Stop and Shop Supermarket Employee Reviews

Found 2,365 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Dairy Manager (Former Employee) –  Brick town newjerseyJune 20, 2017
Like a family after they took over foodtown they kept all the full timers I was very grateful as I had a growing family to care for with 3 in school and a daughter getting married at the time of the take over it was very smooth for us stop and shop did ok by me and my family
Pros
Care about employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job to have.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Somers, NYJune 19, 2017
Stop and Shop was an excellent job to have. Management was super understanding and constantly recognized you. The workplace was always clean and an comfortable environment. I learned how to persevere during hard times while working with customers and I also learned how to multitask on a whole new level. There wasn't really a hard part about this job, but If I can think of one, it would be trying to keep up the pace of keeping the customers satisfied. I was assigned to register, so my job was bagging and scanning things into the register, and at a grocery store, people have a lot of things they bring up to the register. So scanning and bagging by myself was a little hard but I overcame the struggle.
Pros
Management is GREAT!, Friendly Co-workers, Breaks are ALWAYS given.
Cons
can get fast paced when store gets busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but people can be rude time to time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 19, 2017
See they started off good then they drop my hours and my days so I couldn't work at a store that couldn't help me provide for my sick mom who needs help so I wanna new job
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not enough time on break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Seymour, CTJune 19, 2017
Work your deptartment 8 hours a day
Management voice problems wouldnt offer solutions to problems

Workplace decent but management made working at Stop and Shop very stressful

They dont really care about employee just bottom line
Pros
none
Cons
Health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
went to college
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brookline, MAJune 19, 2017
I had to stop working here because I had to go back to school was a nice job just had to go for school that's it nothing more nothing less great first job
Pros
money
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here
I do not wish to say (Former Employee) –  Quincy, MAJune 19, 2017
I loved my position at Stop & Shop although at the time the workplace culture was difficult at best based on several people within the department. I would return there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work hard you should succed
Health and Beauty Associate (Current Employee) –  Norwich, CTJune 18, 2017
I have been working in the same position for 20 years and the day to day procedures have not changed much. The company at times changes how they want things done and what they expect from you but at this time there has been no drastic changes. If you work hard and complete your tasks the job is enjoyable.
Pros
Guaranteed minimum hours of work per week
Cons
Management can be unhelpful in getting you information need at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJune 18, 2017
Well it was very unorganized there. Management and everything. Like the store wasnt really making sales. We ahd to do extra work for no reason. It was annoying. They only had one closing cashier every night for atleast and 1 hour or 2. Nobody would be working at selfscan at all. It was a mess. Then because of everyone that kept quitting they wanted me to work beyond my availbility and i just wasnt having it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop and Shop is a good place to work at
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Levittown, NYJune 16, 2017
A typical day at work for me is punching in,going into customer service or going on register for 4-6 hours of my day sometimes I open the store which is at 6 am or sometimes I close which is at 12 am. I learned how to count money and how to speak to people better. The management is nice sometimes other than that it depends on the day. The customers are the hardest part of the job but sometimes even self checkout is hardest because people don't know what they are doing... The most enjoyable part of the job is creating a bond with all my co-workers because we work as a family!
Pros
I get a discount, This job made me more outgoing and increased my verbal skills
Cons
The customers, When the employees are having a bad day I have a bad day, also I have been there for 3+ years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment, great management, awesome coworkers.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  South Boston, MAJune 16, 2017
friendly work environment, great management, awesome coworkers. Flexible working hours, great benefits. Great starting wage. Overall great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meat
Meat clerk (Former Employee) –  Levittown, NYJune 14, 2017
Packed out meat, fresh and frozen. Cleaned meat dept after end of day and sanitized. Leveled cases and organized backroom stock. Decent job, no real complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Revere, MAJune 14, 2017
Everything about working there sucked. Management was terrible, the job wasn't even a job. They made the workers do all the work while they sat in air conditioned offices being buddy buddy all day. They mistreated employees and suspended people just to cut back on budgeting money. Only cared about lining their pockets with more money than about the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, NJJune 14, 2017
my time there was amazing everyone was hard working and made me feel part of a team management always made sure we all were taken care of everyday and cared about us
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, organized company great wages.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cranston, RIJune 13, 2017
Great company to work for, many benefits 401k,Union. Coworkers are friendly and flexible hours such great and helpful people. The company taught me a lot on how to carry myself in the work force and also how to be creative. I worked in the fruit part of the store and was an awesome experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
CASHIER/CLERK (Former Employee) –  West Haverstraw, NYJune 13, 2017
During typical days I help customers look for what need needed decorated cakes and did my job right. i learned to decorate cakes and satisfy customers. Place was okay for the most part. The hardest part of my job was lifting up heavy and cold boxes but I got the job done. I enjoyed decorating cakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Food Service Clerk / Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chicopee, MA 01020June 13, 2017
I continue to work here because I need the money other than that I really have no desire to continue to come to work day in and day out. Currently looking for a better job that interests me.
Pros
none
Cons
short breaks, no free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure job with opportunities for advancement
File Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee) –  Raynham, MAJune 13, 2017
Stop n Shop provides the security, benefits, and opportunity for advancement. Many people stay with the company for life. Over the years, the company has undergone many changes and not all of them beneficial to the employees. High stress depending on what position.
Pros
Healthcare benefits, vacations, advancement
Cons
Not enough hours with a full workload, pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight, Tidy and Organized
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Seaford, NYJune 13, 2017
My job is to pack out fruits and vegetables in their designated areas, as well as remove any produce that is in invalid condition or expired. I help customers pick out the fruits they need. I organize the shelving of the produce based on the passing seasons.
Cons
Short Breaks, Health Care, Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends of the location and environment
Cart Attendant (Former Employee) –  Shelton, CTJune 13, 2017
depends on where u are working for the places i worked for didn't do much to help their staff nor did anyone else.. management was not good neither i looked how to slack off at a job and got paid for it..no thanks
Pros
discount on food
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collect all my pieces and put them on them on the shelf neatly
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Cross county mallJune 13, 2017
Most of my work I maintained my isle kept it neat at all times and when I work fast i would help other with there isle.staff was ok and the Management was ok.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stop and Shop Supermarket. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,376 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

71%
623 ratings
Add your rating