Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
799 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very good place to work. I had recomendations from customers.
Floater (Former Employee), West Hempstead, NYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: good job skills and good workers.
Cons: i had to leave when i moved to oklahoma.
I had good customer and job skills. I had a lot of responsibilities there. It was good to be covered medically there. I got along with everyone there.I miss them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with people and customer service and working with credit cards machine and lottery
Cashier (Former Employee), Del Norte, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: no breaks no lunch
be on time and reliable get along with people make food make coffee cleaned make shure everything was clean and ready for opening got along good with co workers hardest was lunch time school kids would go in and enjoyable was closing time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Mount Vernon, NYJuly 8, 2014
Pros: it was quite rewarding to complete my deliveries and get back on time.
Cons: learning different locations when the gps wouldn, t give the exact address.
I learned how to inspect trucks and load them before leaving the supermarket,i learned the various trucks routes and dealing with customers, the hard part was learning the different truck routes,the most enjoyable part of the job was finishing my deliveries and getting back to the supermarket before or on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
File Maintenance Clerk
File Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee), North Providence, RIJuly 8, 2014
I apply the daily prices changes and make sales signs for displays. I engage the customers making their shopping experience easy and stress free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my favorite
Supervisor (Former Employee), Allston, MAJuly 5, 2014
good starter job, it helped get me ready for the world.

the hours are crazy long but the people you I met over the years are friends for life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and always learning new things
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), West Babylon, NYJuly 2, 2014
the co-workers are very friendly, the pharmacist teach a lot and very good and very friendly also. the most enjoyable things to speak to costumer and laughing with them.as they wave and say hello even though the are picking up there prescriptions. the hardest part is trying to do every thing at once and don't make mistakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job with weird hours
FRONT END BOOK KEEPER (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJJuly 2, 2014
typical grocery store that required you to work odd hours at any time of the day and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and great learning experiences
Cashier (Former Employee), Peabody, MAJune 29, 2014
everyday i got to work with lovely people and learn how to deal with stressful situations. Learning how to use the registers and all the other computer things was amazing cause I knew it would benefit me in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Islandia, NYJune 28, 2014
Working at Stop & Shop is a good job for students. They were always able to accommodate me with my school schedule. The hours were decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery Driver for PeaPod/Loader
Delivery driver (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJune 28, 2014
Pros: tips and people you meet.
Cons: physically demanding job
Delivering groceries to customers and businesses. I also worked as a dock working loading and unloading the trucks. I really enjoyed this job, the pay wasn't that great, however the tips made up for that. The management and staff were pretty awesome. I met a lot of interesting people. The hardest part of the job I would say was working on the dock loading – more... and unloading the trucks. Some routes required to deliver several hundred dollars of groceries to several floors without elevators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical "starter job" with some advancement opportunities
General Merchandise Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee), Granby, CTJune 27, 2014
Pros: flexibility, variance of duties
Cons: long hours, always on your feet
Work at Stop and Shop was almost exactly as you would expect it to be. Depending upon which department you worked in, duties varied tremendously. My first position was as a cashier/bagger. This consisted of mainly attending to customers and working quickly to keep everybody happy. I was then promoted to the Customer Service desk. This job entailed many – more... more duties including addressing customer complaints, selling lottery tickets and cigarettes, performing Western Union money transfers, balancing money, taking returns/exchanges, etc. Finally, I was promoted to the HBC/GM department where we were in charge of the health and beauty care aisles as well as general merchandise and seasonal items. This job required us to set up end cap displays, order and track product, and to maintain cleanliness and sale/price tags which changed weekly. The hardest part of working at Stop and Shop was that you were always on your feet. It is definitely a physically demanding job. Also, seeing as it is a very busy grocery store you are always in the eye of the public. There is not exactly a desk or back room you can sneak away to when you really need to get things done without interruption. I really grew a lot at stop and shop while learning to be confident and responsible. Hard work pays off here, and it is a great feeling to be rewarded by the management! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and accommodating environment
BARISTA (Former Employee), Harwich, MAJune 26, 2014
Pros: a consistent customer base and flexible hours
Cons: i was under 18, therefore there were a lot of restrictions
Most every day I worked the coffee bar.
I learned how to make a schedule and how to live around it.
I covered shifts in other parts of the grocery store and the guest service desk where I learned a lot about how to interact with people in a professional setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
General Merchandise (Former Employee), Bedford, NHJune 26, 2014
Very productive job. Always busy, constantly on your feet. Positive vibe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they always give some one an opportunity
Meat Clerk (Current Employee), Madison, NJJune 25, 2014
Pros: local 464
Cons: unfair pay scale for the good workers
Greet everyone then its right to work. My job is to make sure new & old inventory is scanned in to C.A.O. Stock & rotate product while I maintain excellent customer service, proper presentation, & a safe work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun workplace all around
Cashier assisting customers (Former Employee), Hingham, MAJune 25, 2014
Pros: raise every year
Cons: short breaks
Great environment for a work place. The customers do get edgy sometimes but that's why you have to keep a smile on your face and hey will too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier & Bagger (Former Employee), Islandia, NYJune 20, 2014
I learned how to use a register. my co-workers were very nice. I loved working with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive envronment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Hartford, CTJune 20, 2014
I learned many things working at Stop and Shop. For example, I learned how to interact with people better. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
S&S
Dairy Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee), Warwick, RIJune 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: inconsistent hours
From my couple years of working here, I have learned various skills that I can apply to a future job. The experience of interacting and communicating with people that is considerate and helpful can benefit me down the line. At this job I learn how to work under management and develop good relationships with my associates. Management and co workers are – more... easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is to keep up with the pressure of retail. Everyone is happy when maximum product is on the shelf. I enjoy building relationships with my co workers and customers the most. Customers choose to shop at S&S and my job to make their experience easy and enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced environment with friendly customer service
Cashier/Bagger (Former Employee), Willimantic, CTJune 19, 2014
A typical day consists of operating the register, bagging groceries, collecting the necessary supplies to carry out the functions of the job. During this employment I have gained a great deal of experience working with people, communicating with management, and mufti-tasking. It was truly enjoyable being able to serve the customers whom I would see – more... in the community as well and build relationships with them as they would come in frequently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Cashier/Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYJune 17, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short breaks
*A typical day at work was moderate

*I learned how to work better as a team

*Management was satisfactory

*There wasn't a hard part about the job

*I enjoyed my hours.

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos