that the best part about me is that I am a cheerleader, strong supporter of others and encourage them to reach beyond what they may think is their limit and help them achieve it. On the other side, I would think that I think that I can always do better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 6, 2014
Great place for college students to gains skills! You will have money hadeling experience for future bank jobs!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
merchandising manager (Current Employee), Jackson, MSNovember 4, 2014
fun place to work. very friendly associates. constant standing and walking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked.
department lead (Current Employee), georgiaNovember 1, 2014
Pros: discounts, bonds you make with co-workers
Cons: pay, workload
The company has made a few cut backs which makes it a workload for at least 3 people, to be put on one person. Management isn't all that great and can sometimes be a little catty. And recently they decided to be open on thanksgiving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful corporate culture and fun work environment
Supply Chain (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 29, 2014
I enjoy working here every day. I love looking at the new products and merchadise and seeing it displayed throughout the building. There is a gym downstairs that is free and a great diner and convenient store in the building. Overall great location and great company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Recieving Associate (Former Employee), Augusta, GAOctober 25, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: not enough pay
Had a great time at the kwik worked with some good folks and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small staff for a medium size retial establishment
Key Holder Manager/Operations Lead (Current Employee), LouisianaOctober 24, 2014
Have been employed for the past 15 years with Stein Mart.
Many changes both good and bad have occurred and continue to occur within the company.
Hardest part of the job was that the company does not employee the number of associates in individual stores to accomplish set goals.
Difficulty hiring and/or keeping good management candidates.

No further – more... review at this time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love SteinMart and all of the products and merchandise the store carries.
Boutique Merchandising MGR & Sales (Former Employee), Cary, NCOctober 24, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed working with and meeting all types of people and using my artistic and creative abilities.
Cons: the hours are long, and the pay is extremely low for the duties and responsibilities of a department mgr.
I was Merchandising Manager and got to work with wall and aisle displays using my artistic and creative abilities...which I love. I am also a people person and I enjoyed helping and interacting with all types of people including fellow employees. My duties and responsibilities also included constant markdowns, setting sales and moving and rearranging – more... merchandise. I also was responsible for placing new merchandise on the floor on a weekly basis which includes placing store sensors on each piece of merchandise and often times rearranging displays to accommodate the new merchandise. Although I was only a parttime employee, I still was successful at maintaining a neat and orderly department and I quite enjoyed the opportunity to help and be a fashion consultant to customers. My department also participated in large monthly storewide sales events and periodic companywide Boutique sales contests with quotas which we were highly successful at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of GREAT people to work with.
Department Lead/Linens (Current Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 15, 2014
A typical day is very busy, I have learned how to make alot of merchandise fit in small spaces. For the most part, management is good, upper management more so than dept managers. There is some very dedicated and loyal employees. There really isn't a hard part of the job, each day is a different challenge, and the most enjoyable is definitely the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store
Retail Sales / Cashier (Former Employee), Granada Hills, CAOctober 1, 2014
Customer Service, love working with the customers and meet their needs. Great store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant working environment
Merchandising Home Manager (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 26, 2014
As a Merchandising Manager, I was faced with lots of challenges, but I wouldn't let it effect my work day. The Management was great to work with as well as the other associates. There wasn't really a hard part of the job but getting the tasks completed on a daily basis and maintaining the store operations. I liked being able to satisfy the customers – more... and them leaving the store happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville FLoridaSeptember 26, 2014
Loved everyone there. Workload was just right, and managers generally worked with you to solve issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stein mart was a great job
Material Handler (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 25, 2014
everybody at steinmart got along well.It was a learning experience working at stein mart i learned how to unload and load trucks at a fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: nice sales
Cons: short breaks, low pay
I really did not like working for Stein Mart, business was very slow and you were on your feet majority of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment, but very boring.
Sorter (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free coffee and extended hours of work
Cons: short breaks, constant supervision by managers, bad temperatures inside
Working at Stein Mart as a whole was an okay experience. There's hardly anyone to talk to to make the job fun. Managers are only concerned about the production rather than the employees to make better quality production. The co-workers are good people and understandable. Most people feel like indentured servants while working for this company in the – more... distribution center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees
Mens Merchandising Manager/Accessories (Current Employee), Elk Grove, CASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: no set standards, one person wants it this way, then switch for another.
Overall pretty good company, I just need a change from the gerneral public. Management changes aren't always the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Granada Hills, CASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: not organized
I do not wish to provide my comments. It is good for people that just started on retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Greenville, MSSeptember 16, 2014
A typical day at Stein Mart inlcudes assisting customers, and maintaining the appearance of the store. Management was excellent and everything was a team effort. The hardest part about working at Stein Mart was dealing with irrate customers. The most enjoying part was getting to know the people in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace because everyone including myself made sure we came together and always helped each other complete tasks.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Katy, TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: no benefits
I really enjoyed working here because my co-workers and managers were awesome.

1 2 3 4 5

About Stein Mart

Stein Mart's style is to operate department-like stores that feature discount prices. With some 260 shops in some 30 states, it – Read more