Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
826 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they always give some one an opportunity
Meat Clerk (Current Employee), Madison, NJJune 25, 2014
Pros: local 464
Cons: unfair pay scale for the good workers
Greet everyone then its right to work. My job is to make sure new & old inventory is scanned in to C.A.O. Stock & rotate product while I maintain excellent customer service, proper presentation, & a safe work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun workplace all around
Cashier assisting customers (Former Employee), Hingham, MAJune 25, 2014
Pros: raise every year
Cons: short breaks
Great environment for a work place. The customers do get edgy sometimes but that's why you have to keep a smile on your face and hey will too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier & Bagger (Former Employee), Islandia, NYJune 20, 2014
I learned how to use a register. my co-workers were very nice. I loved working with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive envronment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Hartford, CTJune 20, 2014
I learned many things working at Stop and Shop. For example, I learned how to interact with people better. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
S&S
Dairy Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee), Warwick, RIJune 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: inconsistent hours
From my couple years of working here, I have learned various skills that I can apply to a future job. The experience of interacting and communicating with people that is considerate and helpful can benefit me down the line. At this job I learn how to work under management and develop good relationships with my associates. Management and co workers are – more... easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is to keep up with the pressure of retail. Everyone is happy when maximum product is on the shelf. I enjoy building relationships with my co workers and customers the most. Customers choose to shop at S&S and my job to make their experience easy and enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced environment with friendly customer service
Cashier/Bagger (Former Employee), Willimantic, CTJune 19, 2014
A typical day consists of operating the register, bagging groceries, collecting the necessary supplies to carry out the functions of the job. During this employment I have gained a great deal of experience working with people, communicating with management, and mufti-tasking. It was truly enjoyable being able to serve the customers whom I would see – more... in the community as well and build relationships with them as they would come in frequently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Cashier/Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYJune 17, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short breaks
*A typical day at work was moderate

*I learned how to work better as a team

*Management was satisfactory

*There wasn't a hard part about the job

*I enjoyed my hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start working
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Newburgh, NYJune 16, 2014
Cons: terrible management team
To work as a cashier in any grocery store is really just a starters job. You learn a small part of customer service, how people change when they're spending their money and will argue over the smallest discount of a coupon. Everyone has a struggle in the economy these days but young employees who work behind a cash register are treated so disrespectfully – more... by customers and management never supports them because " the customer is always right". I extremely disagree with that saying, I'm a customer too and I know I am not always right. Cashier positions are easy tasks but never respected. Having to put up with an angry, tired and hungry single mother with three children is never a nice day. We try our best but always get the sour end. Either way, its a job and its a good place to start to get a taste of the work force. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Midshift to night time baker
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Hyde Park, NYJune 15, 2014
Pros: knowing new designs, great people to work with, creativity is a must
Cons: no real chance of full time and impossible to go over 29 hours a week.
Do customer cake orders for customers while helping on the sales floor. Baking breads and products throughout the day. Then I would make sure things are up to date and nothing is out of code. I then would be alone after 3pm when more of the morning cake decorators would leave for the day. I would be alone to do 10 different types of baking items from – more... breads, rolls, pastries, donuts, muffins, and bagels for the morning crew to put in the oven. I would then spend an hour and a half to clean the whole department by cleaning counters, floors, tips, refilling frosting bags, clean dishes and dishwasher, drains and outside ovens. I would disinfect all cutting boards and sanitize them. I would break down all the baked goods that didn't sell in the self- serve case to be put back on the sales floor the next day or reduced. I would refill supplies and clean the self serve class and class outside of department holding our cake displays. I enjoy the customer cakes and learning new decorations. Management takes time to know their employees and would help you anyway they can in scheduling or needing days off. My co-workers are helpful, passionate, fun to work with and reliable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok but not the best place to work.
Produce (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTJune 14, 2014
Pros: 5% discount for employees
Cons: too many favoratism. the raise that you receive yearly is nothing. if you can be a snitch, the management would love you.
Team work is very important in a work place. If there is no cooperation, nothing would be done right of course. I have been working there for a long time and at one point, it used to be a fun place to work but now days, it is not the same anymore. To me, how a company is growing is base first on the type of management that you have. If you get the respect – more... that you deserve, everything should flow properly. Of course, every department is different. The only way for advancement is flattering and do anything the management ask you to do rather it is unethical or not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable workplace
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Hempstead, NYJune 14, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: hours
I liked this job because the hours were very flexible and they understood family life without any issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, and management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Township of Howell, NJJune 12, 2014
Pros: work environment
Cons: no room for advancement
When I first started I was strictly a cashier, but as time went on, I went to grocery clerk, customer service, and then to receiver. I think receiver was a fun position because I had never done that part of the job before and it helped me further in my retail career.

Scanning in vendors and customer service was definitely the best learning experience – more... for me. With customer service, being I had never dealt with customer returns before then, it was a lot of fun learning how to handle a customer return.

The management team was great to work with. They were very hands on, which I like because it kind of makes them one of the workers. They were also very helpful in answering any questions I may have had.

The people who I worked with were a lot of fun to be around. They made work fun and they were very helpful when I went to a different department.

I feel the hardest part of the job here also, was going to a different department, but again, I learned quickly and felt I was very successful in each department.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the people, from associates to management because they helped me grow within the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here over summers
Cashier (Former Employee), Ronkonkoma, NYJune 12, 2014
Not a bad summer job while in college. Very easy job, and great way to make money over the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stock
Stock and Cashier (Former Employee), Providence, RIJune 12, 2014
very unstable management low pay,no room for growth its a good job for a high school kid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Brookline, MAJune 11, 2014
It is a supermarket. Not much to be expected from a supermarket. Good for a job, when a job is necessary, or to gain experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent job
Cashier, East Boston Post Road (Former Employee), New Rochelle, NYJune 11, 2014
a typical day at work is meeting all the customers expectations. what I have learned throughout the process is that no matter how a day is going good or bad, customers always comes first. the management team is very friendly, and helpful at the same time. they promote excellence and high standards for all employees. co workers are great as well. hardest – more... part of the job is fulfilling a customers needs and wants while also managing different personalities . most enjoyable part is getting paid accordingly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to meet people
Cashier/Shipping and Receiver (Current Employee), Oceanside, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: points off of your purchase
Cons: short breaks
Greet customers exchange currency and get the customer out of the store in a nice short period of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cashier/Stock person (Former Employee), Hamden, CTJune 10, 2014
i enjoyed wiring with different people and working in the form of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job opportunities
Registered Pharmacist (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJune 10, 2014
An excellent place to work with a lot of opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on individual management
Universal Clerk (Current Employee), Winsted, CTJune 10, 2014
Pros: 5% employee discount
Cons: short breaks, random schedule, terrible union representation
Typically fast paced, lots of people some good some bad.
I've learned how to do a little bit of everything there because I applied myself and pushed to learn more.
Management is ok once they settle into the store.
Coworkers were fine most of the time, though I wish Hiring was a bit more selective at times.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with rude – more... and disrespectful customers who felt the rules didn't apply to them or that they were entitled to free stuff even without the coupons.
The most enjoyable parts are usually the customer after the bad ones who helped cheer me back up. – less

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos