Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
674 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are retired or a student
Customer Service Desk (Former Employee), Hartford, CTMarch 24, 2014
Pros: you can travel to work at other locations in the summer.
Cons: not enough hours
Working for Stop & Shop has brought me to appreciate the grocery workforce. I meet many different people and maintained a great relationship with co workers and customers. The position I held was not difficult to handle but it did come with lots of complaints from customers to me regarding the policy of Western Union. I enjoyed everyday I worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Deli Clerk/ Stocker (Current Employee), Glendale, NYMarch 22, 2014
Pros: appreciation day, and some rewards for workmanship.
Cons: lack of full time opportunities. employee discounts.
Not a bad place to work for people who go to school. They have advancement, but it may be a while. The atmosphere is different depending on the day. The managers help you at times, some helpful than others. Co-workers are good to work with, very much willing to help. The hardest part of the job is not knowing whether full time is available. Always depended – more... on if they needed full time employees. The most enjoyable part of the job was by far the friendliness of fellow co-workers. I learned most of all the ability to properly help and serve customers no matter what the mood. Also to work well in a team environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse life
Fork lift operator (Former Employee), North Haven, CTMarch 22, 2014
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: manditory ot
like most warehouses that deliver to there local stores its a hectic pace and high demanding but well compensated for your work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are very nice , as the customers
Cashier (Current Employee), North Reading, MAMarch 21, 2014
The customer contact is great. the co-workers are very nice to work with, upper management could use more structure with follow thru
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop&Shop
Bagger (Former Employee), Windsor, CTMarch 21, 2014
Pros: i was done with work and on breaks
Cons: they would watch me ever move i made and watch the clock when my break was done
this job was okay to me but it could've been better if they treated everybody the same but overall I would say it was a bad place for me to work cause when I first step in the door they was watching me and making me do everything like I was the only bagger at Stop Shop. ect.......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and safe work environment
Customer Representative (Current Employee), Feeding Hills, MAMarch 20, 2014
Friendly and safe work environment. Customer assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service (Former Employee), Mashpee, MAMarch 20, 2014
This was a great employment opportunity! I had fun working here and learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pocket money job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Warwick, RIMarch 19, 2014
I worked at stop and shop as a grocery clerk for about three months. This job entailed taking products from the back room and loading them onto the shelves. Though I would only work four hour shifts, I was expected to work at a break neck pace, bolting back and forth from the storage room and loading the items as quickly as possible. Overall, the work – more... was dull and the pay was low. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 19, 2014
I learned to be punctual and to help others when they needed to be helped.My co-workers was very friendly and we always had a smile on our face.The hardest part of the job was trying to finish up what you had to do and if someone didn't come in trying to finish there job in a timely manner.The most enjoyable part of the jobwas being there to help someone – more... when they needed assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
New Jersey Area Floater Meat (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJMarch 16, 2014
This is a place of employment. You get paid to perform tasks for people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't the best working experience
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMarch 10, 2014
Pros: union benefits
Very little advancement possibilities
Schedules were very conflicting
Tended to over work and underpay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and co-workers
Deli Associate (Current Employee), Warwick, RIMarch 7, 2014
Pros: bonuses, and awards for doing good work, union
Cons: sometimes a schedule problem, unsatisfied customers
I get into uniform and serve customers lunch meat and salads. Some customers are friendly while others or not and I always like a challenge. I enjoy working with my co-workers and seeing them every day and week. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the customers to keep the line down and customers happy.
I enjoy customers always coming back – more... to see me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop & Shop
Florist (Former Employee), Northport, NYMarch 6, 2014
Arranged Flowers
Cleaned up area
Watered flowers
Worked directly with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor senior leadership
Non Perishable Manager (Current Employee), RIMarch 5, 2014
Ok place to work for could be a lot better if we had more support from senior leadership. They only see numbers not people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Riverhead, NYMarch 5, 2014
Pros: discounts on clothing
Cons: none i can think of
The days would go by fast depending on the time of day. Great people to work with. Hardest part was during the holidays which got extremely busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun
Store Manager (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYMarch 4, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: late hours
Team players. On top of detail. very goal minded.Customer service number one priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that takes care of there associates and customers.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: grear work emviorment, wonderful co-workers, great at working around your schedual
Cons: pay isn't very good
Stop and Shop is a wonderful company to work for. They care about there employees as much as they care about there customers. If there was ever an issue between employees or customers management handles it appropriately on both parties behave. I love working for Stop and Shop there a great company but with the current prices on everything rising their – more... payment of minimum wedge is no longer sufficing. Overall they are an amazing company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Floral clerk/Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), North Bellmore, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: 15 minute breaks, and 4-6 hour shifts
Cons: it can be repetitive
It's a good part-time job, flexible hours and limited responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
Maintenance Dispatcher (Former Employee), Braintree, MAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: temp position
Call center enviorment over 100 employees and everyone very helpful, made a lot of friends and work with a group of very different but nice people, I would say that this was the first "real" job that I had, it was also a long term tempoary position and a great fit for me at that point in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hours
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), keyport njFebruary 25, 2014
me and the entire department had no hours.. we would be scheduled for 15 hours a week .. they kept hiring people and not giving the department hours we wanted...

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos