Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
863 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job for adults
Cashier (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low pay short breaks
not a good company
i wouldnt recommend anyone working here
terrible place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun atmosphere with great people
Senior Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), Meriden, CTSeptember 15, 2014
A typical day at work was catching shoplifters, I learned many laws and ways to improve my job daily. The hardest part of my job was dealing with people who became combative during security stops. the best part of my job was the many people and police officers I was fortunate enough to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Determined mindset for good work.
Front End Clerk: Cashier/Bagger/Self-Scan (Current Employee), Chicopee, MASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: vacations for seniority, understandable communication
Cons: self-scans, lack of workers scheduled
I learn a lot at my job day by day, specifically by customers. I enjoy making them smile and be able to have a good day, even on a bad note. I like to treat people with kindness and respect, the same way I'd like to be treated. I don't have complaints about my job really, but I'd like to move along with my life as a career. I do enjoy my job, but working – more... Front End at Stop&Shop isn't such a great thing. The most difficult part of my job is working Self-Scan registers. When watching five of them, and all of them being slightly dysfunctional, it's hard to really help all the customers out at once. If the machines ran smoother and were more up-to-date with the software I'm sure it'd be a pleasurable experience. My most enjoyable part of the day includes customers. I love working and seeing regular customers or new customers with a bright attitude. Being myself and making the customer happy, makes myself feel better knowing I can contribute to someone's well-being and that is the best part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I do
Cashier (Current Employee), Somerset, MASeptember 12, 2014
On a normal typical day at work I ring and bag groceries and I get the customers out fast but also make sure they leave the store happy so they want to come back again. I have learned how to become unshy and how to ring and bag the right way and how to ring fast. I love working with my co-workers. They make work go by faster and they are all very friendly. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job and getting customer compliments and saying how they always come to my line because of how nice I am and how friendly I am. I get customer compliments quite often. I would say the hardest part about my job is when you have rude people screaming and yelling in your face and flipping out. Other than that, I love my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Deli Shift Leader (Former Employee), queens, nySeptember 11, 2014
DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
Your review may be publicly displayed by Indeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Days- Not much Down Time
Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Somers, NYSeptember 11, 2014
Great Place to work. I learned so much from my position as an admin asst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Bakery manager (Former Employee), Revere, MassachusettsSeptember 10, 2014
Loved my everything about my job. Great employees. Everyone work as a team and did a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Meat/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee), swampscott massSeptember 10, 2014
learned alot in seafod
how to cut a fish
co workers was great
passover
working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop and Shop
Student Worker (Current Employee), Storrs, CTSeptember 9, 2014
Working at Stop and Shop is very convenient for me being close to home. I am able to work every few weekends while being enrolled at college. It is a very clean work place and people are constantly trying to make it a better environment.Employees and managers are all very friendly and easy to talk to. I enjoy working there but am up for a job that offers – more... more of a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Positions
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Stonington, CTSeptember 7, 2014
In all jobs the major function was sales and customer service. Some jobs I opened and closed accounts and others I prepared payroll, still others documents and shipping information. Through all of it the people became like extended family sometimes we exchanged information about each of our lives and checked to see what was going on if time went by – more... without seeing each other. I have gotten to know many people through customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Baggar (Current Employee), Clifton NJSeptember 1, 2014
An average day consists of punching into work.. I have to key in my employee #'s in the time clock. After that i am often told by a manager to start on returns or bag for a Cashier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people work well together.
grocery clerk (Current Employee), Southbury, CTSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: shedule flexibility
Cons: no health care for part timers
I come in and usually I do the same things on a regular basic and I can do them without much management supervision or support. Management can be accommodating with schedules. My coworkers are friendly and helpful. Time constraints are sometime hard to reach with working quickly and hardly have time to take a break. I like helping the customers is the – more... most enjoyable part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Overnight Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Amityville, NYAugust 31, 2014
Basically stocked the store, pulled truck every night. Management was easy to talk to. Worked and got along with all the co workers. Enjoyed the labor of the job and challenge but no way to move up in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and serious work place
Cashier, Bagger, & General merchandise clerk (Former Employee), Worcester, MAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: the store discount on food bought by employee
Cons: low wage
A typical day at work involved pricing and putting up store items, and going up front to help out as a cashier when the store became busy.Also, I personally loved my co-workers. However, the hardest part of this Job was interacting with the numerous customers, especially those that were not polite. The most enjoyable part of my Job was interacting and – more... becoming friends with my co-workers and some of the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Mansfield, MAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: did not like job
worked with customers on daily basis, enjoyed working with the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Supervisor
Cashier Front End (Former Employee), Bay Shore, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: i became supervisor
Cons: all by myself
Again started as a cashier and advanced to Supervisor I enjoyed working with the public get them taking care of fast and timely fashion .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like any job, a mix of good and bad.. but mostly good
Bake Shop clerk (Former Employee), Middletown, RIAugust 26, 2014
Pros: depending on your department and their needs you may be able to get a set schedule, fun co workers, great work enviromnent
Cons: 3 year wait for health insurance (part time), 1 year wait (full time), but this may have changed since.
Please keep in mind that when I worked here I was a part time employee. I had to wait 3 years for benefits, which was fine for me because I had them through my husbands employer. If not, there would have been no way I could have waited so long. Also, the wait for full time is extremely long, but if you're able to work 2 jobs, or you're married and only – more... need a part time income while you wait, this is a perfect job. Management all depends on the store you work in. I worked in 708 and they had great managers, both store managers and department managers. I got lucky with department managers especially, the first department manager I had taught me everything I needed to know about baking which helped me land a better job 10 years later and the second department manager who came in after a transfer was just as awesome, I had a set schedule, so could have worked a second job if needed. Not everyone is so lucky though, but if you can make it and get full time its definitely worth the wait. The benefits are excellent, I'm not sure if this is still the case but when I worked there your benefits were 100% company paid, I went out on medical leave and they told me they could hold my position for a full year, most jobs you're lucky to get 3 months. I was able to keep my health insurance for 6 months as well, so for that 6 months I had 2 health insurances, which saved me a fortune in co-pays. I've heard of people on medical leave from other places that their bosses called them constantly asking when they were coming back. They didn't do that here, which saved me so much stress.. I checked in every few months and received a call after a year from one of the store managers saying she was sorry but they had to terminate my employment because it had been a year, but she would rehire me when I was ready to come back.
the job itself was a fun job, bake shop always is. I worked with a great group of people, there was always plenty to do to pass the time and the days flew by. I would go back there in a heartbeat if I was able to get full time right away. I really can't say anything bad about the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very enjoyable
Clerk (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 26, 2014
boring place plus very long for pay advancement
same procedure people in higher places do what they want
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting place to work
Deli assistant (Former Employee), Eastchester, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: discounts on groceries
Cons: low pay, barley any benifits
Cleaning, cooking and waiting on customers.
Learned patience and persistence
Management was strict yet friendly. they were also accommodating.
co workers were friendly bu often goofed off.
Hardest part was co workers who did not work.
Most enjoyable were customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job that made me use my Customer Service Skills
Cashier/Self-Checkout Associate (Former Employee), West Haven, CTAugust 21, 2014
Fun working with others to get tasks done. Gave me more responsibilities.

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos