Find companies:
Sterling Jewelers Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
85 reviews

Sterling Jewelers Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fun environment
Clerical (Current Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHMarch 23, 2014
Pros: company discounts, healthcare
Cons: not much room for growth, rare raises
I've worked for Sterling Jewelers for over two years now and it's a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not like selling credit cards for this bank
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), avon lake, ohMarch 20, 2014
 Check Cashing, Bank Account Fund Transfers
 Savings/Checking: Deposits, Withdrawals
 Issued negotiable items: Cashier's Checks, Traveler's Checks, Money Orders, Western Unions
 Payment collecting: Auto, Mortgage, Credit Card, Reserve Accounts
 Promoted the financial institution's products: Loans, Mortgages, Credit Cards
 Cash Advances
 Savings – more... Bond Purchase or Redemptions
 Resolved customer issues
 Balanced Cash Drawers, ATMs
 Batched and Processed Proof Work: On-Us/Not-On-Us Checks, Payment Coupons, Counter Slips
 Ordered products for the customer: Checks, Deposit Slips – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding Career
Diamond and Swiss Time Piece Sales Representative (Former Employee), Montrose, OHMarch 18, 2014
Pros: health insurance/ pay
Cons: transfers
Sterling is a great company to work for. They are very flexible with your hours,and the health benefits are great. The upper management is very knowledgable and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Jewelry Sales Representative (Former Employee), Bowie, MDFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: discount, customers
Cons: healthcare
I enjoy the smiles and able to help people pick out jewelry. I love to make people day ans that's what i did everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work enviroment
Service Center Manager (Current Employee), Warner Robins, Ga.February 17, 2014
Busy, production based goals. Oversee repair shop. Order parts, inventory. Recruit , test potential candidates. Write schedules. Prepare action plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WoW
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bloomingdale, ILFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good employee discounts
Cons: always be on look out for loosing sales to dischonest employees
wow wild guest experience and not only that, it is all about dog eats dog job, not even helping customer now days, pay is behind 10 years you will never get a raise for over quoted standards by smart company advisors, the turn over is over 100% I had work for almost 3 years and all the time managers come and go, no one is putting in perspective State – more... lost over million jobs over short time due to free Market trade, where all those people will get money now to buy gemstones and jewels? Job Security is Zero, as soon you remind you behind on raise or not getting your hours you was promised you are getting kicked out and not even count on unemployment benefits, they have agency in place to consult company how to get people out so they don't have to pay unemployment benefits. Do no recommend this place for life and work Balance at all. I asked once in two years for personal time off one day, didn't get paid, because why? I cannot use benefits I am working for? Management talks big and promises to every one promotion and some one else from out from so called with in promotion will get it.. hard times.. long days, no holidays off.. not good paying job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Inventory Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 2, 2014
My reviews are always positive. I get positive feedback and exceptional compensation for a retail environment. I enjoy working with this organization. Unfortunately, there is minimal opportunities for advancement in certain regions. It is a fun workplace with lots of personalities and cultural backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soap Opera
Office Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee), Canton, OHJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: lots of drama and very political
A very political and drama filled company that will quickly consume your life. The only reason to work there is the employee discount on jewelry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standards driven business ...
Certified Diamontologist (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: company works well with the "family" concept for quality time. very flexible with schedules.
Cons: non- compliance to 5 for 5 standards, creates a high pressure environment of weekly write ups, and uncomfortable pressure to do better.
The company provides good benefits and growth potential if you
enter the manager training program.
The company otherwise uses the typical retail high pressure
tactic of achieving 5 for 5 standards in an economy that is not
supportive of this trend.
Traffic of in store sales is dictated by an associate's ability to generate their own sales. A lot of – more... pressure to increase sales by as much as 20% with each new fiscal year regardless of the local economy. The pay is not fair for what is expected. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict place to work
COLLECTIONS REP/30 AND 60DAYS (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: had vacation
Cons: would work alot of weekends
Handled outbound and incoming calls from customer whose jewelry accounts were 30 days past due. Setup payment arrangments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sterling jewlers is not a comany i would recomend
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 15, 2014
employees are forced, even sometimes encouraged to undercut each other. senior employees believe that they are entitled to a part of every employees sakes. management seemed to be only out for themselves. stanards for thing other than sales are un realistic. being able to interact and be a part of your customers lives is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sterling had a very nice work out room and lunch area
damange and defective (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: eye, helth, life, dental benafits
Cons: the overtime paychecks are nice during that time family time you have none.
sterling was a great job to work at, not a place for a career. I had a great lead very understanding and down to earth. I myself did not like the mandaory over time it was hard work during the holiday, hard to handle family and work. I dont know how someone could do that having young children. Other than the overtime in the holidays sterling was a great – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, positive management, consistant and detailed oriented workplace.
Customer Care II Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHDecember 19, 2013
Pros: sterling always kept us happily fed with various breakfast, lunches and dinners. never a dull moment!!!
Cons: time management, short breaks when you may need a few moment longer. we managed
I would sign in, set up my paperwork to prepare to assist our customers with any problem or concerns. Sterling Jewelers, Inc, has 12 retail stores.... Kay's, Jared Galleria, Ostermans, Rogers, J.B. Robinsons, Friedlanders, Beldens, Marks&Morgans, Shaws, Weisfield, Leroys and Goodmans. I assit with account maintenance,(change of address or name, etc). – more... I received customer complaints, if I can assist in resolving, I would, if not I would transfer customer to the appropriate person to assist in resolving the matter. I processed credit card or check payments daily. I processed refunds, credits and reviewed customer account discrepancies. I received numerours calls from our associates from the retail stores with questions, or assistance. I loved that management was always creating system updates, and training to help our interactions with our customer run smooth and effectively. My supervisor and manager fair, but firm. Wonderful ladies. I loved working with my Sterling family. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. We helped one another by sharing information. We didn't take constructive advise, personal. We projected professionalism and respect for one another. I feel the hardest part of the job was irate customers. I would remind myself daily, and my co-workers, that we do not live in a perfect world, and people are human with life threatning problems in this economy, and we must display through our conversing, empathy, in a firm and profesional manner. I desired balance in my interactions with my customers, co-workers and people in general. I have been blessed with my past work experiences. Me working in the mental health field, with homeless individuals, I embraced many positive life skills. One skill I effectively applied to this position was art of "diffusing". I would receive a call from a customer who may have hung up on another representative, customer calling back, I would get the call,and with my soft spoken tone, it actually calmed the my customer to a point where we found a positive median in resolving the issue at hand. The enjoyable part was completing our call and knowing I made a positive impact with this customer, on that day, in there life. I loved hearing a smile and a sigh of relief during my calls and when they request my name and extension to call me back if they should have any other problems, I know I have done what Sterling Jewelers, Inc, expected of me.......happily satisfy our customers. God Bless Sterling Jewelers, Inc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Armed Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Akron, OHNovember 16, 2013
Sterling Jewelers has allowed me to start my career and enter in the realm of Corporate Security. Dealing with everyday occurances will be a part of the field I chose to go in for the rest of my life. I have gained the ability to avoid and avert confrontation through communication and am able to manage a group of officers and lead them through every – more... shift, while giving assistance and training when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SEEMS LIKE THINGS HAVE REALLY CHANGED!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FloridaNovember 10, 2013
Pros: great co-workers! healthcare, dental, vision, 401k. what a team we had!
Cons: i really did not have any negatives while i was there until that new manager started.
I can hardly believe all the things I am reading here. I worked for Sterling Jewelers from 2001 to October 2004 and it was one of the best places I had ever worked. The manager was great! The best co-workers ever and so much training was available for anyone who wanted to learn more about the jewelry industry. I felt that you could make a career in – more... this company if that is what you were looking for. I was very happy working here and I did not really find that anything was hard. I made my goals most of the time, I would always get credit apps way more than what was required and had a great time.

If you're wondering why I left it was actually when we suddenly had a change in management. I have no idea why the previous one was let go. She was fantastic, great with customers, a bubbly personality and treated that store as if it were her own. Having owned a jewelry store myself for quite a few years and my parents being in the jewelry business my whole life I would have never let that manager go. The new manager had a very nasty tone of voice when speaking to the employees. I was very dissappointed with the attitude and resigned.

I just recently resigned from my current job after four years because there aren't any benefits paid vacations or anything at all anymore.
It is also only part-time. I did apply at Sterling and visited one of their locations close to where I live and someone told me that I would not like to work there that it was extremely difficult because they would make my life impossible. I thought for a minute that maybe that person just didn't want me to work there for some other reason. Only a few days later I applied somewhere else and was asked what other jewelry stores had I been to and I told them I did apply at Sterling and they told me they had just quit because of management and the stress was unbearable. This was only last week. I will say that maybe not all stores are the same, this is my review and how I feel but your experience may be different. I would say apply to as many places as you can because it is very tough now with so many people unemployed at the moment. Do your own research and make your own decisions. You can always leave if a situation can not be resolved or becomes intolerable.

Good luck to everyone in your search! Don't give up there is something for everyone out there! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee friendly/ great benefits
BILINGUAL RECOVERY SPECIALIST (Former Employee), akron, OHOctober 29, 2013
Pros: bonus pay/ overtime
Cons: schedule change
It involved customer care, which was a learning experience on how to deal with everyday hardship. There would be cash contest and prizes given out for performance. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The great pay and unlimited over time wouldn't let me leave. The most enjoyable part was the pay as well as the discount on jewelry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Prespective
Assistant Manager Office Manager (Current Employee), n/aOctober 28, 2013
Count jewelry
inventory
sales
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping new engagements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ft lauderdale is Horrible place to work !
Salesperson (Former Employee), Ft. Lauderdale, FlOctober 16, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I've worked at many fine jewelry companies but not the Jared the Galleria of Jewelry in Ft. Lauderdale, Fl. Under the direction of current Management team. You will be subject to lies, verbal harrasement and retaliation via scheduling if you don't do exactly what they say, when they say or if they just don't come to like you. Your future will not depend – more... on your performance but on who likes you. (Good Ole boys) They'll get rid of you by making your life miserable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 14, 2013
Great place to work, and great benefits.
Good discounts for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Account II Representative (Collections) (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHOctober 11, 2013
Awesome benefits and perks. A friendly environment, a place that cares about employees, and much room for advancement.

1 2 3 4 5