Find companies:
Stewart Enterprises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Stewart Enterprises Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting families with a death.
Sales and marketing (Former Employee), Springhill, FloridaJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: helping families at the worst time of their life.
Cons: management
I would assist families when a death occurred in their life. I would walk them through the process of Cremation, Burial or Entombment. I would as well, be there for the family while this process was happing and then for months after the death occurred. Providing information of Pre-Arrangements and doing follow up on any problems that might have happened.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already reviewed
Administrative Processor (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 3, 2014
Already reviewed. What more is there to say. There was no place for advancement and the benefits/pay were not in line with other companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Jefferson, LASeptember 24, 2014
It was just a job and I did it well up until the company outsource my services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hialeah, FLSeptember 12, 2014
Very rewarding job. Enjoyed helping families during such difficult times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Customer Care Employment
Pre-need Specialist (Former Employee), Metairie, LAJune 17, 2014
Working for Stewart Enterprises gave me a foundation in customer service skills. The hardest part of my job position was dealing with bereaved customers. Assisting customers get through financial inquiries with ease during times of difficulty was gratifying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job is my satisfaction
HR Specialist (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJune 6, 2014
My typical day at work is have a lot of work to made on time in addition to attend employees, different situation, letter, communications, phone call, etc. but very satisfactory to help the employees and made correct my work.

I learn help our people is make the different and obtain the satisfaction of a good work . I enjoy all areas of my responsibilities and I don't think hardest area of my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with community relations
Licensed Funeral Director / Embalmer (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLMay 22, 2014
I take great pride in serving families and individuals who need customer service assistance by someone who is compassionate, knowledgeable,respectful, and dependable.

In addition, I like working on a team but can work just as easily on an independent basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some what stressful yet really rewarding
Funeral assistant (Current Employee), OregonMay 5, 2014
Pros: co workers, management, advancements, dealing with families during there time of need
Cons: training for sci, a lot of deadlines, the upset families
I have worked for this company for nearly 3 weeks.yes a short time,but the atmosphere is great!everybody looks out for each other and treat each other like family.stewart was recently purchased by the major corporation SCI and I came in exactly at our merger.the regional manager and hr were extremely friendly yet business driven.as long as you do what is needed to the best of your ability,they give you the best in return.so far a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Commissions
Pre-Planning Specialist (Former Employee), Apopka, FloridaApril 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new people around the community
Cons: after working very hard, you make very little commission.
This has been the worst job I ever did. I was with Balwin Fairchild for 6 months. The older people that been in the company are sharks. The manager don't care at all for the families, all the care is to force employees to sell to families things that they don't need. In my case they used to make fun at my accent. One of the older men was disrespectful to me in front of the manager and the manager did ''nothing''.
However the good part was that I met great families and people in the community and develop great relationships.

The company however has a great culture ''Caring'', but manager and the older veteran people there don't go by it. To bad they loose all the time great sales and caring people with lots of potential.

Hope this is helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Originally a fresh start with a really great company
Funeral Director/Embalmer (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 14, 2014
Pros: a total about face from working with service corp. international (sci)
Cons: approx. 2011 the gentleman how served as president left the company, new regime was nothing like the previous one, 2013 announcement was made that sci was taking over stewart, not willing to work under sci so i elected to retire.
After previous funeral experience, Stewart Enterprises was a "breath of fresh air". It seemed as if this was an employer who was better capable achieving the concept of working as a team. Since Stewart Enterprises was the No.2 in the corporate American Funeral Service Industry, it just seemed that they had a much kinder gentler approach to all they did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn about the death care industry and then leave.
Sales (Former Employee), Mission HillsApril 13, 2014
The worse place I've ever worked. Very low commisions and no ethics enviromment. No very good management. People don't stay long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service and sales connected to funeral business
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 11, 2014
Pros: good environment
Cons: not flexible hours, low salary
nice place to work but the salary was too low, had to star going to school already
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Filing, Canceling Customers Contracts, Data Entry (Current Employee), Jefferson, LAApril 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch on special ocassions
Cons: getting laid off
Come to work submit credit card report, checks and where they come from, management is Great, coworker are great sometimes, nothing really, handling and processimh credit cards and checks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling
Supervisor (Current Employee), San Diego CaMarch 13, 2014
Pros: familiy satifaction
Cons: stressfull
High energy, heavy fast paced work load/environment
Compassion/customer satisfaction
Work on several cases at same time on a daily basis
Helpful to have upbeat co-worker, as this is very stressful environment
Keeping up with service deadlines
When families have the experience they deserve/want in this very difficult time in their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company until SCI bought them
Director of Operations (Former Employee), VirginiaFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: solid pay..
Cons: sold to sci
Just read all the bad things about SCI and insert here now. Dark day when this company was taken over by the corporate giant SCI
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Administrative Assistant
Assistant to the Vice President (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 16, 2014
Dedicated and focused Executive Administrative Assistant who excels at prioritizing, completing multiple tasks simultaneously and following through to achieve project goals. Seeking a role of increased responsibility and authority. Office Manager adept at managing multiple projects with ease using expert time management methods. Personable Executive Assistant who capably maintains open lines of communication among senior executives, board members, shareholders, middle management and administrative staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Work
Employee Relations Manager (Current Employee), San DiegoNovember 27, 2013
Although I only worked there for about 6 months (due to a merger) I quickly found a home at Stewart Enterprises. The company culture, management style and employee work force were all exactly what I was looking for. The salaries are competitive, and the incentives are adequate. I wish the benefits were a bit better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Funeral Arranger/Director (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: poor upper management, no support, greedy
Busy but rewarding, upper management could be better, direct manager is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Unproffesional Place I Have Ever Worked
Admen (Former Employee), Holly Memorail Gardens Charlottesville VirginaSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: see diffrent people
Cons: training and management is a joke!
I was hired by a person that trained so fast you couldn't even keep up, that is when she wasn't talking to her husband on her cell phone or outside sucking on a cig.
Then you got wrote up for stupid mistakes you should have learned in training. The grounds crew and sales people here was awesome,
but every one else, did not do any thing out of the way to help you.
I got wrote up one day when they were having worker appreciation day, and was told to go home with out pay didn't even get invited to the dinner, so rude , have a mother a daughter team which is crazy, when she doesn't know how to do some thing she just text's her mother who then tells her how to do it.Half of my family is buried there, but I bet no one else will be , they way they treat people I wouldn't bury my dog there! Management is a joke, all they are worried about is that almighty dollar and don't care who they step on, talk about , or stab in the back. They make you feel stupid, which is funny because if I had the appropriate training I would have been fine. My previous job I had to answer to 6 different people and the work was hard, but they trained you right so there was never a problem, I will be begging them for my job back. Do your self a favor, skip this place its nothing but stress, back stabbing, talking about you behind your back and improper training. The most horrible place I have ever worked in my life !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Administrator Assistant (Former Employee), West VirginiaJuly 19, 2013
Cons: too many to list.
Very low wages. Minimal training then left on own. No room for advancement.They do not care about the employees.

About Stewart Enterprises

O death! Where is thy sting? Nowhere, if Stewart Enterprises has anything to do with it. The #2 provider of funeral services in – Read more

Stewart Enterprises Photos