Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
827 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Don't
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Fall River, MaJuly 21, 2014
Overworked and underpaid.....................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work part time and as stepping stone job.
Clerk (Current Employee), CTJuly 19, 2014
Pros: crew and health care
Cons: no advancement unless someone dies or retires, management think they work in a fortune 500 business
Good place to work if you are in school,need a part time job for extra cash or want to waste your time trying to move up the ranks. Union is good for job security but that is about it. It keeps guys who have been in the company a long time well payed and in high positions. Not a place for a young person to build a career unless you have a degree in – more... business or the such. The best part of the job is the friends you make out of your co workers and customers. The crew you work with does become like a big dysfunctional family and you make some life long friends out of it.If they would offer better compensation for full time employees instead of just department heads it could be a career. All in all job is good for people who have no education or trade skill and looking to just be able to skate by in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier, Frozen foods Clerk (Former Employee), Dedham, MAJuly 17, 2014
days went by fast. coworkers were nice. management was awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli
Deli Worker (Former Employee), Vernon, CTJuly 17, 2014
I prepared food for the Deli.
I sit the food out on the buffet line to be sold.
I made sandwiches for customers.
I made pizza for customers.
I sold food to the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CASHIER
CASHIER (Former Employee), Nantucket, MAJuly 17, 2014
THIS JOB REQUIRES YOU TO REMEMBER ALOT OF CODES,CASHING CUSTOMER AND BE AS POLITE AND COURTIOUS TO ALL CUSTOMER.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days go by fast, meet new people
Cashier and Front End Assistant (Former Employee), Seymour CTJuly 17, 2014
Good first job for high school students. Flexible hours available. The ability to advance is great. Employees are of many different ages, races, backgrounds so you can learn a lot about diversity. The most difficult part of working at Stop & Shop are rude and/or angry customers. Sometimes they can really get inappropriate. All in all, besides working – more... most weekends and holidays, it was a great first job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in having a lot of communication with customers
Cashier (Former Employee), Allston, MAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: learning to have better patience and communication skills
Cons: compensation is below minimum wage
A typical day at work would begin with a smile for me. You would begin the day with signing in, look at the schedual for the week and for the schedual day you would look at what you will be doing. Example: For me it would be Cashier or Bagging for the day.
I learned that if you have fun with your job and keep a good additude through out the day you – more... can actually make it through the day even when your tired. I feel that in a work site such as Stop & Shop Management may not introduce themselves to you. However, I find it best to approach them and introduce yourself and where you will be stationed at so that they are confortable with you, so that when you do greet them again they may look at that as taking anishitive. Make new friends and keep conversation friendly when it comes to co-workers you never know when you may need thier help. The hardest part of a job is staying awake and healthy, especially if you have young children. I find that the most enjoyable part of the job for me was the smile on a customers face when I would make jokes about my mistakes in the begining when I was first learning to remmember the codes for produce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Malden, MAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: customers happiness
Cons: long stands
Working at Stop and Shop at the age of 16, I didn't know what to expect. When I first started I knew nothing of the register.It taught me many skills that are useful for future jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very good place to work. I had recomendations from customers.
Floater (Former Employee), West Hempstead, NYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: good job skills and good workers.
Cons: i had to leave when i moved to oklahoma.
I had good customer and job skills. I had a lot of responsibilities there. It was good to be covered medically there. I got along with everyone there.I miss them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with people and customer service and working with credit cards machine and lottery
Cashier (Former Employee), Del Norte, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: no breaks no lunch
be on time and reliable get along with people make food make coffee cleaned make shure everything was clean and ready for opening got along good with co workers hardest was lunch time school kids would go in and enjoyable was closing time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Mount Vernon, NYJuly 8, 2014
Pros: it was quite rewarding to complete my deliveries and get back on time.
Cons: learning different locations when the gps wouldn, t give the exact address.
I learned how to inspect trucks and load them before leaving the supermarket,i learned the various trucks routes and dealing with customers, the hard part was learning the different truck routes,the most enjoyable part of the job was finishing my deliveries and getting back to the supermarket before or on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
File Maintenance Clerk
File Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee), North Providence, RIJuly 8, 2014
I apply the daily prices changes and make sales signs for displays. I engage the customers making their shopping experience easy and stress free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my favorite
Supervisor (Former Employee), Allston, MAJuly 5, 2014
good starter job, it helped get me ready for the world.

the hours are crazy long but the people you I met over the years are friends for life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and always learning new things
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), West Babylon, NYJuly 2, 2014
the co-workers are very friendly, the pharmacist teach a lot and very good and very friendly also. the most enjoyable things to speak to costumer and laughing with them.as they wave and say hello even though the are picking up there prescriptions. the hardest part is trying to do every thing at once and don't make mistakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job with weird hours
FRONT END BOOK KEEPER (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJJuly 2, 2014
typical grocery store that required you to work odd hours at any time of the day and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and great learning experiences
Cashier (Former Employee), Peabody, MAJune 29, 2014
everyday i got to work with lovely people and learn how to deal with stressful situations. Learning how to use the registers and all the other computer things was amazing cause I knew it would benefit me in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Islandia, NYJune 28, 2014
Working at Stop & Shop is a good job for students. They were always able to accommodate me with my school schedule. The hours were decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery Driver for PeaPod/Loader
Delivery driver (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJune 28, 2014
Pros: tips and people you meet.
Cons: physically demanding job
Delivering groceries to customers and businesses. I also worked as a dock working loading and unloading the trucks. I really enjoyed this job, the pay wasn't that great, however the tips made up for that. The management and staff were pretty awesome. I met a lot of interesting people. The hardest part of the job I would say was working on the dock loading – more... and unloading the trucks. Some routes required to deliver several hundred dollars of groceries to several floors without elevators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical "starter job" with some advancement opportunities
General Merchandise Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee), Granby, CTJune 27, 2014
Pros: flexibility, variance of duties
Cons: long hours, always on your feet
Work at Stop and Shop was almost exactly as you would expect it to be. Depending upon which department you worked in, duties varied tremendously. My first position was as a cashier/bagger. This consisted of mainly attending to customers and working quickly to keep everybody happy. I was then promoted to the Customer Service desk. This job entailed many – more... more duties including addressing customer complaints, selling lottery tickets and cigarettes, performing Western Union money transfers, balancing money, taking returns/exchanges, etc. Finally, I was promoted to the HBC/GM department where we were in charge of the health and beauty care aisles as well as general merchandise and seasonal items. This job required us to set up end cap displays, order and track product, and to maintain cleanliness and sale/price tags which changed weekly. The hardest part of working at Stop and Shop was that you were always on your feet. It is definitely a physically demanding job. Also, seeing as it is a very busy grocery store you are always in the eye of the public. There is not exactly a desk or back room you can sneak away to when you really need to get things done without interruption. I really grew a lot at stop and shop while learning to be confident and responsible. Hard work pays off here, and it is a great feeling to be rewarded by the management! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and accommodating environment
BARISTA (Former Employee), Harwich, MAJune 26, 2014
Pros: a consistent customer base and flexible hours
Cons: i was under 18, therefore there were a lot of restrictions
Most every day I worked the coffee bar.
I learned how to make a schedule and how to live around it.
I covered shifts in other parts of the grocery store and the guest service desk where I learned a lot about how to interact with people in a professional setting.

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos