Sterling National Bank

Sterling National Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job to work for
Client Service Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 28, 2016
Management is horrible! They don't pay much ! Don't give raises! Over work you for small pay! And they don't care about people's personal issues!
Cons
They don't care about you! Only to get the job to succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, challenging work environment which requires multitasking
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New City, NYApril 11, 2016
A typical day at this workplace involves constant multitasking: focusing on sales goals while servicing clients. In this position, I have learned how to motivate clients to close sales. I took advantage of the opportunity to work as a team with my colleagues. The hardest part of my job is taking no for an answer. The most enjoyable part of my job is winning the client over.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive area
Senior loan Specialist & Loan Documentation (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYFebruary 29, 2016
It's a busy environment.
Co-workers are excellent to work with.
The hardest part of the job is communication.
The most enjoyable part of the job is completing my work at the end of the day.
Management is not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Middletown, NYDecember 29, 2015
sterling national bank is a good place to work with a lot of good people. I have learned a new computer program as well as an entire new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
VP (Current Employee) –  New York NYOctober 19, 2015
Great Company Great company. Co-workers had alot of knowledge and always willing to help. hardest part of the job was to have team team mates meet target deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Cash Applications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, NYOctober 13, 2015
I enjoyed working at Sterling National Bank. My Boss and co-worker are very nice and kind. Very friendly place to work. I have learned so many things from our weekly meetings.I worked in a project since 7 months and finally my project done. It was great experience to work at Sterling. We work as a team which was most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
1 hour break
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for a smaller bank able to resolve customer issues a lot faster then a megabank like Citi.
Cash Management Advisor AVP (Former Employee) –  Montebello, NYOctober 2, 2015
I truly enjoyed working at Sterling. The bank had two acquisitions during my two plus years there. As a result of the second acquisition my job was eliminated. It's really too bad because I see this once local regional bank appearing to think more about its growth and making the long time dedicated customer look at other banks because of so many changes and the increases of fees,
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fast pace environment, but an great company to work for.
Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Montebello, NYSeptember 30, 2015
Good company. The environment was very friendly and professional.
I have really learn a lot.


There is growth within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client service associate
Client Service Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 20, 2015
Typical day would be taking customer's deposits, withdrawals, loan payments etc. Depending on your management you can learn anything and everything. For my experience I have the best manager he believes in his team and he is willing to share all of the knowledge he has. My co-workers are also super hands on a great. The bank is small so everyone feels like family. The most enjoyable part of the job is taking care of our great and diverse clients.
Pros
Great employees.
Cons
Healthcare, hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of restructuring.
CommercialServicing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montebello, NYJuly 19, 2015
Job security is questionable
Not that much stability
Management is good
The future is unknown but there is more room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very monotonous
CLIENT TELLER ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYJuly 11, 2015
Typical day at work is dealing with a broken system, lack of staff who know what they are doing and micromanagement. Would not recommend.
Pros
Hour lunch, Good hours
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very good place to work and I liked the people I worked with.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2015
I loved working at Sterling National Bank for over 10 years. I learned to work well with my co-workers. The most hardest part of the job was the commute from Brooklyn to New York. The best part was the handling different type of transactions for different accounts and get to know the clients.
Pros
great cafeteria with discounts.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with collaboration of every employee
Collateral Clerk & Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 25, 2015
The atmosphere in this company is that of a productive team. With the support of the management, I was able to learn new skills that have enriched my life and given me new opportunities.
Pros
Several breaks in the day
Cons
Software systems cumbersome
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE and PROFESSIONAL environment
Bank Operations Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 31, 2015
A very comfortable, friendly and professional
work environment, with the focus of getting the work done in a timely and accurate manor. with the ability to grow, accomplish and elevate. You eventually develop a sense of family and close relationship with your co workers. The best part of my job was leaving on a typical feeling like am actually doing something a like doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate/ operations
Client Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Carmel, NYMarch 30, 2015
Research client issues balance books for them and profile them for other products that would benefit them to enhance their financial portfolio. Open new accounts and make calls to clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Telemarketer//Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 25, 2015
Very exciting career path and learned a lot in my experience -- It was a thrilling time to be trained by the best sales reps in the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Senior Application Processor (Former Employee) –  new york nyFebruary 23, 2015
my co-workers were so much fun to work with. Management was pretty good, I learned to always work hard and you will be rewarded.
Pros
great people
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Females Only
Client Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Stony Point, NYFebruary 2, 2015
Worked here for a few months, by the end of my tenure all the male workers were either relocated or fired. The pay is pretty good and it's a normal 9-5 job. All my friends who have applied here have gotten denied and they have degrees from good colleges with good experience.
Pros
good pay, lunch break
Cons
rude, company is female oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vice President
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Montebello, NYDecember 28, 2014
Work environment is more than just stressful. No matter how much you are able to organize or how highly educated and/or qualified you are for the job you will be belittled. I worked for the most difficult person/department in the Bank, as quoted by a current SVP to my current executive recruiter. If you wish take a detour into a tortured abyss go for it, otherwise run the other direction, 2015 is around the corner with more employment opportunities!
Cons
benefits and direct manager
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Client Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nanuet, NYNovember 16, 2014
People are great to work with

Pay is good as well

Good to learn banking aspects if you look to venture off
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sterling National Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture