Find companies:
Sterling Jewelers Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
142 reviews

Sterling Jewelers Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation was good
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Eugene, ORDecember 22, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: work schedule
Constant presence on the sales floor, and approaching browsing customers was a typical work day. Initiating conversations to determine buying preferences and recommending appropriate items, as well as trying on items, and completing purchases. Management and co-workers were fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was overcoming objections. As – more... a Sales Representative, I enjoyed working with customers find the appropriate item, whether it's for themselves, or a gift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ALL who you know with this company!
Store Manager (Former Employee), AlabamaDecember 22, 2014
Pros: the $ looks good on paper and there is a employee discount available
Cons: family/ work balance is very poor. the $ is not worth the job!
What I learned was, Its not what you know or how great you are at performing your job. Its WHO you know and how well you play THEIR game!!! If you're down with lies, cheating, back stabbing, and covering it all up...this is the job for you! They talk about ethics while they are all snakes! Its nothing but smoke and mirrors. Truth is: I was "IN" because – more... I wanted to succeed so badly. I am so ashamed of that!!! But The very second I turned down a district manager for an "advancement" , I was OUT! The upper management panel all "have each others backs", no matter how much they say they love and respect you. Standing up for yourself in this workplace equals retaliation from upper management at its worst. Think they can't and won't find or even create a reason to terminate you with no notice...Wrong! Coincidentally, the DM was fired about a year later for numerous (9) claims against him! It was too little, too late for me. Just goes to show you how long they'll allow something to carry on, and cover it all up. It all came out that this DM had been called into the office on multiple occasions, so they knew all along and allowed him to do it while they covered it up and innocent people were losing their jobs and abilities to feed their families out of sheer retaliation. IF you go to work for this company, you won't be there long! That's a promise. They'll use you every way they can until they no longer have a need for you and then you are OUT! Your family vs work balance is 95% devotion to them and your family gets the scraps!!!! Good Luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Case Specialist (Current Employee), OHDecember 10, 2014
I have worked for Sterling Jewelers Inc. for five years and have continued on a path of progression since hired. Networking is the best way to continue to develop professionally. Good company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bad company
collections (Former Employee), akronNovember 27, 2014
Pros: ummmm discount
Cons: everything
Ur typical work day, u would get there and check ur packets that they give u and see what paid online and or dialer and or in the store and or a 3 rd party company in Arizona , then u usally call all the packets u have left and get yelled at by the director or dictator that runs ur department. Then you work usally 8 to 9 every day and they lie to you – more... saying they want us to have life balance but not really that is why most that work there are single or divorced because well there is no way to have a life when u work there , thepay is ok but not good enough and the benfitis are awesome my manager was great but now she got demoted because otf the director think he is god he is the worst person ever – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hands-on learning environment
Account Representative III / Recovery (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHNovember 24, 2014
Pros: awards
Cons: pay rate
This employer provides a positive work environment for its employees. Offering opportunity for inter departmental growth. As well as, corporate growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Store Manager (Former Employee), No Salery increase that ofenNovember 21, 2014
Pros: family enviroment
Assist the Store Manager in the daily operation of store to achieve and develop sales and profit thoughleadership and training in accordance with company policies, systems and procedures. Oversees the repair department function within store. Assist the Store Manager in all areas of management, such as procedures
insupport of the company's business objectives – more... and Corporate Mission Statement, the Customer first philosophy, Assumed the duties and responsibilities of Store Manager in his absence. Assisted in maintaining daily focus among all associates on standards achievement, the control of mark downs, store expenses and repair departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for this company!
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Hermitage, PANovember 9, 2014
Cons: management, coworkers. pay, hours. actually everything is awful
This is by far the worst company I ever worked for. Full time is not 40 hrs. Manager is a psycho. They reverse your sales commission and give it to other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management
f/the sales (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 30, 2014
Pros: just lie and get rewarded
Cons: a company that is evil and terrible pay
I recently left the company as well as three other associates on the same day after working for a new manager who first of all lied to obtain the position on an excellent manager ,numerous employees new why because the D.M. hated someone who new more than he did so he had this young boy and a female employee to set him up and tell lies , but yet this – more... new manager committed forgery. Just another of many lies that go on. This D.M.did it to the previous D.M. just so he could get his position. When is the Vice President of operations and the C E O of the company going to open their eyes to what's going on. This is why we and many more are going to do the same. Sad very Sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Manual Collections Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 26, 2014
Overall the staff was great. The contest and events made the job enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Designer (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 23, 2014
Pros: great to their employees
Loved working at Sterling. Unfortunately, with their recent acquisition, they had to consolidate our departments. Therefore, I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and Hostile Work Atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), LeRoy's JewelerOctober 23, 2014
Pros: decent benefits for fulltime employees.
Cons: allow hostile work atmospheres to continue with no resolution.
When I first started working for Sterling (at Kay's) I really enjoyed it. I had an excellent manager and the work atmosphere was great. I was then offered the opportunity to be promoted to Assistant Manager at the Leroy's in the same mall as the Kay's. WOW....what a mistake that was.....classic example of be careful what you ask for. My first couple – more... of weeks at LeRoy's , I noted the work atmosphere was totally different then at Kay's. The associate's and store manager were distant and the store manager would often trash talk a couple of the associate (to include the 3rd key holder) to me and in front of other associates. She would also trash talk the District Manager in front of the associates as well. The store manager there was nice to my face, telling me she was going to help me with training, etc. Well that never happened. I began to wonder if she was trash talking me to the other associates? I consistently noted that she was giving the 3rd key associate (remember, the one she would trash talk about), Assistant Mgr duties. One senior associate at LeRoy's finally came forward and told me that the store manger had been and continued to trash talk me to her and other associates. I wasn't really sure were I stood with trusting the other associates, so I kept my mouth shut, not wanting to add fuel to fire. Then the week that the store manager left to go to a company meeting in FL, she left written instructions for me to complete one on one reviews with the associates. Upon completion of each one on one, I would end the review by asking if there were any other issues or concerns they had about operations within the store. I was surprised at one associates response. This associate just opened up and poured her heart out about all the drama and trash talk that the store manager had been doing about me, both before I transferred to the store and after. I apologized for the negative work atmosphere, but the damage was already done. She told me she was going to submit her two week notice, as she didn't want to continue working in a hostile work atmosphere. I completed the other 3 one on ones and each associate took the opportunity to let me know just how bad things were in the store and that they were tired of all the trash talking and drama in that store. A couple of them even stated that they dreaded coming to work if they were scheduled to work with the store manager, as they knew it would be a night of continuous trash talk. I offered to the associates to contact the District Manager if they would like to speak to him about their concerns. They stated they would. I contacted him and he came up the following week for two days. I was not at work the first day he was there and upon my return the second day he was there, he sat down with me and basically told me that I was problem and I needed to focus on store sales and the other standards as the standards in the store were very low for the month. I gave him my opinion on things and even gave him a few example of how the store manager was violating company policy. He told me that he was going to have a sit down with me, the store manager and 3rd key associate to discuss the issues and get things cleared up. A few hours later, he grabbed his things and left the store/mall. The sit down with the store manager, 3rd key and myself never took place. This was the icing on the cake for me, as this District Managers total lack of professionalism made me realize that he was not going to do anything about the hostile work atmosphere with in the store and that he approved of the store managers trash talking of associates, himself, me and the team at Kay's. Then to top it off, a few days later, I turned in my two week notice. I worked two more days and the store manager called me into the back room and let me go. Told me the District Manager stated I could not finish out my two week notice because I was going to work for a competitor at the end of my two weeks. If this District Manager is any example of how this company operates, I am glad to be done with them. Heed this warning folks, don't expect your issues to be addressed by this company. All they care about is sales and you meeting your standards. A hostile work atmosphere is of no concern to them. In my 15 plus years working in the management field, I have never worked for a company like this one. This District Managers condoning of that store managers behavior, his lack of empathy for the associates concerns and his flagrant disregard of the hostile work atmosphere with in the store are just down right disgraceful. Judging from the several or more negative posts on this site about Sterling, this Distract Managers lack of concern is no surprise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
totally dishonest company and employees are not protected by h.r. policies, and they are not worth the paper they're written on.
store manager (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 17, 2014
Pros: absolutely none seems so at first but beware.
Cons: hr policies aren't worth the paper they're written on. company definitely descriminates, i mean okay for some not all.
