Find companies:
Sterling Jewelers Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

Sterling Jewelers Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Store Manager (Former Employee), No Salery increase that ofenNovember 21, 2014
Pros: family enviroment
Assist the Store Manager in the daily operation of store to achieve and develop sales and profit thoughleadership and training in accordance with company policies, systems and procedures. Oversees the repair department function within store. Assist the Store Manager in all areas of management, such as procedures
insupport of the company's business objectives – more... and Corporate Mission Statement, the Customer first philosophy, Assumed the duties and responsibilities of Store Manager in his absence. Assisted in maintaining daily focus among all associates on standards achievement, the control of mark downs, store expenses and repair departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for this company!
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Hermitage, PANovember 9, 2014
Cons: management, coworkers. pay, hours. actually everything is awful
This is by far the worst company I ever worked for. Full time is not 40 hrs. Manager is a psycho. They reverse your sales commission and give it to other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management
f/the sales (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 30, 2014
Pros: just lie and get rewarded
Cons: a company that is evil and terrible pay
I recently left the company as well as three other associates on the same day after working for a new manager who first of all lied to obtain the position on an excellent manager ,numerous employees new why because the D.M. hated someone who new more than he did so he had this young boy and a female employee to set him up and tell lies , but yet this – more... new manager committed forgery. Just another of many lies that go on. This D.M.did it to the previous D.M. just so he could get his position. When is the Vice President of operations and the C E O of the company going to open their eyes to what's going on. This is why we and many more are going to do the same. Sad very Sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Manual Collections Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 26, 2014
Overall the staff was great. The contest and events made the job enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Designer (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 23, 2014
Pros: great to their employees
Loved working at Sterling. Unfortunately, with their recent acquisition, they had to consolidate our departments. Therefore, I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and Hostile Work Atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), LeRoy's JewelerOctober 23, 2014
Pros: decent benefits for fulltime employees.
Cons: allow hostile work atmospheres to continue with no resolution.
When I first started working for Sterling (at Kay's) I really enjoyed it. I had an excellent manager and the work atmosphere was great. I was then offered the opportunity to be promoted to Assistant Manager at the Leroy's in the same mall as the Kay's. WOW....what a mistake that was.....classic example of be careful what you ask for. My first couple – more... of weeks at LeRoy's , I noted the work atmosphere was totally different then at Kay's. The associate's and store manager were distant and the store manager would often trash talk a couple of the associate (to include the 3rd key holder) to me and in front of other associates. She would also trash talk the District Manager in front of the associates as well. The store manager there was nice to my face, telling me she was going to help me with training, etc. Well that never happened. I began to wonder if she was trash talking me to the other associates? I consistently noted that she was giving the 3rd key associate (remember, the one she would trash talk about), Assistant Mgr duties. One senior associate at LeRoy's finally came forward and told me that the store manger had been and continued to trash talk me to her and other associates. I wasn't really sure were I stood with trusting the other associates, so I kept my mouth shut, not wanting to add fuel to fire. Then the week that the store manager left to go to a company meeting in FL, she left written instructions for me to complete one on one reviews with the associates. Upon completion of each one on one, I would end the review by asking if there were any other issues or concerns they had about operations within the store. I was surprised at one associates response. This associate just opened up and poured her heart out about all the drama and trash talk that the store manager had been doing about me, both before I transferred to the store and after. I apologized for the negative work atmosphere, but the damage was already done. She told me she was going to submit her two week notice, as she didn't want to continue working in a hostile work atmosphere. I completed the other 3 one on ones and each associate took the opportunity to let me know just how bad things were in the store and that they were tired of all the trash talking and drama in that store. A couple of them even stated that they dreaded coming to work if they were scheduled to work with the store manager, as they knew it would be a night of continuous trash talk. I offered to the associates to contact the District Manager if they would like to speak to him about their concerns. They stated they would. I contacted him and he came up the following week for two days. I was not at work the first day he was there and upon my return the second day he was there, he sat down with me and basically told me that I was problem and I needed to focus on store sales and the other standards as the standards in the store were very low for the month. I gave him my opinion on things and even gave him a few example of how the store manager was violating company policy. He told me that he was going to have a sit down with me, the store manager and 3rd key associate to discuss the issues and get things cleared up. A few hours later, he grabbed his things and left the store/mall. The sit down with the store manager, 3rd key and myself never took place. This was the icing on the cake for me, as this District Managers total lack of professionalism made me realize that he was not going to do anything about the hostile work atmosphere with in the store and that he approved of the store managers trash talking of associates, himself, me and the team at Kay's. Then to top it off, a few days later, I turned in my two week notice. I worked two more days and the store manager called me into the back room and let me go. Told me the District Manager stated I could not finish out my two week notice because I was going to work for a competitor at the end of my two weeks. If this District Manager is any example of how this company operates, I am glad to be done with them. Heed this warning folks, don't expect your issues to be addressed by this company. All they care about is sales and you meeting your standards. A hostile work atmosphere is of no concern to them. In my 15 plus years working in the management field, I have never worked for a company like this one. This District Managers condoning of that store managers behavior, his lack of empathy for the associates concerns and his flagrant disregard of the hostile work atmosphere with in the store are just down right disgraceful. Judging from the several or more negative posts on this site about Sterling, this Distract Managers lack of concern is no surprise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
totally dishonest company and employees are not protected by h.r. policies, and they are not worth the paper they're written on.
