STI Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Pipefitter Helper/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Bridge City, TXFebruary 5, 2015
Cleaning, prepping, cutting, laying out, blueprints, all take offs.
Helped pipe fitters, welders, and anyone in management.
I'd make cuts and fits for pipes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of travel miles with good benefits
Thermal Technician (Current Employee) –  Endwell, NYJanuary 28, 2015
Commercial Insulation (various types/forms) across multiple job sites that includes excessive travel at times, average 1 to 5 hrs round trip (may include overnight stay but usually requires daily travel). Job sites will vary from a location with no/minimal access issues to sites which require background and security clearances (Factory, Hospital , School/University, Pharmaceutical, etc). STI is an Employee owned Company where the Board of Directors holds the voting rights of the Employee and make all necessary business decisions on their behalf. Compensation can be received in a variety of forms and may or may not be all inclusive depending on the employees record (ESOP Stock, Dividends, 401K with Co. Match, Bonuses based on jobs completed under contract parameters x 2, Safety Bonus 1st and 2nd+ year). Being a Non-Union Company the gap in prevailing wage to base pay on private jobs results in difficult family budgeting.
Pros
Different Job Sites with a variety of people
Cons
Excessive travel and unbalanced pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Port Neches, TXSeptember 30, 2014
Safety is number one. Always rewarded when job is complete with no safety recordables
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, New division (pipe line)
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Uniontown, PaSeptember 9, 2014
Good company,
Like any new adventure, had growing pains.
With start up of pipeline division, but Plant work,
and shop fabercation,( strong) management cares
for there employs.
Company has a long future in the piping industier.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family First
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MDJune 17, 2014
The people at STI are wonderful to work for I've been with them for many years.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 28, 2014
STI is an excellent company to work for, The hours are great. It is a Monday thru Friday job. You get two weeks off for Christmas with pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjust and Repair
Caterpillar Technician (Current Employee) –  West, AfricaMarch 16, 2014
I am graduate of Mechanical Engineering and Diesel Mechanic, presently employed in Sogea Satom in Africa..My our Country is Philippines..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Device company
Quality Technician (Former Employee) –  Sanford, FLMarch 8, 2014
• Responsible for all incoming receiving from small tiny plastic parts to PCB boards.
• Responsible for all Final Product built to customer satisfaction Medical Devices.
• Prepared and sign off on Device Lot files.
• Perform system Internal Audits, and work with team members for solutions to audit finding.
• Responsible for all Repair devices to meet quality requirements.
• Managed the Nonconformance and Calibrations systems.
• Training Coordinator to assure all employees received training for their jobs and yearly safety training.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with a company that help me buy my first vehicle.
SURFACE MOUNT ASSISTANT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLNovember 19, 2013
It was a good learning experience where I learned different things.
Pros
good health insurance, vacation leave, and personal days
Cons
I move to Massachussetts and left Florida.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pipeline Company.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Uniontown, PAAugust 19, 2013
Great People
Great Management
Great Job
Great Company
Everyday was the same
no benefits
Pros
Perdium($85 a day)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Fire gaurd  (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 22, 2013
Working construction can be exhausting. The pay is more than I have ever been able to achieve. I learned proper precautions working in the plants considering a possible fire or harmful situation. You do meet many of people . I enjoyed my job and learned alot.
Pros
High pay rate, experience in being a Fireattendant very important.
Cons
Hot, Cold, long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A out going person who loves to learn new things all the time
Tasland Operator (Current Employee) –  Kings Mountain. NCJuly 8, 2013
I stay busy at my job and the people I work with and work for are great. Just looking for a job that pays more than I make due to I'm at top pay and cant make anymore.
Pros
medical benifits are great
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STI as a Division of CRST is one of 4-6 major players in the Specialized High Value Products Transportation business. CRST is investing in the company
Regional Sales Manager, Eastern US (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJune 17, 2013
Working for STI is a longer sales cycle by the nature of their service offerings. We have superior services, technology and coverage in the marketplace. The customers opportunities are many, but can be very niche relative to their primary business. It is important to get an audience with the key decision maker, given the opportunity to do so they quickly see the value and become very interested in the solutions we have to offer. Often time implementing a solution can be a lengthy process for the customer. It may involve changing freight terms. gathering months of data or changing packaging. When I am able to see it through to implementation it is very rewarding. Overall a fine company well positioned in their market.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun while working
Temp Agent (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYMarch 19, 2013
A day at work was taking calls relating to different phone cards;whether it be adding money. crediting or even guided clients in usage of debit calling cards. There was a point in time I was doing an overnight shift activating cellphones. The atmosphere was really easy going where I can relate to anyone around me. This job was never difficult, considering that my job values were similar to this job. Management to an enjoyable environment to work in.
Pros
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Operator (Current Employee) –  towanda PaDecember 30, 2012
its good work but they have a buddy system that makes it hard to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They went out of bussiness
Material handler (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INOctober 26, 2012
Talk about slave drivers, 4 ten hrs day w/ one 30min break at noon.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
On site job coach (Former Employee) –  Randolph, MAAugust 5, 2012
I am a hard worker who looks to do things by the book and I'm honest.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day as a Diesel Tech
Diesel tech (Former Employee) –  RedBay AlJuly 19, 2012
Most days we start by reveiwing driver s write up reports and prioratizing the trucks depending on the load ,which one needs to be fixed first, thers only three mechanics plus the forman, so we are short handed and it makes my job harder when one of the other guys has trouble and they need help , i dont mind helping others but when i dont have my work done i get yelled at for being to slow when in truth im faster than the other two.Me and the forman are the only two that have had any training on engines and transmissions so that makes for difficult times, since iv been at sammys iv learned alot about eaton automatic and power shift transmissions. I do probably do two clutch jobs month the most enjoyable time of my job is when i get to hear an engine run that iv built or drive a truck that iv worked on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Sheetmetal Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Bridge City, TXMay 3, 2012
Preform fabrication on pipe and H.V.A.C. with welding and layout
Pros
not pressured to make deadlines
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

See more STI reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at STI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6