Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,034 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, not enough hours per week
GM Associate (Current Employee), South Attleboro, MAFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: paid breaks, taken whenever
Cons: not enough hours
The job itself if pretty simple. I enjoy interacting with the customers and my co-workers; they make working fun. However, working with 15 hours a week isn't ideal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Customers and Associates
Associate (Current Employee), Putnam, CTFebruary 21, 2015
Stock shelves, interact with customers and associates to assist customers and help managers with other projects within the store.

Enjoy helping the customers. Co-workers are friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its productive and a safe place
Seafood & Meat clerk (Former Employee), Lyndhurst, NJFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: unioun
Cons: short breaks
i clean work with employes and customers i break down pallets of food for the departments i learned how to use the machines and how to put diffrent items out for sale. im very easy to get along with i like to bring postive energy to the work place and treat my employees with politeness. most enjoybable part of the job is a job well done on my own behalf.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for the temporary future.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tarrytown, NYFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: convenience, willingness to work around schedule
Cons: low pay, sub-par benefits.
This job is well suited for those who attend school full-time or engage in a vocational program. The union benefits were very useful and in the best interest of the employee when I began working there, but over time they began to decrease noticeably.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work very easy going with a lot of friendly people
produce clerk (Current Employee), Raynham MAFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: friendly people good work environment
Cons: short breaks a lot of things that need to be done in such a short time
A typical day at work would be me going out on the produce floor and making a list of the items that need to be restocked after that i would go in the back room and depending on what needs to be done i might cut fruit for the fruit bar or clean the back room. my co workers are the best ones ive ever had at a job a lot of friendly people. The most enjoyable part of my job would be helping customers find what they need and the hardest part would be trying not to clean everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Excellent Customer Service (Former Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 17, 2015
Pros: benefits
Cons: short breaks, less hours
i had to ring customers groceries up as well as bag them, conversate with the customer. Although the customer may have miss read something customers are always right. My co workers were helpful and the most enjoyable part about the job is helping people get the discounts they deserved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday life in the deli.
Deli Server (Current Employee), Naugatuck, CTFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: great associates.
Cons: very poor management
Day starts off with me taking the chickens out making sure the hole prepared foods department is taken care of, help the deli as often as possible, as well as the customers who are in need to help only i can provide. Clean off my hole department making sure everything is ready and set to go the next day and take my leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy place to work
Head Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Milford, MAFebruary 16, 2015
On a typical day at work i would supervise other cashiers, cash out customers, balance my drawer at the end of the day, and resolve customer complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, Very professional dependable staff members.
Cashier (Current Employee), Hartford, CTFebruary 15, 2015
Working with customers daily. doing accounts in the cash office. greeting and helping customers on the floor. Very friendly staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its been good as a first job
Stocking Clerk (Current Employee), Stamford, CTFebruary 15, 2015
a typical day as a stock clerk is easy
management could be better
the hardest part of the job is to get at night
a typical day as a stock clerk is easy
management could be better
the hardest part of the job is to get at night
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not happy working there
Cashier (Current Employee), East Longmeadow, MAFebruary 14, 2015
I am not happy working there because of the hours they give me and the payment is bad. On the positive side, they are good people and are good to me. The customers there are good except for some but that is expected. You cannot make every person happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a grocery store was a new and fun learning experience for me.
Deli Associate (Current Employee), Lyndhurst, NJFebruary 13, 2015
Definitely a great job for kids coming out of high school and people who are retired looking to make a couple dollars. It's not a job too make a career out of that's for sure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Hyannis, MAFebruary 13, 2015
Management is terrible, working conditions are dirty and the floor is constantly understaffed. The only redemption is the wonderful co-workers I had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair supermarket
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Butler, NJFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: schedule weekly, co workers are fun
Cons: relocation for training
Stop & shop pays above most supermarkets. The promotions to full time do occur. The relocation in promotion is sometimes the con of the situation. Some stores are further than others. The health benefits for ft are decent, part time not as much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok to work for
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Chelmsford, MAFebruary 11, 2015
Help customers, slice cold cuts, clean your area, sanitize machines, stock shelves, wash dishes, first in first out on all food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Grocery Staff/Cashier (Current Employee), Southbury, CTFebruary 9, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Didnt allow advancement in the work place
Didnt give enough hours
no good manangement
some workers were childish
managers sucked
bad company
very bad company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Fast paced environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYFebruary 6, 2015
- Managers are all friendly and helpful
- Work day consisted of helping customers
- Would need to do price checks once in a while, but nothing overwhelming
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Cashier (Former Employee), Dartmouth, MAFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: energetic and friendly working environment, flexible scheduling, benefits
Stop & Shop provides a great working environment, whether you are seeking an entry-level position or a leadership role. Scheduling is flexible, especially for students. Advancement opportunities abound for those who are hardworking and dedicated. Management and coworkers are good people overall. Benefits are available even to part-time employees. I've had other jobs in retail and customer service and none of them could ever compare. A very positive experience overall!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee), Piscataway, NJFebruary 4, 2015
Pros: free food, fun environment
Cons: n/a
Was a fun place to work at. A typical day at work would be just coming into work and seeing all the kids happy and ready for their daily activities. I learned a lot while working at Big Hugs from taking care of little infants to toddlers, to managing activities and teaching important things to the kids. The co-workers were friendly and genuine. The hardest part of the job was just leaving the kids because i enjoyed spending a lot of time with them and just playing with them in their own element.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a very fun and exciting job opportunity
Deli Associate (Former Employee), Dedham, MAFebruary 3, 2015
this job has a very unique work environment it is fun and exciting to work at stop and shop. I learned how to interact with customers and work with exciting co-workers.

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Salaries

Cashier
$8.50 per hour
Deli Associate
$8.55 per hour
Cashier/Customer Service
$8.55 per hour
Cashier
$12,000 per year
Produce Clerk
$9.00 per hour

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos

WORK IS LIKE A DREAM COME TRUE
WORK WAS LIKE A DREAM COME TRUE
Great place to work and make new friends