Stepping Stones Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper staff
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJuly 6, 2017
Steppings stones would right you up if you did not anything they want such as on your off day at 8pm ask you to go 30 miles to another house and grab something the after hours supervisor didnt want to get himself.
Pros
The residents and family
Cons
Your co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of support from management, under staffed, under paid
Lead Infant Teacher/School Van Driver (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXJuly 4, 2017
Lack of management interaction, attitude from them for any issue brought to them understaffed and poor compensation Out of ratio in class No benefit's
Pros
1 hour lunch, decent staff childcare discount
Cons
Inattentive management, under staffed, underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Step up aide (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 27, 2017
I worked for Stepping Stones just recently. Its not a bad company. They are understaffed which makes it difficult to stay focused. They offer great health insurance options, but there are no real official breaks.
Overall the work you do is very rewarding!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun culture, fast-paced
unit leader (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 12, 2017
We would check to make sure we had all the campers. Then we would start with a morning activity then go swimming if it wasn't raining. Then we would eat lunch and some arts and crafts/relaxing time. Then we would do some physical activities until the parents came to pick their children up.
Hardest part was finding a way to involve all the campers in as many activities as possible.
Best part was when the campers enjoyed activities and they would give you paintings or big hugs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start job for getting experience
Behavioral Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLJune 6, 2017
Very overwhelming and high activity duties. None caring
CEO of staff and clients. Does not pay substantially for work duties and no room to advance. Does not give proper pay raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't pay me for my extra hours worked.
Daycare Provider (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCMay 22, 2017
I really don't have anything to say about this franchise because everything that was going on was personal. Stepping Stones Daycare did not pay me for the extra hours I worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work atmosphere and managment
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Paxton, MAMay 3, 2017
The employer hires high school students and keeps their hours down and avoids keeping them for less then six months to avoid having to pay for their benefits and to avoid putting them on the businesses' employee list.
Pros
Getting to work with children
Cons
Enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 25, 2017
It was a great and challenging experience to work here. I worked with people who had a variety of disabilities and it was new to me but a lot of fun to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good summer job.
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAApril 11, 2017
It was a seasonal job but the work enviroment was so pleasant they i wish it wasn't. The manager made clear of what they expected of us and they made sure we treated the kids correctly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foster Parent in my home
Foster Parent (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 15, 2017
I really enjoyed the children that I had the chance to meet. I took care of several kids throughout my employment there. I ended up adopting one of the kids placed in my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay with high responsibilities
Disability Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOMarch 13, 2017
low pay with high responsibilities, Frequent turnovers because of the pay. Training is good. Line Supervisors are very open and will work with you very dedicated. The pay is just too low
Pros
hours
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend if looking for career advancement
Day Services Provider (Former Employee) –  Burlington, KSMarch 9, 2017
I would not recommend this place of work if looking for advancing your career or if you need strong communication-which they lack. However, if looking to do things on the fly, and pay repercussions later, this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned clinical skills
Substance abuse Therapist (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 4, 2017
you will learn the true meaning of social work at Stepping Stones. It was definitely a Stepping Stone in my career. I learned a lot about substance abuse/mental health and crisis intervention.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and busy environment with teamwork effort; many areas to devote skills and energy to provide exceptional work areas
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Prescott Valley, AZJanuary 25, 2017
Stepping Stones is devoted to assisting victims of domestic abuse by offering safety, counseling, and "a new start" (more info on-line) I enjoyed working with the public and promoting Stepping Stones.
Pros
Helping others and being part of a team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was promoted very quickly
Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 5, 2017
Not a very organized work place. Poor job training. No benefits. No job security. General Manager very negatve attitude and pretty impossible to make happy.
Pros
Quick promotion
Cons
Low pay and no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Great Company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Butte, MTDecember 22, 2016
Great Ownership. Very flexible with working hours and pay. Regular raises and good benefits. Training was consistant and internal promotions. Regular and year end bonuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Senior Server/Greeter (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 19, 2016
Steeping Stone is a great place to work and experience a
a variety of different cultures and languages. I learned
how to help people with disabilities. Physical and age
related symptoms. I was given the the chance to great these clients
with a smile on my face when they arrived.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment
Day Camp Specialist (Former Employee) –  United States of America, OhioSeptember 29, 2016
Working with individuals with disabilities involving personal care, transitioning to activities, running and planning activities and promoting positive culture throughout the camp day.

I learned a lot about being patient and understanding of individuals with disabilities. As well as life skills for example communicating with co-workers in stressful situations such as a Code Black - Tornado Warning.

A brilliant and hard working job over the Summer through Camp America.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff / excellent program for autistic children
Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJuly 25, 2016
Knowledgable, qualified, and compassionate staff members focused on working together for the benefit of the children.
Pros
Great kids, great location.
Cons
Potential to deal with occasional behavior issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
empowering and humbling
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wilson, NCJune 13, 2016
my day involves helping those who are less fortunate than myself. sometimes it may be someone needing food, clothing or just to know someone cares.
Pros
seeing grateful people
Cons
seeing ungrateful people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stepping Stones. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 101 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8