store manager (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 17, 2014
Pros: absolutely none seems so at first but beware.
Cons: hr policies aren't worth the paper they're written on. company definitely descriminates, i mean okay for some not all.
Unfortunately this company is built on lies,not only to employees but to customers as well. I am an ex - manager and I was sick about the lies I had to tell customers like replacing diamonds that didn't match and telling customers they were getting great deals, which they weren't. Sterling has now purchased Zalesjewelersmyr Corp and now they have monopolized – more... the jewelry market so I'm sure that the mom pop jewelry stores will benefit from that because more and more people are learning the truth about sterling (kay jewelers.)I'm sure I can help them see the light, and I will. The customers should know how the employees laugh at them when they walk out the door knowing they got over on them.Im sure that if the media would like to know more I would love to tell them the truth about this so called ethical company. Right, far from it. Employees Beware. Horrible company to work for and there are much better companies to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work is rewarded
Store manager (Current Employee), TNOctober 17, 2014
Pros: great incentives, hard work is rewarded, potential for growth, customers become friends for life, sparkles all day
Cons: starting pay for inexperienced makes it difficult to recruit, depending on employees: management is constantly working, it can be very stressful at times
Sterling jewelers is a very successful and growing business. They provide tools for success and there is definitely potential to "shine." Working for a jewelry store that focuses on the customer and making it their moment is an emotional fulfillment for me as an employee. I absolutely love to work and I love my job! It takes a special person to be successful – more... in this business. The company has high expectations that challenges the employees and that creates success. The virtual tryout benefits new applicants and managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Assistant Manager/ Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIOctober 13, 2014
Servicing mechanical equipment.
Management is focused on making sure one has the right tools, and training to appropriately accomplish job tasks.
Co-workers are a plus and great to work with.
Hardest part of the job is working with heavy machinery.
Most enjoyable part of the job is its challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company in jewelry sales
Assistant Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Strongsville, OHOctober 9, 2014
Pros-Benefits, room for fast growth, fast paced environment, face to face customer relations

Cons-High turnover rate, must be willing to work retail hours, sales environment which requires a lot of swindling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store manager
Store Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Merrillville, INSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: none- the discounts are not worth being asked to do something unethical
Cons: everything..just google sterlings lawsuit and that should sum it up for you
I worked for this company for 12 years. I would never return. They say the have a zero tolerance for retaliation...flat out lie. I reported my DM for unethical practices and in turn I was terminated. I know there are two sides to every story, but this is exactly what happen. Little did I know, the person I reported it to was best friends with the DM..Top – more... sale mgr. made several sales trips. The minute I was asked to do something unethical and I reported it, I was fired.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed people I worked with and the company overall
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: coworkers were pleasant, great benefits medical, vacation etc
Cons: long hours, my department wasnt about family
Enjoyed working here for long time, but no consistency among the managers and supervisors. No open line of communication. Long 12 hour days 5 to 6 days a week. Missed out on a lot of family functions and getting involved with my children. Coworkers were wonderful. We all tried to make our days fun while being productive. I enjoyed working with my customers – more... and helping them to come up with payment plans. It was nice when a year later I had customers still calling asking for me directly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Barstow, CASeptember 15, 2014
I had to make sure that the jewelry was ready for the customers and that everything was clean. I learned how to handle jewelry, how to sell, and how to have even better customer care. The management and the co-workers were always very helpful and it was very team-oriented. The hardest part was sometimes not being able to connect with a customer and – more... not being able to sell, but the most enjoyable part was when I was able to sell because the customer and I understood each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
promise the world and give you dirt
Sales associate (Current Employee), akron ohioAugust 31, 2014
Pros: co workers are ok can be fun
Cons: there are far more cons than pros, unless youre hired in at management level, dont waste youre time, because they will
told i would be in management within 6 months. ALl ive recieved is lies and hot air
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced competitive enviroment, fun as that is what I look for.
