Find companies:
Stewarts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Stewarts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work scheduling
Cashier (Former Employee), Troy, NYAugust 31, 2014
I was a pregnant women working 10+ hours a day all day on my feet and a break was only permitted if the store was not busy and the location I was at it was always busy‚Ķso no break and then i returned to work after maternity leave i was working 12hr shifts with no concern or any where to pump being that i was breastfeeding. Our bathroom was public so – more... unsanitary position to pump and our office had cameras, so no privacy to pump. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
2nd Key Holder (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: meet lots of very nice people
Cons: none that i can think of. just long hard work.
Very busy work environment making coffee, scooping ice cream, stocking shelves and coolers, making breakfast and lunch. With the right co workers it went very smooth and was a very enjoyable lace to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Cashier (Former Employee), Chestertown, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: no breaks
Manager does not know how to speak to her employees. very fast pace, never slow down, Co-workers were ok, just have to please the customer, get them out as fast as you can
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Albany, NYMay 21, 2014
I really liked working at Stewarts It was fast paced, always keeping busy, keeping the coffee going, making the customers sandwiches. The management and coworkers were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce Company
Store Clerk (Former Employee), NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Family owned and operated business. Customer Service was a priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste, fun place to work
Stewarts Marketer (Former Employee), Latham, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: made my own schedule
Cons: was a traveling job.
My day would start out at my first shop. I would walk in and do a walk around the store while writing down the things I saw that needed to be fixed or added to the displays or signs. Then I would ask partners and managers if they needed me to do anything for them to help them catch up and make their day easier. Then I would continue to update displays – more... and signs and any other tasks assigned to me by my boss. Most managers were pleasant to work with and the partners were fun to be around. The customers were a great part of my job. I had a lot of fun promoting sales to customers and they got a kick out of my bubblieness. The hardest part of my job was catching the stores up when they were really behind and trying to do the work that I was assigned to do that day in that store all in the time I had provided myself to have at that store. The most enjoyable part of my job was that I was able to write my own schedule and I very much enjoyed creating displays and making ballards. I am artistic so this was a fun job to have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced serving job to an affluent clientele.
Server (Former Employee), Long Branch, NJJanuary 3, 2014
Located across the street from the beach in an affluent area, Stewarts was busy as long as the sun was out. I learned how to delegate in a busy work environment while keeping the patrons happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier / Server - Part-time (Former Employee), Plattsburgh, NYDecember 27, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: no, breaks
I open the store,got the cash registeres ready,lottery,coffee and breakfast, than luch.co-workers were nice and fun.enjoyed it there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with customers
Partner (Former Employee), Fort Edward, NYDecember 24, 2013
Pros: working with customers
Cons: hours cut
I waited on customers, put orders away and placed orders. I loved the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 26, 2013
Great place to work if you are in high school. Does not pay very well. Not much raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough rewarding job with high physical and mental demand.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Saratoga Springs, NYNovember 5, 2013
Pros: employee owned company
Cons: staff and equiptment always ran at bare minimum.
A typical day driving for Stewarts consisted of starting at 1:00 am and working full speed for an average of 10 hours a day. Delivering product, communicating with shops and performing various marketing duties. I had one manager that always put in 100% and was forthright and thorough with all aspects of his job. All my coworkers had an excellent work – more... ethic and a commitment to their jobs and the company, as that is the culture of Stewarts. The most difficult part of the job were the hours (1 am start time). The most enjoyable aspect of my job was the autonomy and responsibility I had. Working for Stewarts I learned a lot about patience, forethought, attention to detail and a great deal about how an individual such as myself can create a positive image for the company I represent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Sweeny, TXOctober 25, 2013
I handled money in this job. I enjoyed it. This was my first job, and it I learned communication skills and money management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerk (Current Employee), Clifton Park, NYAugust 26, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: short breaks, not enough money
A typical day at work for me in the morning would be making coffee and making sure our rotisserie is full of breakfast food for my customers! I very much enjoy all of my customers, they're all mostly regulars. I've learned so much in the 3 years I've been there so far, including how to be a team leader, supervisor, being able to handle customer complaints, – more... handling crazy situations and knowing what to do, as well as so much more! My co-workers and I get along very well, we're a great team. I'd say the hardest part of my job is when we're very busy and we get put behind in our work, but we always will catch up and I never have a problem with staying later than I am scheduled to help with the next shift. The most enjoyable part of my job, I'd have to say, is communicating with my customers, seeing them every day and making their day start off with a smile! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , very clean.
Cashier (Former Employee), Orange Lake, NYAugust 21, 2013
Work was always slow at first cause i worked the early morning shift 7am to 4pm. Once lunch time came around it got busy, I learned you have to have patience. My manager was very nice and helpful. Co-workers were fun to be around. The hardest part of the job for me was reaching things. The most enjoyable part was making customers happy with good service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Moving up is easy!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rensselaer, NYAugust 9, 2013
Pros: friendly customers, down the street from my house, great opportunities to learn new things.
Cons: sometimes i couldn't justify the pricing with quantity.
Typical day was running the register, stocking the cooler and counting the money! I learned how to use their registers, counting down registers, and learning the hand held ordering system. The management was awesome! Co-workers, I got along with everyone they were great! The hardest part was people who tried to drive off with gas without paying for – more... it. I enjoyed every aspect of this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Closing supervisor (Former Employee), Lake Placid, NYJune 9, 2013
If you want to get a taste of working in the real world, this would be a good start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice to place
Associate (Former Employee), Ballston Spa, NYJune 4, 2013
Pros: a nice place to work
Cons: very quiet
I would run the cash register for any student who needed to buy supplies that they may have been out of such as pens, pencils, and notebooks. I would say hello to people just passing by in the halls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment work with others
Cashier (Former Employee), Kingston, NYMay 16, 2013
A Typical day is working with another employee doing whatever needs to be done. Like Register, stocking, cleaning, or making something requested by a customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excting
cashier (Former Employee), Gloversville, NYMarch 27, 2013
Pros: the people
Cons: the hours i worked
i liked dealing wih customers .I would run the cashier make coffee stock shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Station
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Brownville, NYFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: not very friendly coworkers
Helped customers pump gas and buy various items for the car.