Find companies:
Stop&Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Stop&Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJJuly 22, 2014
Open and close register
Coupons and all discounts
Customer service
Return Items
Organize and clean work area
Problem solve customer complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace love helping my customers
cashier (Former Employee), 1690 Revere Beach ParkwayJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great hours, great benefits and we all got along very well.
I would punch on time go down to my register made sure it was clean and fully stock then I would sign on to my register and begin ringing in my customers order then I would bag there orders up for them. I loved my job very much because we were all like one big happy family. There was no hard part of my job because I loved it. I enjoyed helping my customers – more... and they appreciated me and that made me very happy. The apartment I actually live in was rented to me by one of my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice i enjoy working with people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Forestville, CTMarch 18, 2014
I was okay . I enjoy working with people. I have got alot of work out being ther I enjoy the customers and people i work with .it show me resonabley
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Shelton, CTJanuary 17, 2014
My overall experience with Stop&Shop has been worth the time and effort that I have contributed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company lots of opportunity
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Dix Hills, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, payed holidays and vacations days
Cons: union based
a work day consisted of scanning items and making price tags for them so they can be displayed on shelves, i also did cash register and i stocked items on shelves. Inventory season i would count out all items and calculated how much money the store has won and lost
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cahier/ fike clerk
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Cranston, RINovember 12, 2013
Cons: shorth breaks, too much standing up
customer service, customer issues, replaced old sale tags with new weekly ones, handling money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very respectful
Assist gust (Former Employee), Brookfield, CTNovember 8, 2013
Working for stop&Shop was very good for me. one of the first jobs I've ever held. Working in the seafood and meat department wasn't a fun job. Cleaning up at the end of the night was one of the worst things about the job. not a job that i would recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive wowrk place
Peapod Clerk (Former Employee), Somerset, NJOctober 30, 2013
1. Pick out and scan items for the order
2. Scan tote and put items in bags
3. Put bags in either dry or cold tote depending on what type of items it is (Dry/Frozen)
4. When finish with the order you scan all totes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and enjoyable place to work
Clerk (Former Employee), Keyport, NJOctober 12, 2013
Pros: friendly co-workers, customers, and managers
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work would be fast-paced, making sure everything is running smoothly, working the register, making sure returns get done, keeping the front-end neat and organized, and keeping customers happy whether on register, working customer service ordoing the front-end. I learned how to solve customer problems, do price adjustments, good communication – more... skills, and making sure everything in the front-end looks neat. I would let the managers know about any problems with cashiers or with customers when needed, always friendly with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was when i had to deal with an angry customer but made sure to keep calm and keep the customer happy. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers and working in a fast-paced supermarket – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helps with communication skills
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), FranklinPark.NJOctober 10, 2013
Pros: good benifits
Cons: poor pay rate
I like the job,its fun and I like my co-workers. I've learned to be more patience with people.The supervisors are good to work for. The hardest part of the job is the pay rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging experience.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: discount on foods
Cons: short breaks
Stocking shelves and assisting customers find different fruits and vegetables would be a typical on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Front End Associate (Current Employee), Stamford, CTJuly 23, 2013
Pros: work scheduale
Cons: salary, hours
Flexible at times, you have to work hard to stand out , I get along with all my co workers its a positive environment at all times which makes the work day run smoothly, I love my customers, The hardest part of the job is when customers order their groceries to be shopped and they'll pick them up but we.re timed at work because there can be as much – more... as over 200 items an order . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work at.
Cashier (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJuly 15, 2013
Pros: under it's contract with the united food and commercial workers union, stop & shop provides very good benefits. even part-timers have guaranteed minimum hours, scheduled wage increases, health insurance, paid vacation, paid sick leave, and a 401(k) retirement plan with matching.
Cons: there seems to be no room for advancement for part-time employees.
I liked working at Stop&Shop. good employees and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with dedicated staff
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Hampton Bays, NYJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: great work environment, dedicated staff.
Cons: short breaks, no benefits and compensation.
Management and the staff worked with team effort and precision to assist customers and assure quality service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with oportunity.
Clerk/Cashier/Porter (Former Employee), Edison, NJJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule and great benefits.
Cons: too little time for breaks and meals.
Swipe-in, get assignment to register, process orders, and when in a lull, reassigned to another department. How to safely unload a truck with a hand-jack, how to unpack a pallet, stock neatly, orderly, and safely, dairy and grocery, and lastly, how to do cleanups. Management always available to talk to if you are having problems either in work or at – more... home for any reason. Co-workers are friendly and courteous. Hardest part is working out side gathering carts in bad, cold, or extremely hot weather. The most enjoyable part of the job was unloading trucks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a start to serve customers
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Orange, CTSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: dicounts on our purchases
Cons: short breaks
enjoying meeting new people,new faces everyday at a day of work.
how to deal with money and serve customers in a happly mannor
managers were decent other than a few ..
my co-workers never have a problem with i enjpoy working with other i get along with everyone.
The hardest part of the job would be dealing with cranky customers.
the most enjoyable part – more... would be helping others out andhaving a nice convowith my customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all right job to work for
night crew chief (Former Employee), Long Branch, NJJuly 21, 2012
Pros: good job
Cons: hard work to much to do
hard work fast place not a easy job to do. had too learn alot for what they paid us in short time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee), bostonApril 19, 2012
Pros: supermarket, employee discount to get lunch
Cons: standing all day at the register
stop&shop taught me how to use a cash register. the people were friendly and so were my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Hampton Bays, NYMarch 21, 2012
Pros: minor store discount for employee's, good salary
Cons: stressful work environment.
Good pay, decent hours and long days, I would recommend working at stop&shop good learning experience.

About Stop&Shop

Growing from a single corner grocer to a chain of more than 375 stores throughout New England, New York and New Jersey, Stop & – Read more