Stony Brook University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to get a PHD
research assistant (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYDecember 20, 2015
Life is very good here. Ten minutes drive to beach, one hour driving to queens. The ECE department is small, but it has most of the directions. Every time when I have problems, I can find the right person to ask.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work with little stress
Athletic Event Intern (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYDecember 19, 2015
Easy, manageable work responsibilities for a college student looking for extra income during the school year. Set up athletic events and monitored venue environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Graduate Assistant in the Office of Registrar (Current Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYNovember 7, 2015
great environment, great people. Really like there!!! The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great university for study
student (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYNovember 2, 2015
great school that provides several of opportunities in both academics and extra curricular activities. everyone is welcoming and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good university, but research environment is not very friendly
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYOctober 1, 2015
As a state university, Stony Brook doesn't have so much fundings, so some the instruments are kind of out of date, sometimes you really need to figure out how to do the research with very limited tools. I also feel like the education environment doesn't support students enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Senior Staff Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2015
Working in higher education enables me to be constantly be learning new information. I enjoy being part of a very diverse community.
Pros
Being part of the Stony Brook Community, state pension system
Cons
Difficult to increase salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching environment
National Association of Hispanic Nurses Member (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYSeptember 17, 2015
Completed clinical rotation and had an excellent experience collaborating with team members and great direct patient care exposure.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing and friendly work environment
RESEARCH SCIENTIST (Former Employee) –  SUNY at Stony BrookSeptember 1, 2015
As a researcher, I had an wonderful opportunity to explore new areas. The work environment was not stressful. Co workers were extremely friendly and supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment where I interacted with a multitude of students
Physics Tutor (Current Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYAugust 30, 2015
I helped students with their introductory physics course (Mechanics and Electricity and Magnetism). We discussed concepts, approaches towards solving problems for a test, and worked through homework in order to learn the material. Coworkers were flexible and understanding and very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Volunteer oppurtunity
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Stony BrookAugust 16, 2015
collaborated with members of your club to create and host events, programs, and panel discussions about various topics of your choosing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about Stony Brook University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYJuly 31, 2015
A good workplace for SUNY student
Learn to execute the assignments
Maintained the system operation of image center front desk
Checked and updated the information of patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Client Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYJuly 30, 2015
Great place to work at while you are student. Management was very helpful and had a great team. I learned how to trouble shoot computers over the phone.
Pros
Flexible work hours for students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYJuly 29, 2015
Stony Brook University is a great place to earn a PhD degree from. The work environment is nice, people are friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to study
Postdoctoral and Instructor (Former Employee) –  stony brook, NYJuly 16, 2015
it is a good place to study. A small place on long island but near to NYC. It is very easy to get to NYC by the Long Island Rail Road.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Administrative Secretary II (Current Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYJuly 11, 2015
I was a temp so I am unqualified to answer. It was a fun place to work. I learned a lot. I meet a lot of people. Went to events. I learned how events are run. My co-workers were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2015
I enjoyed my PhD studies in Stony Brook University. Long Island is a beautiful place to live. Campus has a great child care service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stony Brook University
Member of the Dean's List (Current Employee) –  stony BrookJune 9, 2015
Good place to go to school. Was fun and great while it lasted. Food was ok and expensive. But that's college for you. I was Part of the Deans list every semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place with open-door policy
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2015
I enjoyed my PhD in Stony Brook. The class workload was more than usual but in general the education is good. PIs are generally helpful and smart.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  GLS CenterJune 1, 2015
Stony Brook University has great staff that are very helpful and are pleasant to work with. Employees are knowledgeable and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Video Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYApril 29, 2015
If you love sports this is the place to work. Lots of upcoming talent and projects coming to SBU that will surely make it the top school in New York within the next few years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 126 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Stony Brook University Reviews by Location