Unfortunately this company is built on lies,not only to employees but to customers as well. I am an ex - manager and I was sick about the lies I had to tell customers like replacing diamonds that didn't match and telling customers they were getting great deals, which they weren't. Sterling has now purchased Zalesjewelersmyr Corp and now they have monopolized – more... the jewelry market so I'm sure that the mom pop jewelry stores will benefit from that because more and more people are learning the truth about sterling (kay jewelers.)I'm sure I can help them see the light, and I will. The customers should know how the employees laugh at them when they walk out the door knowing they got over on them.Im sure that if the media would like to know more I would love to tell them the truth about this so called ethical company. Right, far from it. Employees Beware. Horrible company to work for and there are much better companies to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work is rewarded
Store manager (Current Employee), TNOctober 17, 2014
Pros: great incentives, hard work is rewarded, potential for growth, customers become friends for life, sparkles all day
Cons: starting pay for inexperienced makes it difficult to recruit, depending on employees: management is constantly working, it can be very stressful at times
Sterling jewelers is a very successful and growing business. They provide tools for success and there is definitely potential to "shine." Working for a jewelry store that focuses on the customer and making it their moment is an emotional fulfillment for me as an employee. I absolutely love to work and I love my job! It takes a special person to be successful – more... in this business. The company has high expectations that challenges the employees and that creates success. The virtual tryout benefits new applicants and managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Assistant Manager/ Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIOctober 13, 2014
Servicing mechanical equipment.
Management is focused on making sure one has the right tools, and training to appropriately accomplish job tasks.
Co-workers are a plus and great to work with.
Hardest part of the job is working with heavy machinery.
Most enjoyable part of the job is its challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company in jewelry sales
Assistant Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Strongsville, OHOctober 9, 2014
Pros-Benefits, room for fast growth, fast paced environment, face to face customer relations

Cons-High turnover rate, must be willing to work retail hours, sales environment which requires a lot of swindling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store manager
Store Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Merrillville, INSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: none- the discounts are not worth being asked to do something unethical
Cons: everything..just google sterlings lawsuit and that should sum it up for you
I worked for this company for 12 years. I would never return. They say the have a zero tolerance for retaliation...flat out lie. I reported my DM for unethical practices and in turn I was terminated. I know there are two sides to every story, but this is exactly what happen. Little did I know, the person I reported it to was best friends with the DM..Top – more... sale mgr. made several sales trips. The minute I was asked to do something unethical and I reported it, I was fired.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed people I worked with and the company overall
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: coworkers were pleasant, great benefits medical, vacation etc
Cons: long hours, my department wasnt about family
Enjoyed working here for long time, but no consistency among the managers and supervisors. No open line of communication. Long 12 hour days 5 to 6 days a week. Missed out on a lot of family functions and getting involved with my children. Coworkers were wonderful. We all tried to make our days fun while being productive. I enjoyed working with my customers – more... and helping them to come up with payment plans. It was nice when a year later I had customers still calling asking for me directly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Barstow, CASeptember 15, 2014
I had to make sure that the jewelry was ready for the customers and that everything was clean. I learned how to handle jewelry, how to sell, and how to have even better customer care. The management and the co-workers were always very helpful and it was very team-oriented. The hardest part was sometimes not being able to connect with a customer and – more... not being able to sell, but the most enjoyable part was when I was able to sell because the customer and I understood each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
promise the world and give you dirt
Sales associate (Current Employee), akron ohioAugust 31, 2014
Pros: co workers are ok can be fun
Cons: there are far more cons than pros, unless youre hired in at management level, dont waste youre time, because they will
told i would be in management within 6 months. ALl ive recieved is lies and hot air
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced competitive enviroment, fun as that is what I look for.
Assistance Store Manager (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: very good income if you are willing to work the hours and can build a good client base.
Cons: short breaks, longer hours mean higher standards required to meet.
Daily day to day working environment is usually terrific based on the team and or the store you work in. Overall corporate policy is sometimes hard to implement within the store and there doesn't always seem to be the awareness at corporate level how actual stores are run. The company has a "one size fits all" policy change that is hard to negotiate – more... depending on the store you may be working in. Special events are fun but expectations are sometimes a little high and no matter how well you are doing in every other day of that month or quarter, if a store or individual doesn't do well with a special event that seems to hold more weight then terrific sales and standards throughout other periods of time. Individual management styles in each store varies so much that a good management team can really make for a wonderful atmosphere and good energy, however just one weak link in the management team can really bring an entire team down.

It was hard to get the corporate level to support necessary changes or discharges of staff at store level. This resistance by corporate and fear of that one individual that "may" sue often brought down the energy of a store if there was a known personnel problem either a loss prevention or HR issue. – less

1 2 3 4 5