Assistance Store Manager (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: very good income if you are willing to work the hours and can build a good client base.
Cons: short breaks, longer hours mean higher standards required to meet.
Daily day to day working environment is usually terrific based on the team and or the store you work in. Overall corporate policy is sometimes hard to implement within the store and there doesn't always seem to be the awareness at corporate level how actual stores are run. The company has a "one size fits all" policy change that is hard to negotiate – more... depending on the store you may be working in. Special events are fun but expectations are sometimes a little high and no matter how well you are doing in every other day of that month or quarter, if a store or individual doesn't do well with a special event that seems to hold more weight then terrific sales and standards throughout other periods of time. Individual management styles in each store varies so much that a good management team can really make for a wonderful atmosphere and good energy, however just one weak link in the management team can really bring an entire team down.

It was hard to get the corporate level to support necessary changes or discharges of staff at store level. This resistance by corporate and fear of that one individual that "may" sue often brought down the energy of a store if there was a known personnel problem either a loss prevention or HR issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great money
Collections rep (Former Employee), akron ohioAugust 25, 2014
production job. it was productions great bonus and callcenter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anything you want to learn just ask
jeweler apprentice (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Wonderful company that encourages constant learning. If you are up for a challenge this is a great place to start. Salary plus commision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with funny people
Sales Associate/2nd Assistant (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAAugust 19, 2014
Either I opened with the Store Manager, Assistant Manager or another employee and began opening procedures including beginning computer/sales system, responding to emails, and preparing merchandise displays. I learned about various jewelry material including metals and stones. I also learned about selling techniques through role playing and reading – more... information about products. What I enjoyed most were the people I got to work with that made each day a learning experience while also creating a team environment. We worked really well together and kept each other laughing. The hardest part was dealing with our own company as competition. Because Belden Jewelers was a part of Sterling Jewelers Inc, I also had to worry about my sister store getting most of the business. Eventually being forced to close. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please find yourself a better job!!!
Sales (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaAugust 8, 2014
Pros: ok health plan, great discounts
Cons: please read review!
Jared has a very high turnover rate for a reason. First of all forget about selling Jewelry. Your primary function at Jared will be to sign people up for their high interest credit account. There are 2 sections to Jared. Diamond and Perimeter, Perimeter personnel are not allowed to sell anything with diamonds in it. When I say anything with diamonds – more... I mean anything! Most diamond people can sell whatever they want; this makes it impossible for perimeter to reach their goals. You will have 5 out of 5 standards you will have to achieve in order to keep your job. You will be hounded about your numbers constantly. The 5 of 5 standards are as follows.
1. Sales, Jared has single point pricing they are in the same family as Kay, Zale’s, JB Robinson and several other Jewelry companies that carry the exact same product they can also adjust their pricing so Jared is the most expensive place to buy Jewelry.
2. Add-ons, Every time you do sell something you are expected to sell the customer something else trust me this gets old and it is difficult.
3. Repairs, the Company sets your repair goal. If you are honest with your customers you will never reach your goal.
4. Credit, selling people a 24.99% interest credit card is tough. Not to mention 24.99% used to be against the law. Google Usury laws.
5. Watch (Swiss), People don’t buy watches anymore so good luck.
Another part of Jared is what they call TO’s or turning over to another employee. They do this so they don’t lose sales. However it is more commonly used by employees who have been there awhile to get part of your better sales. If you are selling an Omega timepiece the diamond personnel will start circling you like sharks expecting you to TO them into the sale so they now get half. If you’re selling a cheap Peridot ring or if you have a difficult customer there will be no one to help you – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Account Representative (Former Employee), akron,ohAugust 6, 2014
Pros: can earn lots of money
Cons: work a lot of hours
received and made outgoing calls in an attempt to collect a debt.
dealt with irate customers
great benefits
great employee discount
opportunity to earn a lot of cash

1 2 3 4 5