Find companies:
Strack & Van Til
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Strack & Van Til Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foot in the door
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Munster, INOctober 13, 2013
Pros: friendly coworkers, engaging tasks
Cons: few benefits, less than average wage, heavy workload
Stacks gave me the opportunity to gain new skills and experience when no other company would. I learned many skills required to work in a fast paced office environment and was able to apply many skills I gained from college, such as Microsoft Office, and expand on them. However, with their ever growing company, they have a tendency to neglect all the – more... areas of their business that require growth and advancement. In a typical work day, in my position, it is expected that a numerous amount of tasks be accomplished that take at least eight hours to do while finding time to do additional tasks as they come about, all for less than a typical wage you would find for that sort of position. Overall, working with my coworkers is a positive experience, sometimes enlightening. The hardest part of the job is the amount of work that I am responsible for. The most enjoyable part of the job, in my opinion, is that every day is different and there is a great deal of problem solving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Utility Clerk (Former Employee), Munster, INMay 29, 2013
fun place to work. Do your job and you will be fine. Fun interacting with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work and employees are at the behess of dept mgr
Meat Wrapper/ Meat Cutter (Former Employee), 4725 Indianapolis Blvd, East Chicago, IN 46312April 2, 2013
Pros: taste samples to make sure they are eatable
Cons: short breaks, unjustified write-ups, unfair treatment
Dealing with unpleasant and very picky ungrateful customers
Learn to be understanding to a point and how to deal with shoplifters
Management tends to be hypocritical and only care about making profits regardless of how customers treat company employees.
Most co-workers are conscious and honest workers
Multi-tasking w/o hardly any help in dealing with – more... customers in a rush
Doing PA announcements and having some customers appreciate your assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with great management
Cashier (Former Employee), Munster, INDecember 10, 2012
Great overall grocery store to work for, caring management team and also great environment to start off for any job as a younger adult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Utility clerk (Former Employee), Hobart, INNovember 29, 2012
Pros: automatic raises.
Cons: union dues
Loved Strack's. Great people. Great service. Trained well. Union. Good pay (at the time). Very organized. Good team atmosphere. Good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cashier/Customer Service/Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Merrillville, INOctober 1, 2012
Nice start while in school or continuing education, nice atmosphere, customers. love the customers who are regulars
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was horrible.
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee), Schererville, INAugust 19, 2012
Pros: there was no pros at all
Cons: cons was every thing that this job stood for.
This job was not for anyone that could not turn there cheek to ignorance at all there was a lot of race issue with all the workers for no reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improperly manage company
Utility Clerk (Former Employee), Whiting, INJune 3, 2012
Pros: i always was able to get hrs regardless of schedule because people didnt seem to want to work.
Cons: felt unappriciated, advancement was nonexsistant
This company hired a store manager who had no experience with retail prior to this company . And the reason she was hired is because she was a psyciatry major. Who had the ability to manipulate people who were entry level and people who did try to take the company seriously with subtrafuge and chicanary and use them as stepping stones to make her/his – more... store look better . Often times under the guise of customer service superseeds all. To the best of my knowledge they around the same time of year do a cleanse of all the people theyve hired (espesially the ones who seem less estetically popular. ie,< women>and people that they just dont like personally, by attaching bogus time punches and when the people cant prove the exsistance of such time discrepencies because they were so far back in time into their employment that they cannot remeber there only choice of action is to sign the paperwork or go home without pay until the union handles the matter. I did not realize that a company could be at the throats of its employees and its union so much before this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paid breaks
Deli/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee), chicago,ILMarch 14, 2012
Pros: works around schedules
Cons: low hours, due to heavy employement
worked part time, had paid breaks, worked around my school schedule, but did not work long enough to receive benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery
Customer service (Current Employee), Rensselaer,IndianaMarch 4, 2012
Terrible place to work-store supervisors can see your working with customers and ask why displays,etc aren't prepared. The employee looks around and....hey,get us more people to work with!!! Hours have been cut,you get fired if you sneak out with food that was going to be thrown away. I work in a grocery store but get my food at a food pantry...