Find companies:
Stop and Shop Supermarket
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
893 reviews

Stop and Shop Supermarket Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people work well together.
grocery clerk (Current Employee), Southbury, CTSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: shedule flexibility
Cons: no health care for part timers
I come in and usually I do the same things on a regular basic and I can do them without much management supervision or support. Management can be accommodating with schedules. My coworkers are friendly and helpful. Time constraints are sometime hard to reach with working quickly and hardly have time to take a break. I like helping the customers is the – more... most enjoyable part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Overnight Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Amityville, NYAugust 31, 2014
Basically stocked the store, pulled truck every night. Management was easy to talk to. Worked and got along with all the co workers. Enjoyed the labor of the job and challenge but no way to move up in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and serious work place
Cashier, Bagger, & General merchandise clerk (Former Employee), Worcester, MAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: the store discount on food bought by employee
Cons: low wage
A typical day at work involved pricing and putting up store items, and going up front to help out as a cashier when the store became busy.Also, I personally loved my co-workers. However, the hardest part of this Job was interacting with the numerous customers, especially those that were not polite. The most enjoyable part of my Job was interacting and – more... becoming friends with my co-workers and some of the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Mansfield, MAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: did not like job
worked with customers on daily basis, enjoyed working with the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Supervisor
Cashier Front End (Former Employee), Bay Shore, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: i became supervisor
Cons: all by myself
Again started as a cashier and advanced to Supervisor I enjoyed working with the public get them taking care of fast and timely fashion .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like any job, a mix of good and bad.. but mostly good
Bake Shop clerk (Former Employee), Middletown, RIAugust 26, 2014
Pros: depending on your department and their needs you may be able to get a set schedule, fun co workers, great work enviromnent
Cons: 3 year wait for health insurance (part time), 1 year wait (full time), but this may have changed since.
Please keep in mind that when I worked here I was a part time employee. I had to wait 3 years for benefits, which was fine for me because I had them through my husbands employer. If not, there would have been no way I could have waited so long. Also, the wait for full time is extremely long, but if you're able to work 2 jobs, or you're married and only – more... need a part time income while you wait, this is a perfect job. Management all depends on the store you work in. I worked in 708 and they had great managers, both store managers and department managers. I got lucky with department managers especially, the first department manager I had taught me everything I needed to know about baking which helped me land a better job 10 years later and the second department manager who came in after a transfer was just as awesome, I had a set schedule, so could have worked a second job if needed. Not everyone is so lucky though, but if you can make it and get full time its definitely worth the wait. The benefits are excellent, I'm not sure if this is still the case but when I worked there your benefits were 100% company paid, I went out on medical leave and they told me they could hold my position for a full year, most jobs you're lucky to get 3 months. I was able to keep my health insurance for 6 months as well, so for that 6 months I had 2 health insurances, which saved me a fortune in co-pays. I've heard of people on medical leave from other places that their bosses called them constantly asking when they were coming back. They didn't do that here, which saved me so much stress.. I checked in every few months and received a call after a year from one of the store managers saying she was sorry but they had to terminate my employment because it had been a year, but she would rehire me when I was ready to come back.
the job itself was a fun job, bake shop always is. I worked with a great group of people, there was always plenty to do to pass the time and the days flew by. I would go back there in a heartbeat if I was able to get full time right away. I really can't say anything bad about the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very enjoyable
Clerk (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 26, 2014
boring place plus very long for pay advancement
same procedure people in higher places do what they want
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting place to work
Deli assistant (Former Employee), Eastchester, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: discounts on groceries
Cons: low pay, barley any benifits
Cleaning, cooking and waiting on customers.
Learned patience and persistence
Management was strict yet friendly. they were also accommodating.
co workers were friendly bu often goofed off.
Hardest part was co workers who did not work.
Most enjoyable were customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job that made me use my Customer Service Skills
Cashier/Self-Checkout Associate (Former Employee), West Haven, CTAugust 21, 2014
Fun working with others to get tasks done. Gave me more responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enlightening
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 21, 2014
this job gave me the opportunity to converse with people from all over the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much drama
Customer Service (Former Employee), Sayville, NYAugust 20, 2014
Pros: decent hours, easy tasks
Cons: immature employees, minimum wage, drama
Working the register is stressful enough with dealing with customers making everyone happy and handling cash. But the employees were not very mature and often cause internal drama. There was no really hard part at stop and shop but be prepared to often cover a lot of other peoples shifts. the most enjoyable part was meeting many people that came through – more... your cashier lines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stop and shop
Meat Clerk, Meat Department (Former Employee), Inwood, NYAugust 16, 2014
a typical day at work was checking the dates of items in the case and taking anything out of dat out the case and making down things that were soon to go out of date. i learned a lot about how the department was rain and different meats and how they are to be cut and wrapped. my co workers were great only people that weren't were the department manager – more... was always being changed and sometimes a little unfair about the amount and how heavy some products were for me to push or lift. most enjoyable part of the job was my co workers and just doing the job well and having returning customers that knew you would do there order right and be happy that you assisted them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Amesbury, MAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, and going home
Cons: management was unpleasant never helpful, not long enough breaks, scheduling wasnt always the way you wanted, they pay sucks too
I would come in for my shift provide customer service and would finish my shift and go home. Management was useless I had many fallouts with a team leader and nothing was done about it, the front end manager at that point black flagged and no longer can apply at stop and shop the manager has since moved on to another location. Co workers are fun and – more... easy to get along with. Hardest part was the dealing with unpleasant customers but that's the job you get past it and work it out. Going home was the best after a long day. I was there for just about a year and the pay wasn't worth it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours Suck but People were great
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Plainville, MAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: people i worked with were great!
Cons: no advancement, no real hours. working 6 days a week
Don't get trained very well. Hours SUCK. Pay is what you would think you would get. No advancement pretty much ever
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greet customers with a friendly polite smile, slice their products, and maintain cleanliness of the work area
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), West Babylon, NYAugust 13, 2014
greet customers with a friendly polite smile, slice their products, and maintain cleanliness of the work area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Grocery (Current Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 13, 2014
Pros: flexible, pay check
Cons: lack of hours, and some management
A typical day at work is usually fun, stressful, and aggravating. You have trust your work, and bust tail for extra hours. Management can be good at times, but some management only look out for them. The co-workers are fun to work with, and you could learn a lot from them. I would have to say the hardest part of this job is consistent hours. You get – more... hours based on the pace of the business. Some customers can make your day and others are rude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment with very nice co-workers
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Mounds, ILAugust 12, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: the boss didn't really communicate well, having to stand the whole time
A typical day at work was very nice, I learned how to deal with customers and work close wit other people. The managers were very friendly and communicated well. I got along well with the co-workers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with rude and disrespectful customers, but it was a learning experience. I really enjoyed being able to interact – more... with the customer and being able to be a help to people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief review of my experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, CTAugust 12, 2014
I worked the front end so I had to give good customer service. I was the first and last person they saw and I tried to make sure they left with a smile on their face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard grocery Store
Substitute Instructional Assistant Preschool (Former Employee), Danielson, CTAugust 12, 2014
Management changed pretty often but remained consistent with rules and benefits. I was either on a register cashing people out or assisting people in finding things in the store or working in the floral department. The most enjoyable part was making arrangements in the floral department for special occasions. The hardest part of the job was when there – more... would be huge lines and you had to ring out a number of people in a short amount of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience...
Cashier/Self-Checkout Attendant (Former Employee), Stoughton, MAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: friendly customers; very little lay-offs; weekly pay;
Cons: schedule mix-ups; no hours; no organization; no communication;
A typical day at work, for me was being either a cashier or self-checkout attendant. All requiring transactions and customer service.

There wasn't much to learn working here, the job was pretty basic.

Management with absolute honesty was terrible. They would harass you if you declined to work another employees shift, they would change the schedule – more... without you knowing, and then write you up for missing the unknown shift. When I needed to change my schedule for educational purposes, they continued to schedule me during my unavailable hours.The law requires them to give you at least 15 hours per week and they consistently gave me 5-10 (before I even asked for time off for school). Forcing me to look for another job. There were never any chances to advance and move up in the job after I made self-checkout.

As I've stated in previous reviews, I can get along with anyone, however between other coworkers there was always some sort of petty drama.

The hardest part of the job, was the disorganization, not knowing when you were working until last second,and the shortage of hours.

The most enjoyable part of the job, kind and friendly customers and coworkers. – less

About Stop and Shop Supermarket

Stop & Shop operates over 375 stores throughout 7 states including: Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, – Read more

Stop and Shop Supermarket Photos