Stop and Shop Supermarket

1.2K reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work at.
Clerk (Former Employee), Marstons Mills, MAAugust 3, 2015
Pros: Good wages, and benefits
Cons: Extremely stressful.
Very demanding work, high volume and stressful, Management at the lower levels were approachable but higher up management very aloof and unapproachable. Many of my co-workers were men and very discriminatory not all but many. The hardest part of the Job was the labor intensity and management. The most enjoyable part of the job was completing your work and being able to see the results of your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with bad management
Janitor (Former Employee), Southbury, CTAugust 2, 2015
Pros: You can get any food item there
Cons: Bad Management Staff
At my very short time at Stop and Shop I've seen and done many things as a janitor. I have seen employees come and go on a weekly basis as well as Supervisors, but my only complaints are that the Supervisors treat employees very unfairly and the hours are constantly changing. Me personally i like a job where the hours are the same each and every week and there is room to move up in a company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Porter/Janitor (Former Employee), New Britain, CTAugust 1, 2015
Pros: Laid Back
Cons: the pay and hours
I was a porter which in other words is a janitor. Has a union and is an alright place to work. I wasnt crazy about minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dairy Clerk (Former Employee), Bristol, RIAugust 1, 2015
Typical grocery store work. Had to load shelves with product. There was good place for advancement. Management was fun to work with as were employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wondferful and Great Place of Business
Cashier (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJuly 30, 2015
Pros: Discounts and the pay
Cons: inconsistant hours
Everyone from the managers to the customers was great. I enjoyed going to work there 6 days a week. Wonderful experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fun
cashier/grocery clerk (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTJuly 28, 2015
Cons: inconsistant hours
Great co-workers and great union! Dealt with a lot of memorable customers. Easy for the most part.
Managers are fair and reasonable.
Easy to branch out into other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deli Worker (Current Employee), Revere, MAJuly 28, 2015
Pros: awesome coworkers
I enjoyed helping out every costumer, and also had awesome coworkers.A typical day at work was assisting every customer, and also doing my job to the best of my ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i worked
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Vernon, CTJuly 27, 2015
terrible management and making sure everyone was treated equal. The benefits where worth it but not the work enviornment i was in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, busy work space.
Cashier (Former Employee), Greenburgh NYJuly 26, 2015
Pros: discount.
Cons: short breaks, not being heard.
I work mostly 7 hour shifts
Mondays and Fridays are the usually when we are really busy.
I've learned how to work on my patience.
Management is okay
My co-workers are very helpful.
Hardest part of my job is nothing.
Most enjoyable part is helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Providence, RIJuly 24, 2015
Pros: job security and benefits
Cons: the pay grade
first and longest tenured job
co-workers were some of the best
easy going work environment
very flexible hours
great job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Possibilties of this company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Watertown, MAJuly 24, 2015
Stop & Shop Peapod is a good company to work for I enjoyed working with my co-workers. Unfortunately I was out on injured and my job couldnt be held. I loved my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, however, no communication and lack of pay
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Bristol, CTJuly 24, 2015
Pros: Breaks, personal time and vacations
Cons: Management, communication, pay and lack of positive recognition
I learned basic customer service skills and techniques over the three year period. Co-workers made environment more tolerable. Large lack of communication between management and lower level employees. Lack of positive reinforcement on all levels of employees. Benefits are decent, but must invest a lot of time in the company to achieve them. Very low pay for supervisory positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucks
Meat Clerk (Current Employee), Brockton, MAJuly 22, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
they expect too much for little pay. the management are generally rude and over bearing. there is little room for advancement. i was promised a seafood management position for 2 years only to have them bring in a guy from another store once the seafood stand was built. the union there is worthless
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved helping people
Front End Associate (Former Employee), Hartford, CTJuly 22, 2015
Pros: helping costumers
Cons: short break
bagged peoples groceries and helped customers find things in store! I learned how to be productive in tough times! the hardest part of the job is dealing with negative costumers! i enjoy helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Clerk (Former Employee), Colchester, CTJuly 21, 2015
I was at this job for a year and within that year I learned more customer service skills as well as how to make myself happy. All the employees at this job are hard working adults who know how to act. If it wasn't for the amount of school work I was having trouble with I would see myself still working there. There were days that were "bad" however, overall nothing made me quit this job other than the school work I had to complete and couldn't with working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at.
Cashier (Former Employee), Smithtown, NYJuly 21, 2015
Pros: Clean, and safe enviornment
Cons: Short breaks
Co-workers were excellent. Benefits, holiday pay, and Sunday pay. Great healthy clean environment. Union Job. If you ever had any issue with hours or days off they would always try and work with your schedule. You can go to any department you please.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of Stop and Shop
Cashier/Customer Service/File Maintenance (Current Employee), NYJuly 20, 2015
The company has changed drastically in the past 10+ years. It used to be about the workers and job security. They cut hours and sacrifice associates emotional well being to cater to the elite customers of the world. People walk around like they are entitled and I understand we want people to come back but I don't think the associates should be disrespected and noone stand up for them. The younger crowd has no work ethic and the company doesn't have the time to teach them how to do their jobs properly. The hardest part of the job was walking in every day. The best part of my work day was when I was able to go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and easy place to work
Cashier Department Head, Cashier, Grocery Employee (Current Employee), Stoughton, MAJuly 17, 2015
Friendly workers and a good work environment.
Very helpful management.
I learned communication skills with customers and also how to handle tough situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Mount Vernon, NYJuly 17, 2015
Pros: great place to work
Cons: will write you up for anything
I learned how to cut deli meat, cooked hot food. the most enjoyable part of the job was when the staff gets together for the holiday party.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced atmosphere / Pleasant Customers
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Wappingers Falls, NYJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Working with different people, keeping busy.
Cons: Salary
Arrive 6:00 AM, Set up deli for opening at 7:00 AM
Take inventory, check expiration dates on provisions.
Placed computer generated orders.
Received shipments / unloaded deliveries.
Categorized shipment order.
Prepared catering (Private / Commercial)
Completed work day at 2:30 PM

Learned Customer Service / Relations
Order logs, filing, receiving, codes, etc.
Respected management and co workers.
Heavy lifting was a downside, otherwise do-able.
Meeting different people and hearing nice things
said about me from customers through management.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
1385 Hancock St
Quincy, MA, 02169-5103
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Stop and Shop Supermarket website

Facebook