Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
827 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), DORCHESTER, MAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: there were no pros
Cons: short breaks or no breaks at all, very little opportunity to advance, no unity
It was a very unorganized workplace.There was a extreme lack of training and communication. The cashiers were extremely rude to each other and customers. There was a lot of backstabbing. It was like I was watching an episode of survivor when I went to work. I saw a lot of people being disrespected and taken advantage of. Personnel issues were discussed – more... in front of customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good
Cashier (Former Employee), Canaan, CTAugust 7, 2014
I liked working here except I didn't like the amount of hours I was given a week. and I couldn't afford the gas back and forth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job rotation
Bookkeeper, customer service, cashier (Former Employee), East meadowAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: no salary raise
I loved working here! I got many promotions;the only reason why I left was because with all the promotions I never got a single raise, other then that it not a bad place to work, especially as a student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Cashier (Former Employee), Mounds, ILAugust 5, 2014
hours are flexible
most customers are nice
coworkers are fun to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop and Shop
Customer Service (Former Employee), Pawtucket, RIAugust 5, 2014
The atmosphere was good at stop and shop and the management was reasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about retail and it's processes.
sales associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MAAugust 5, 2014
I learned a lot of procedures in managing a retail department. I learned how to order over phone and on the computer. I learned how to handle customers of all varities. I learned how to delegate to part time associates and keep an efficient production level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere of people.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Waldwick, NJAugust 4, 2014
My day at work required a strict uniform with a positive attitude. There was no such thing as being tired or not being able to accomplish a full day without complaints. The management of Stop&Shop were excellent with rules and regulations and sticking to them. My co-workers were positive, good spirited people who loved to work and perform customer satisfaction. – more... The hardest part of my job at Stop&Shop was standing on my feet all day. Finally, the most enjoyable part was making my customers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Dairy Clerk (Current Employee), 06460August 3, 2014
Pros: union
Cons: no health care benefits
During a typical day, I make sure certain parts of the store product load is on the shelf's, make sure sale displays are neat and loaded. I also pull in any additional product loads received that day. I have developed better time management skills and how to interact in a retail environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer service (Former Employee), brocktonAugust 3, 2014
easy work. i learned how to work with people.my coworkers were fun and easy to get along with. hardest part was dealing with hard customers. most enjoyable part was interacting with people and it fit my schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I stocked shelves, that is self-explanatory
Evening Stock Attendant (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: none.
I arrived on time, I stocked shelves and did what I was told to do. I enjoyed my co-workers. I found that none of my work duties were "hard". I enjoyed the satisfaction of getting the job done promptly and correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
CASHIER (Former Employee), Providence, RIAugust 1, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: customers, not a lot of room for advancement
You don't always get the best/most friendly customers, of course like at any job. Just a bit stressful, but it's an okay job for someone just trying to gain work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the management
cashier (Former Employee), Seekonk, MAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: very friendly
Cons: hours
I love working there i just wish that they had more hours to give to there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Watertown, MAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: short breaks
-Cashier
-Busy
-Helping Customers
-Friendly co-workers
-Support
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not for a career
Stop and Shop Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Seymour, CTJuly 30, 2014
Pros: useful knowledge
I learned a lot about running a company from working at Stop and Shop but this is not the line of work i am interested in for a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good customer service company
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Medford, MAJuly 30, 2014
the company is unioned for the workers they always have your back i was there for three years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What sort of impact.
Cashier (Former Employee), Fairfield, CTJuly 28, 2014
Working with number always has been challenging. Making sure that at the end all account balance, that was a typical day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
movies
Cashier and Florist Crew Member (Former Employee), Westport, CTJuly 28, 2014
a fun place to work.
free movies
i learned how to sell tickets to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PART TIME
Cashier (Former Employee), Natick, MAJuly 27, 2014
Management didn't have communication skills and not friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficent customer service
Cashier, Customer Service (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 22, 2014
maintained a balanced and accurate cash drawer.
enjoyed meeting new people and providing friendly service, during down times would assist in cleaning the isles and pulling product face forward
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Deli Employee (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great work staff great hours
dealing with everyday with all types of attitudes and knowing how to keep it professional as I complete their deli orders.
restock and inventory; putting up sales for following week and maintaining clean workstation

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos