Find companies:
Steinhafels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Steinhafels Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are a disposable tool
Furniture Assembler (Former Employee), WaukeshaJune 16, 2015
Pros: a refriderator for your lunch
Cons: Management - Pay and any real future
Worked assembling "furniture" with the use of their electronic scanning system which "clocks" every piece you assemble with a predetermined amount of time; so if you were shorted hardware and need to get – more... some, or had to go to the bathroom, the clock never stopped and you're penalized for going over the allotted time. Managers and employees tell me they rarely see the grandkids who are now in control of the company as they're just the collecting checks; so saying their "family owned" is a term used loosely. No fresh air is allowed into the warehouse, so doors remain closed, even when "finishers" are using/spraying stains and lacquered finishes as they repair the cheap imported "furniture" The "Revolving Door" on employment never stops as the grunts of the company (drivers, assemblers, warehouse) are constantly leaving this place. I was just getting the hang-of the job and then I was called into my managers office for a discussion. You see, I applied for several positions there and took the first position offered to me. However a Customer Service job opened up and my supervisor was made aware that the C.S. manager was now interested in me. Believing this company "Promotes from within" I was excited the C.S. manager was interested in me. However my supervisor informed me that he had hired me to work in the warehouse. I offered to stay on a month as he searched for a replacement but that wouldn't suffice and when I confirmed that I indeed applied for that position, in Customer Service, I was terminated. Unfortunately my termination was before my 90 days so I had no recourse - so thru Revolving Door I went. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with fun staff
Part-time employee in warehouse (Current Employee), Grand Chute, WIMay 20, 2015
Although I was in the warehouse, I really enjoyed my time that I had there. Everyone is very friendly and helps teach you how to do the tasks that you struggle with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with a good group of diverse people
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIMay 7, 2015
Pros: sandwich machine
A Typical day at work consist of you coming through the doors and clocking in for the day. This was fairly simply, as it required you to place your hand on a terminal to be scanned and then you would enter – more... a four digit number of your choosing. From there you would proceed to the unload/loading area and meet up with other co-workers. once we were all together, the supervisor of the area would give us instructions on what jobs we were doing for the day and which job we would start working on first. The hardest part of this job was the heavy lifting, as you are moving furniture all day bedroom sets and couches can become really heavy after six hours. However the most enjoyable part of the in my opinion were the breaks, from which you could spend playing basketball or using the gym they had available for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment ; Emphasis on Safety
Customer Service Representative / Sales Associate (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIApril 24, 2015
Pros: free lunches ( lunch stipend)
Cons: graveyard shift
I worked as a cashier and barista making Starbucks drinks

I learned how to make drinks specifically trademarked to Starbucks

I learned about how important good customer service and how it impacts the overall customer experience

I also learned how to be safe and still be efficient and accurate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Mattress Sales/Customer Service (Current Employee), Glendale, WIMarch 15, 2015
Pros: healthcare, flexibility
Cons: there is no room for advancement or moving to a different position in the company.
In general the hours are good, medical very good, flexibility in needing time off. As with most companies improvement is needed, need more customer service representatives, more delivery trucks and a better – more... system for delivery times. My co-workers are fun and helpful to work with, the hardest part is trying to deal with customers who blame others mistakes on you. The one customer out of 5 who gives you a nice review. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Home Furniture Consultant (Former Employee), Menomonee Falls, WIMarch 7, 2015
Pros: saturday lunches are free and your awarded in a professional manner for performance.
Steinhafels Furniture is one of the best places to work in Wisconsin/Illinois.
My experience with the above organization was just as they promised at my interview; they provide a team spirited environment, – more... growth opportunities beyond measure, and a place where an employee can call home. Managers take the time out to teach, train and learn each employee. In addition, they guide their team with effective business strategies in a professional manner, they have a listening ear, open door policy and believe in diversity. Steinhafels is a place that you can call home and your appreciated as an employee. On the contrary, my greatest memories as an employee, they will go the extra mile to strengthen your weakness.
Are you looking for employment?
Apply at Steinhafels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the actual job is pretty enjoyable
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), WIJanuary 21, 2015
The position of delivery driver is great You drive around, move things, listen to music, and if you have a good partner you get along with well, it makes your day really great. The only real complaint – more... I ever had was a lack of a good management team.
There isn't a such thing as a singular delivery manager who takes care of the drivers questions, and there isn't any order in the ranking of management. This causes fear of stepping on other mangers toes, causing a greater lack of communication resulting in solid managerial decisions to be few and far between.

Overall a good job, good benefits, and usually a good partner, as it takes a certain mentality to do this kind of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place to work.
IT Intern (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIDecember 1, 2014
Cons: strict attendance policy
Not much to add, it was a pretty good place to work. Worst part was when I was there they had an attendance policy that was you couldn't clock in 1 minute before or after your start time. It makes sense, but out of fear of not being there on time I got there 10 minutes ahead of time to avoid any tardies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
actually the worst job I have had
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIMay 15, 2014
Pros: they paid you
Cons: lack of support
Started out with two and a half weeks of training, should have been at least a month. Customer service was basically another way to make sales, which I didn't want to be a sales person. after those two – more... weeks of training, we were thrown out on our own. the only way I survived was because the coworkers helped me complete tasks. the whole customer service department was gossip and cliques. I felt NO support from most of the management team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there
Sales and Design Consultant (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIApril 26, 2014
worked 12 yrs in sales/design for steinhafels furniture then went to Lazboy for 5 yrs until they closed the store...enjoyed working at both stores,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing, very easy job
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Kenosha, WIApril 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch on saturday
Cons: lots of sales tracking data that you have to meet to keep your job
The job is great, no cash handling very laid back but there are lots of different types of data they track and if you don't meet your numbers it is very easy to get fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow environment but excellent benefits
Sleep Specialist (Former Employee), Metro Milwaukee, WIMarch 10, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: slow environment
This was a job that provided excellent benefits and that's what I enjoyed most about the job. The reason I didn't stay was because there was no advancement opportunity for me after almost 2 years. I wanted – more... to get into my chosen field or at least be provided the training through the company to get started. Instead, I was given the role of mattress sleep specialist and sold mattresses during the entire duration of employment. Though they were high end quality and the company provided a price range for every budget, I personally couldn't stand working in a very slow environment with sometimes no social interaction for an entire shift which sometimes ended up being almost 12 hours long. I don't like to be condemned to answering phones and browsing the internet at work. I enjoy working hard and keeping busy so this was definitely not the right job for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient work place
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIDecember 9, 2013
Pros: freedom to handel problems on our own, authority granted to us to achieve a solution.
Cons: physically streniuang, unpredictable hours.
Working at Stainhafels was great. The management teem was always available and very knowledgeable. The delivery team was reliable and organized, but on top of that proud to hold such an important job at – more... the company. As delivery team we were often the last impression of the company for the customer so it was important to leave an good impression for customer retention.

Delivery drivers held an enormous amount of freedom within the company because managers were not present at the time of delivery so if any problems ever arises it was our responsibility to address the problem and find a solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Warehouse (Former Employee), Waukesha, WISeptember 15, 2013
This was the first job I ever had. Taught you a lot about what the real world would be like. Gave you a since of growing up because you were actually earning your keep.

About Steinhafels

Since 1934, Steinhafels Furniture has been a family-owned business providing quality home furnishings, mattresses, and home décor – Read more

Steinhafels Salaries

Sales Associate
$17.62 per hour
Sales Representative
$25.00 per hour
Sales Associate
$55,000 per year
Cashier/Shift Manager
$50,000 per year
$16.00 per hour