Sterling Savings Bank Employee Reviews

Found 89 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for 24 1/2 years.
Accountant-Fixed Asset/Property Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WA, 99201March 25, 2015
Great place to work for 24 1/2 years. Enjoyed working on many different projects each day....not repetitive. Most people were great to work with and I increased my accounting knowledge a great deal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people bank and great customer service.
Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 4, 2014
I believe that is a great bank and the people you work with our sincere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Teller (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 13, 2014
Lots of meetings but overall a fun friendly environment. Lots of room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Company
Loan Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WashingtonOctober 13, 2014
Sterling was a great place to work. It was a local bank that was well known among the community. The company has undergone many changes in management through the years which has changed the dynamics.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town bank where everyone knows each other
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  White Salmon, WASeptember 11, 2014
Help customers with banking transactions and volunteer at community gathers. Learned about the banking industry. Enjoyed working with co-workers, most of them knew me my whole life. Hardest part of the job is worrying about being robbed and the most enjoyable is working with the community I grew up in.
Pros
Knew almost every customer
Cons
Meeting sales goals in a small town
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & very busy
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP III (Former Employee) –  North Bend, WAAugust 25, 2014
typical day was opening branch, preparing ATM machine, greeting customers & taking in transactions, balancing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Trainee/ Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  LagosAugust 7, 2014
Its the same banking pros and cons everywhere except for internationally affiliated banks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tillamook, ORJuly 22, 2014
Open/close branch, secure money, follow policies and procedures, teller transactions. I learned a lot about banking. I loved the management at the time, co-workers were also great. Made you feel like a big family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being a teller
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Spokane ,WashingtonJuly 21, 2014
Loved my Job. would love to work inside of a branch. as I have been a drive up teller . now for a long time. and would like to get back into a branch.
Pros
A pay check.
Cons
no room to go out of the drive up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured work environment
Branch Admin, Facilities Mgr, Processor Asst (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 7, 2014
There was a definite disconnect between production and support services.
Pros
good benefits, lovely workplace, approachable management
Cons
little or no chance for advancement in my position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company when they existed
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 2, 2014
The company was a fantastic place to work, until they were bought out by Equity Trust Company. They were purchase with the sole intention of eliminating the biggest competitor; however Equity was not capable of running both companies so Sterling eventually closed its doors.
Pros
great management, good hours, friendly work enviromnent
Cons
getting bought out
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Securing bank lobby
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasApril 28, 2014
Opening the bank lobby doors at 9am every morning and securing parking lot as well as the hallways and lobby.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviornment
Vault Teller (Former Employee) –  Pasco, WAApril 17, 2014
Enjoyed helping customers and making them feel taken care of. Great team players.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Vice President, Corporate Property Services (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAApril 12, 2014
A high stress high reward environment. Lots of great people!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to grow.
Human Resources Payroll Asst/CSR/Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAApril 2, 2014
I found opportunities to grow with this employer. They help you grow in the direction you would like to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and intelligent IT management team
Support Desk Team Leader - Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAMarch 30, 2014
My peers and management were supportive, cooperative and helped me learn every day.
Pros
Location, people, compensation and benefits
Cons
worked in a basement with no windows
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I guess a good place to work at
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 16, 2014
The environment is friendly and customers are treated very well. The compensation is not that great but the environment makes up for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hit and miss
Loan Processer (Current Employee) –  CAMarch 4, 2014
policies change daily without notification
management doesn't talk to each other
merger makes job security scary
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place where most people felt like extensions to your family.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waco, TexasFebruary 27, 2014
A typical day at work was spent prepping, scanning and indexing documents into the SerSynergy Program. It was never ending, tons of work to do. What I learned - this was my first ever office job and the most enjoyable position I've ever worked in all my adult life - I totally and completed loved working on the computer with fax/copier/scanner machines and the office atmosphere. The management group at Sterling Trust Company was a great group of people. The co-workers were like a huge extended family. The company did many things that were involved with the community and I totally loved that aspect about the company as well. The hardest part about the job was when my position was eliminated and I could not return, it was heart-breaking to me as I LOVED this company, my work at the company and the people whom I had worked with all of those years. The most enjoyable part of this company - I think I have already gushed enough about - above that is.
Pros
Loved every aspect of my job
Cons
When the postion was eliminated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like this company as it has a warm working environment.
Account Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 25, 2014
Our daily work include: basic cash transaction such as deposit and withdraw; open/close accounts, open/close safe deposit box; balance ATM.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sterling Savings Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 102 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Sterling Savings Bank Reviews by Location