Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
919 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), New Paltz, NYNovember 10, 2014
Typical days included stocking products, fresh cut fruit section, and organization of deliveries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you wii not be disoppointed
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Newark, NJNovember 10, 2014
Pros: are having good people around you.
Cons: not having enough time to make sure that all the customers are satisfied.
very good place to shop.everyone pride them self on being clean and making sure every one is satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people easy work
Night Crew Chief (Current Employee), Manchester, CTNovember 10, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: retail
Not a bad company to work for. A typical day at work is I get in set up for the night and just get to work. Very repetitive job but not always a bad thing, allows you to become the best at what you do. Many opportunities to move up and can make a decent wage for not having any college degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not healthy.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Oceanside New YorkNovember 9, 2014
Cons: poor management
There was too many issues with the employees there causing them to argue most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop & Shop
Produce Lead Clerk (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 7, 2014
You are able to have flexible scheduling. This job is good if you are a student and just trying to make a little money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very secure and enjoyable workplace
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Watertown, CTNovember 6, 2014
Pros: great pay, job security, health benefits
Cons: physically exhausting sometimes
The people I worked with at Stop & Shop were pleasurable. The work environment was tough because of how busy the store became.

There was ample room for advancement and was attained with a modest amount of work. The health and union benefits were great, for both full and part time workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTNovember 5, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere to get out and meet other people
Cons: retail schedule
It's good if you're somebody looking to work a part time job either during the day while your children are at school or in the evening
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes stressful
clerk (Former Employee), Cranston, RINovember 5, 2014
On a sunny day I honestly don't mind pushing carts, but on a raining, thundering night i don't want to work outside pushing carts. i honestly think that is the hardest part of the job. I enjoy being kept busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STOP AND SHOP
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Revere, MANovember 4, 2014
Pros: awesome
Cons: cool
a typical day at work starts off by clocking in, going to a register, making trasactions, then leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
floral associate
Floral Associate (Former Employee), Westborough, MassachusettsNovember 1, 2014
Pros: pleasent working environment
Cons: frequent hour cuts
arranged floral bouquets and seasonal decorations
attended to daily tasks with upkeep on flowers and decorations
completed tasks efficiently and on most days on own
inflated baloons for aprty needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet enjoyable job
Customer Service (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYOctober 31, 2014
Pros: gained social skills to interact with many different people
Cons: not very respecting of school schedule
A typical day at work includes transactions, refunds, exchanges, on cash register, handling customer complaints, questions, problems, and concerns, assisting checkout manager to run front end registers, balancing cash register at the end of my shift, selling New York lottery tickets, and processing Western Union money transfers. I've learned how to – more... interact with various types of people. My managers are friendly and make work an enjoyable environment. My co-workers are fun and help the work day go by quickly. The hardest part of my job is helping the most aggrevated customers leave the store satisfied. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I made the customer happy with their shopping experience despite possibly having an issue with my co-workers, the product, price, or various other problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company
GM Manager (Current Employee), Roxbury, MAOctober 28, 2014
Good company to work for, I have learned a lot working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment.
GROCERY FRONT END CLERK (Former Employee), Bristol and WatertownOctober 26, 2014
Pros: great staff.
Customer assistance and helping co-workers and company grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 23, 2014
A typical workday would be coming in and slicing meat for customers. Sometimes i would have stock the shelves. Management was very reasonable and outgoing. Loved the co workers. Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers and putting a smile on their face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless management
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee), North Attleboro, MAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, unsatisfying work, constantly juggling other people's work, not enough hours, low pay
My typical day at work involves this: start my job, be sent to another department, help cashier, be given another department, receive a complaint that my original job has not been done. This happens every day while working 20 hours or less weekly (not by choice). It's so bad that some employees in the past have done tasks like clean toilets and then – more... be sent to the bake shop to prepare food. While the store lowers some prices (or pretends to - this happens), they skyrocket other prices. I feel like I deceive customers daily and for very low pay with no hope of advancement. Management doesn't understand why they're losing out to stores like Market Basket. Work/life balance isn't terrible; employees can take off whatever days they need, but management looks down on having the same day off every week, so scheduling things can be hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with great management
cashier/suppervisor/florist clerk/ florist manger (Former Employee), Arlington MaOctober 22, 2014
my work day was anything but typical but that's what I liked about my job, It was challenging and engaging. I loved designing floral arrangements but best of all I loved talking to the customers getting to know them and their needs. Often times the customers that I talked to I have known for years . My day would begin by checking and taking in product – more... by outside vendors ordering product, getting invoices doing balances and checks , writing out work schedules, going to dept head meetings. The management team was very supportive and answered questions. my co workers were great, they would help me and each other when needed , the hardest part about my job was sometimes doing the necessary paper work that took away time from talking to my customers . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with much experience in sales and marketing
Head Cashier & Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Haskell, NJOctober 22, 2014
Typical days included dealing with customer problems, money handling, assisting cashiers, supervising the front end and answering phones. I learned a great deal about costumer service and how to satisfy peoples' needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Levittown, NYOctober 20, 2014
took care of children
learned to be more patient because every child has different needs
took care of daily work needed
my coworkers were great. Still friends
The hardest part was saying bye to the kids as they left
Enjoyed every part of being around kids
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Granby, CTOctober 19, 2014
Customer service based job, solving problems, counting money, attending to everyone's needs, multitasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with excellent coworkers
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), North Attleboro, MAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: medical benefits and paid vacation plus paid sick and personal days
Cons: few raises and little opportunity for job advancement
A typical day at work was just me and my coworkers loading the shelves and making sure that everything looked good. We also had to communicate with customers by helping them with their questions and requests. My department manager is great guy and I will never find someone else like him. He's understanding and very flexible with scheduling. My co-workers – more... are like anyone else. Some are good and some are bad. For the most part, we all make a pretty good team. The hardest part about my job is cleaning up after someone's mess. It usually has gotten worse by the time I got there. The best part about my job are the people I work with. – less

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos