Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
896 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail environment.
Cash Office Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Flemington, NJSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: convenience
Cons: extremely limited advancement opportunities, fixed pay scale
I have worked at this company for ten years. During that time, I've been trained for (and have trained others for) every position on the front end, yet due to the limitations of closed-shop retail establishments, possibilities for advancement are slim-to-none. Management, while often complimentary of my performance, has no means to recognize it substantially. – more... As is typical in retail, turn-over is high, so my co-workers can change from month to month. Hardest part of the job: corporate and union bureaucracy. Most enjoyable: Co-workers and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment, got to help a lot of people
front end associate (Current Employee), Newington, CTSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: good co workers
Cons: management issues
My schedule working at stop and shop varied everyweek so it was either a hit or miss as to how my week was going to go.
I wish the management was more involved in employee feedback as to know what to improve on in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Seymour, CTSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: 1
Very fast pace work environment, very busy on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Baker (Former Employee), Nanuet, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: discount shopping
Cons: n/a
My experience with Stop and Shop was excellent! My tenure was short do to relocating because of family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: short breaks
It's always busy, especially around mid-mornings and late afternoon but I enjoy to serve the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Crew Chief, Peapod (Current Employee), farmingdaleSeptember 22, 2014
fairly routine
work with fantastic people
lots of lifting but to be expected
like being able to know that I am helping someone
my boss is the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
Cashier (Former Employee), Hyde Park, New YorkSeptember 21, 2014
Cons: not a flexible work schedule
A typical day at work would be just standing at a register and wait to check customers out with their groceries. My co-workers would leave their registers to talk to the manager of the front end. The hardest part of the job was telling customers where an item was because I was new to the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job.
Supervisor of Customer Service (Former Employee), Hudson Ma 01749September 18, 2014
Stop & Shop offers many different positions.
Perfect for a first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy hardworking day
Cashier (Former Employee), Watchung, NJSeptember 17, 2014
A typical day working for stop and shop peapod center consisted of reviewing online orders as well as processing them. Heavy customer service and interaction with customers. Working at Stop and Shop I've learned how to properly bagged and scan all items , complete orders within giving time and manage customers orders and answer any questions they may – more... have concerns their orders. It has been a pleasure working with all the staff at Stop and Shop. They were friendly and kind. The most difficult task for me working at was grabbing the concept of working against the clock. But once I have grew accustom to the flow of things. I've began to pick up speed. The enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people , and making new friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop and shop
Cashier/Front End Leader (Former Employee), Lynn, MASeptember 16, 2014
You would punch in and get assigned your register, ring customers orders, bag the items , and associate with customers about their experience at stop and shop. I have learned how to multitask, build my communication skills, how to accommodate customers so that they receive full customer service. Management was well no concerns, they were thoughtful – more... and concerned with any issues you had, my coworkers were amazing we could all work together and get along without any concerns, we worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unpleasant customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was being rewarded and appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working enviroment
Front End Cashier/Grocery & Frozen Department (Current Employee), NYSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: friendly people i always get along with
Cons: union fees
I work during the morning shift, so its not all that busy but I still keep myself going. On the weekend the store is always busy, I am almost always asked to work later than I have to and I always do. I have learned all about the registers how to handle cash; big bills, checking if its counterfeit or not. I love working here with all my co-workers but – more... I think its time to move on and start something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, always busy but having fun while being safe
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Miller Place, NYSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: breaks, union, flexible schedule, fun, busy
a typical day would be pretty busy with 4-6 people helping customers on counter slicing while 1-2 others would be cleaning up and keeping everything neat. Manager was friendly, but strict, where you were able to chat a little so long as everything was getting done and no one was standing around doing nothing. Co-workers are all friendly and always eager – more... to help if you have any concerns or questions. The hardest part of the job was closing on a busy day with only yourself and 1 other co-worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job for adults
Cashier (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low pay short breaks
not a good company
i wouldnt recommend anyone working here
terrible place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun atmosphere with great people
Senior Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), Meriden, CTSeptember 15, 2014
A typical day at work was catching shoplifters, I learned many laws and ways to improve my job daily. The hardest part of my job was dealing with people who became combative during security stops. the best part of my job was the many people and police officers I was fortunate enough to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Determined mindset for good work.
Front End Clerk: Cashier/Bagger/Self-Scan (Current Employee), Chicopee, MASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: vacations for seniority, understandable communication
Cons: self-scans, lack of workers scheduled
I learn a lot at my job day by day, specifically by customers. I enjoy making them smile and be able to have a good day, even on a bad note. I like to treat people with kindness and respect, the same way I'd like to be treated. I don't have complaints about my job really, but I'd like to move along with my life as a career. I do enjoy my job, but working – more... Front End at Stop&Shop isn't such a great thing. The most difficult part of my job is working Self-Scan registers. When watching five of them, and all of them being slightly dysfunctional, it's hard to really help all the customers out at once. If the machines ran smoother and were more up-to-date with the software I'm sure it'd be a pleasurable experience. My most enjoyable part of the day includes customers. I love working and seeing regular customers or new customers with a bright attitude. Being myself and making the customer happy, makes myself feel better knowing I can contribute to someone's well-being and that is the best part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I do
Cashier (Current Employee), Somerset, MASeptember 12, 2014
On a normal typical day at work I ring and bag groceries and I get the customers out fast but also make sure they leave the store happy so they want to come back again. I have learned how to become unshy and how to ring and bag the right way and how to ring fast. I love working with my co-workers. They make work go by faster and they are all very friendly. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job and getting customer compliments and saying how they always come to my line because of how nice I am and how friendly I am. I get customer compliments quite often. I would say the hardest part about my job is when you have rude people screaming and yelling in your face and flipping out. Other than that, I love my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Deli Shift Leader (Former Employee), queens, nySeptember 11, 2014
DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
Your review may be publicly displayed by Indeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Days- Not much Down Time
Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Somers, NYSeptember 11, 2014
Great Place to work. I learned so much from my position as an admin asst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Bakery manager (Former Employee), Revere, MassachusettsSeptember 10, 2014
Loved my everything about my job. Great employees. Everyone work as a team and did a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Meat/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee), swampscott massSeptember 10, 2014
learned alot in seafod
how to cut a fish
co workers was great
passover
working

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos