Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
860 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Amesbury, MAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, and going home
Cons: management was unpleasant never helpful, not long enough breaks, scheduling wasnt always the way you wanted, they pay sucks too
I would come in for my shift provide customer service and would finish my shift and go home. Management was useless I had many fallouts with a team leader and nothing was done about it, the front end manager at that point black flagged and no longer can apply at stop and shop the manager has since moved on to another location. Co workers are fun and – more... easy to get along with. Hardest part was the dealing with unpleasant customers but that's the job you get past it and work it out. Going home was the best after a long day. I was there for just about a year and the pay wasn't worth it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours Suck but People were great
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Plainville, MAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: people i worked with were great!
Cons: no advancement, no real hours. working 6 days a week
Don't get trained very well. Hours SUCK. Pay is what you would think you would get. No advancement pretty much ever
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greet customers with a friendly polite smile, slice their products, and maintain cleanliness of the work area
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), West Babylon, NYAugust 13, 2014
greet customers with a friendly polite smile, slice their products, and maintain cleanliness of the work area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Grocery (Current Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 13, 2014
Pros: flexible, pay check
Cons: lack of hours, and some management
A typical day at work is usually fun, stressful, and aggravating. You have trust your work, and bust tail for extra hours. Management can be good at times, but some management only look out for them. The co-workers are fun to work with, and you could learn a lot from them. I would have to say the hardest part of this job is consistent hours. You get – more... hours based on the pace of the business. Some customers can make your day and others are rude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment with very nice co-workers
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Mounds, ILAugust 12, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: the boss didn't really communicate well, having to stand the whole time
A typical day at work was very nice, I learned how to deal with customers and work close wit other people. The managers were very friendly and communicated well. I got along well with the co-workers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with rude and disrespectful customers, but it was a learning experience. I really enjoyed being able to interact – more... with the customer and being able to be a help to people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief review of my experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, CTAugust 12, 2014
I worked the front end so I had to give good customer service. I was the first and last person they saw and I tried to make sure they left with a smile on their face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard grocery Store
Substitute Instructional Assistant Preschool (Former Employee), Danielson, CTAugust 12, 2014
Management changed pretty often but remained consistent with rules and benefits. I was either on a register cashing people out or assisting people in finding things in the store or working in the floral department. The most enjoyable part was making arrangements in the floral department for special occasions. The hardest part of the job was when there – more... would be huge lines and you had to ring out a number of people in a short amount of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience...
Cashier/Self-Checkout Attendant (Former Employee), Stoughton, MAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: friendly customers; very little lay-offs; weekly pay;
Cons: schedule mix-ups; no hours; no organization; no communication;
A typical day at work, for me was being either a cashier or self-checkout attendant. All requiring transactions and customer service.

There wasn't much to learn working here, the job was pretty basic.

Management with absolute honesty was terrible. They would harass you if you declined to work another employees shift, they would change the schedule – more... without you knowing, and then write you up for missing the unknown shift. When I needed to change my schedule for educational purposes, they continued to schedule me during my unavailable hours.The law requires them to give you at least 15 hours per week and they consistently gave me 5-10 (before I even asked for time off for school). Forcing me to look for another job. There were never any chances to advance and move up in the job after I made self-checkout.

As I've stated in previous reviews, I can get along with anyone, however between other coworkers there was always some sort of petty drama.

The hardest part of the job, was the disorganization, not knowing when you were working until last second,and the shortage of hours.

The most enjoyable part of the job, kind and friendly customers and coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: half price lunch
Cons: short breaks
a work day would consist of stocking shelves, cleaning floors, assisting customers, and cashier duties. overall it is a good work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Somerville, Ma.August 12, 2014
Pros: good pay and benifits
Cons: not always flexible shcedules
cull produce counter, receive and put away deliveries, help customers with requests, restock counters, have fun working with other associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok place
casher (Former Employee), Hudson, NHAugust 10, 2014
worked nights for 4 years then want on days ,did not work weekends .i did the best that I new how to do for my job.ring in items of food foe customers and baged them also.worked with many for 5 years ..I talked with a lot of people that passed thru me and help out many people ,and had to keep calm when the customers where not happy...got a long with – more... management well.coworkers we all got a long great .there was no hard times at work with the job .enjoyable part was helping people out that needed help and makeing the customers smile and talking to them and listening .verzion was just cowokers we all got a long real good and friends out side from the job.wealso helped everyone out and did some jobs all together.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant emloyers and lovely work areas
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), North Kingstown, RIAugust 9, 2014
During this job i was taught how to use the machinery used to give the customers their lunch meats and cheese while they did their shopping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice employees and good teamwork
Pricing Department Manager (Former Employee), West Caldwell, NJAugust 9, 2014
I enjoyed working in the Pricing Department because I liked the responsibility and the group of people I had the privledge of working with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), DORCHESTER, MAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: there were no pros
Cons: short breaks or no breaks at all, very little opportunity to advance, no unity
It was a very unorganized workplace.There was a extreme lack of training and communication. The cashiers were extremely rude to each other and customers. There was a lot of backstabbing. It was like I was watching an episode of survivor when I went to work. I saw a lot of people being disrespected and taken advantage of. Personnel issues were discussed – more... in front of customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good
Cashier (Former Employee), Canaan, CTAugust 7, 2014
I liked working here except I didn't like the amount of hours I was given a week. and I couldn't afford the gas back and forth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job rotation
Bookkeeper, customer service, cashier (Former Employee), East meadowAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: no salary raise
I loved working here! I got many promotions;the only reason why I left was because with all the promotions I never got a single raise, other then that it not a bad place to work, especially as a student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Cashier (Former Employee), Mounds, ILAugust 5, 2014
hours are flexible
most customers are nice
coworkers are fun to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop and Shop
Customer Service (Former Employee), Pawtucket, RIAugust 5, 2014
The atmosphere was good at stop and shop and the management was reasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about retail and it's processes.
sales associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MAAugust 5, 2014
I learned a lot of procedures in managing a retail department. I learned how to order over phone and on the computer. I learned how to handle customers of all varities. I learned how to delegate to part time associates and keep an efficient production level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere of people.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Waldwick, NJAugust 4, 2014
My day at work required a strict uniform with a positive attitude. There was no such thing as being tired or not being able to accomplish a full day without complaints. The management of Stop&Shop were excellent with rules and regulations and sticking to them. My co-workers were positive, good spirited people who loved to work and perform customer satisfaction. – more... The hardest part of my job at Stop&Shop was standing on my feet all day. Finally, the most enjoyable part was making my customers happy. – less

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos