Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
672 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I had stayed
Cashier (Former Employee), Branford, CTJanuary 14, 2014
It was a great place to work but there was alot of favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and first start
Front End Clerk (Current Employee), 290 turnpike rd westborough maJanuary 14, 2014
Stop and shop was a great place to learn about customer service as well as teach new workers responsibility. The staff is all like one big family and it is truly a great experience to work there. I thank the company and its associates for making me a better employee and teaching me the joys hard work can have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun paced
Deli Worker (Former Employee), Revere, MAJanuary 12, 2014
the customers were very nice and the staff were on point with there things that they needed to know
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical part time job
CLERK (Current Employee), Seekonk, MAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: union pay, holidays
Cons: everything else.
I've been working at Stop and Shop for the past 3 years, and I have lots to say about it. This is the type of job you work if you're a poor college student and need some cash. The benefits are nice, but lacking. However, it truly comes down to the management and full time employees. None of the full time employees (the ones in the Purple Shirts) actually – more... want to be there, save for a few. I mean, how time consuming is it to stand there and do your job? They seem so disinterested and so not there all the time. And they really don't care about any other people who work there other than the co-workers that they are friendly with. The part timers are the same way, and their work behavior is atrocious. They come in from their breaks smelling with marijuana and/or with liquor on their breath. The store managers and GMs don't seem to even care about that, or any other thing with the store other than their end of year bonus. They play favorites with all the full time and part time employees and leave the others out to dry and under the bus when they have to interact with them. If your a favorite, you can pretty much do whatever you want; if your not, even being a minute late gets you written up and your hours severely cut. They'll hold paychecks, slash hours from about 20-25 hours a week to under 5, won't pay you holiday pay or even give your breaks. But if your a favorite, you get the star treatment. Being a favorite at Stop and Shop means that you can brush their ego the right way, and are also an attractive person to have in the store. Stop and Shop is truly a sore in the job industry. If you want to make some extra cash, go ahead, but be prepared for the worst working environment in your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Associates and fun place to work at
CASHIER (Current Employee), Putnam, CTJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: healthcare, hours
At Stop and Shop Company i learned a lot of valuable customer service skills and computer skills. i know how to process a check, WIC checks, credit and debit cards. the hardest part of the job is dealing with rude and demanding customers. the most enjoyable part of the job is being around my friendly coworkers. it is like a family at Stop and Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Employees
Barista (Former Employee), Somers, NYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: limited benefits for pt workers
Co-Workers and other employees very nice
Learned how to make different drinks and be social with customers
Most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet other people
Hardest part of the job was learning and remembering new drinks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect job for an high school student
Cashier (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJanuary 9, 2014
-dealing with customers every minute
-how to count money fast
-managers were excellent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaced work place
Cash Office Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 9, 2014
Manage all aspects of Cash office and customer service desk. Assuring employees adhere to policy and procedures as well as provide excellent customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with exceptional employees. A lot to learn and opportunities to grow and move up.
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, holiday pay(major/minor), flexible
Cons: no parking, low pay, part-time(under 30hrs)
Typical work day can move pretty fast for the position I currently hold. I've learned a great deal about retail and I continue to everyday. I'm very thankful. The management is very good and always available when needed. The fact that there are different levels of Man/(including that in the same position) makes it easier the most jobs. My co-workers – more... are all different and with that said a wonderful family was still able to bloom amongst us all. There is no real hard part to my current job or in my opinion any job. I tend to learn fast and grasp what is taught to me with ease. I love working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive atmosphere to work in.
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Walpole, MAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: fast paced, productive atmosphere to work in.
Cons: hours available are part-time only.
Fast paced, productive atmosphere to work in. Hours available are part-time only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Seafood Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Wethersfield, CTJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: i love staying busy and there never was any down time there was always something to do.
Cons: i only worked part time and i wanted to be a full time worker.
The best part at working at stop and shop was helping people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me always busy. No day was the same.
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Pittsfield, MAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: 5% off any thing you bought
Cons: health benifits
Responsible for supervising staff and monitoring shift attendance, punctuality, and breaks.
Responsible for balancing cash registers and documenting for audits.
Responsible for creating weekly staffing schedules.
Manage currency transfers and monitor for fraud.
Implemented the companies “no hassle policy” while providing great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Arverne, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: convenient location
Cons: short breaks
assisting customers with there purchases making sure they found everything they needed and are out the store fast and happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Cashier Clerk (Former Employee), Westerly, RIJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: paid break/co-workers
Cons: everything else
I worked there while I was pregnant and I could not have been treated any worse by my manager. She harassed me every day for not doing my job right, for going to the bathroom too often at 9 months and told me to retrieve a doctors' note, yelled at me for having to go to the hospital, and fired me because I had to be written out of work for giving childbirth. – more... Wasn't given my minimum 15 hours a week, ended up only taking 2 dollars home one week because of union dues. My co-workers were pleasant to work with though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 5, 2014
I learned how to operate a cash register. My co-works and I always worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you can put up with the costomers
DELI CLERK (Former Employee), Revere, MAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: the managers are usually nice and respectful
Cons: paying money to the union, so managers are usually nice and respectful.
The worst thing about this job was the costomers not the company. Everybody dosen't like their job, everybody wants to make more money so I don't judge companies by this. When I was working here the manager treated my great. I hated working at the deli but I liked who I was working for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop and Shop...
Asset Protection Store Detective (Current Employee), Willimantic, CTJanuary 4, 2014
In this current position there is no room for advancement other than store management. Pay is low, bosses are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic job, basic treatment
Cashier and Clerk (Former Employee), CTJanuary 3, 2014
The job at stop and shop is the same as any store, serving customers, but the management treats you poorly and without any respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for anyone who wants to have a social life
Deli and Prepared foods Clerk (Current Employee), somewhere.January 1, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: short breaks, lack of communication
My department has the highest turnover rate. People are constantly calling out and not showing up for work. For the amount of pay you get, they have ridiculous standards that they keep changing and then reprimanding you for because you can't keep up with the standards. My hours were stripped so I cannot keep my health insurance, yet I was called in – more... early and told to stay late daily or called in on my days off. They are not the first to praise you but they are the first to tell you that you did something wrong.
The pros about the job is that you become very close with your coworkers to become as efficient as possible. My crew of coworkers were all on the same page and had a system of helping each other out. My direct managers in the department were great and understanding. I cannot say the same for upper management but that is because they do not pay attention to what is going on daily in the departments besides sales and making sure inspections are passed.
Its a great starter job but it is not a job for anyone who is not willing to become management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Wyoming, RIDecember 29, 2013
Pros: 5% discount with card
Cons: n/a
ran register, learned alot from management, decent hours, management was very nice and understanding. hardest part of the job was bringing in the carts and the most enjoyable part was working with the public.

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos