Stevens Transport Employee Reviews

Found 234 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and excel.
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 19, 2017
I have been with Stevens Transport as a company driver for over 4 years and love it. I am treated fairly well and make decent money. I run Texas Regional and I am always moving. If you want to learn to drive safely and professionally this is the place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stevens Transport
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 24, 2017
Hands down the biggest pimps of the trucking industry good training but you will pay for it 10 times more than it cost DMS counselors are all just there for a pay check .If you work there and are considering leaving snap pictures of you paycheck stub for verification and get the out of there ASAP .
Pros
Training
Cons
Everything else you name it
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take it or leave it Training program.
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 17, 2017
Allows stronger drivers to fall through the cracks while advancing drivers that i am not comfortable driving on the same road my family drives on simply because the fell inline and met the bare minimum requirements. i went through the cdl training with high scores on all of the testing and during the on the road training received compliments on my driving. all to be put through 5 different trainers for various reasons like company policy (dedicated trainer), poorly maintained Owner operator vehicles, and illnesses. the majority, if not all, was unavoidable on my part. but i was still "punished" by adding additional criteria to my training by the director (irregardless of the previous trainers opinion of me and my driving)
Pros
...Free training if you have no other choices
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 15, 2017
Excellent place to work driving over the road good pay if you like driving a lot. Good teaching also learned a lot. They will teach you how to make money while driving for them. How to keep your money in your pocket.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not to much time home
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 14, 2017
You'll literally have to kill yourself to make money at this company. A lot of mandatory work and classes that takes up a lot of your time, that you won't get paid for. Training takes forever and you'll only make around $350 for driving nearly 2,500+ miles per week. They are horrible at getting you home. Safety and dispatch talk to their drivers like they're kids. The mechanic shop will wake you up anytime in the middle of the night if your truck is due for maintenance. You'll have to sleep in the drivers lounge until they're done with it.
Pros
You'll get experience to go to a better Company. Their trucks are
Cons
Low pay, mandatory classes, and they talk to you like you're beneath them
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company train CDL driver and give them work whick is very good
MOSQUIT TEXAS DRIVER (Former Employee) –  mossquit DallasJanuary 13, 2017
The relationship between employee and management is very good, this company have some many training for there employee to prevent them on the road and also have better equipement
Pros
there are many bonus for employee
Cons
loww salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Stevens
Driver Recruiter/Collections Rep (Former Employee) –  Dallas texasJanuary 12, 2017
It was ok for a while until the owner manager can't compose and refrain from foul language at work. Treat and talk to the employees terrible
Pros
Working for a large company
Cons
Treat employees terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scam. Scam. Scam
stevens transport driver (Former Employee) –  dallas, txJanuary 7, 2017
This place is a joke stay away don't get paid anything sorry people to work for on hold for 5-6 hours which people lie out their butt you're better off working at McDonald's and this place will make more money get treated better
Pros
none
Cons
low low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Great Learning Experience
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 5, 2017
Typical day at work very easy laid back trip plan your load assignment and stay ahead of your load.
I learned how to be a very safe driver.
Management team was awesome.
I met awesome people working at Stevens Transport.
The hardest part of my job i do not like snow.
The most enjoyable part of the job is sight seeing the country.
Pros
Stevens Transport will take care of you anything you need is a phone call away.
Cons
When the truck break-down sometimes its not a easy fix.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're DMs will make you feel like a slave
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 30, 2016
They will make it hard to drivers when they want to go home, you don't do what you think is right or legal you do what you're DM wants even taking a 34 in the middle of nowhere with no food or restrooms around, all this people on the phone like to laugh abou all the driver and the stuff they do when they need help or trying To contact somebody back in Dallas. It is true is a good company to start off with but knowing how they treat the drivers just to show the a driver they have power over you they would make you do some of the stupidest things and dumb loads ever and there's nobody you can really talk to if the owners knew about this stuff they would change the whole system. all they say about drivers being their most valuable investment is a lie they know there's a truck and a load that's it if a driver wants to go home after 4-5 months been out they don't care and they will never get you home on time not all trucks are New like they say neither a few trucks are new
Pros
They pay for your school if you drive for them
Cons
Can't have a steady sleeping schedule, DMs are the worst everything is a joke for them
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Driving
Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 29, 2016
Great place to work for if you love being out and seeing the United States. Co-workers at the yard are friendly. The governor locks on the trucks were not enjoyable. The max speed in most trucks are 60 miles per hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop management not professional at all!
mechanic (Current Employee) –  Mesquite, TXDecember 29, 2016
Shop employees are treated like trash. Unless you are related to the service manager. 2nd and 3rd shift mechanics are always left to clean up 1st shifts mess. Pay is sub par and below going rate. Very political environment. No chance of advancement without being a part of the click. Service manager overlooks obvious drug use by some mechanics because they are his friends. Only good thing is that there's a guaranteed 40 hours and the checks cash every week. No overtime at all! Good shop if you are uneducated and a person who likes to gossip and start mess. For the professional mechanic who is looking to advance his career or move into management, drive right pass this place!
Pros
Steady work, easy work
Cons
Political, no chance for advancement unless related or messy
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun on the road.
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXDecember 29, 2016
There is good work on the road. Bit of a disconnect between management, the white collar workers inside, and the drivers. Not much else to say except that it is hard to get home on time.
Pros
Good trucks, free showers with gas cards, truck driving school, ok pay, OTR
Cons
Overcharge you for the school, you're in debt as soon as you start, hard to get home, threaten you to "keep you in line", not a lot of good food on the road, long hours, OTR, sit all day
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no clue about the oil field. Pushers dont even have a cdl to help pull water. Gm is from a funiture store. Not from the oil patch..
Driver tanker. (Former Employee) –  Boyd, TXDecember 23, 2016
I got fired today because I was accused of pulling oil In stead of water. I'm a seasoned well knowledge water puller not some greenhorn fresh out of training school....gm only went over some numbers he was given didn't even let me say my side of the story..how can anybody respect a gm that don't know about the oil field or how to pull water or even gauge a well...and right here at Christmas..what a sorry sob.....this place is a joke..don't waste your time here..they charge for everything..
Pros
Good ot.
Cons
Everything else..
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job where you become a number for good pay.
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  United StatesDecember 16, 2016
Working here you can kiss any prospects of home life goodbye. Between the five weeks out five days home and the lack of experienced management there are much better options for beginning CDL drivers. If it's your last option I suppose it's a viable one, but overall just not the most well run company in its' field.
Pros
Great pay, good benefits.
Cons
Brief home life, poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 4, 2016
Not a bad company if u don't have a family I run as a contractor so I gotta run at least 6 weeks before I can go on home time company side it's not as bad just not as much opportunity to make as much money as contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start in the truck driving industry.
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 29, 2016
Their job is to train you to drive a tractor trailer safe and efficiently. Your job is to use that knowledge when you move to a different company. Be safe and check your equipment.
Pros
The school part gives you as much knowledge as possible.
Cons
Some trainers arent there to train but to use you for more miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not what I expected.
Student-Resident (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TX 75227November 27, 2016
To understand for yourself what it means to go into this field, is something you're going to have to do for yourself in order get a better perspective of things ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better for somebody that is single with no kids
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 27, 2016
Pre-trip inspection, trip plan, and trip preparation. I learned how to be careful and cautious on a long distance drive. Management was fairly reasonable when it came to issues. I didn't really get to meet many co-workers. The hardest part of the job was being away from home. the most enjoyable part of the job was all the different places to see.
Pros
steady secure job
Cons
I would come home less than once every 2 months
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not the company to work for
None (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 21, 2016
This company has a tendency to look at their trainers for their new employees. If you get micheal Kurtz as your trainer you will not make it.

He isn't qualified for a trainer and should not be in that position, he has only been with the company for 1 1/2 years if that is what this company is using for trainers REALLLY. The man does unspeakable things in a hotel room and in the sleeper,

Not only will he cost you your job but then the company will Attempt to make you pay them back for their training.
Pros
None
Cons
They haven't got what it takes to be a company in this industry
Was this review helpful?Yes21No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stevens Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 236 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.5
Culture
2.7

Stevens Transport Reviews by Location