Stripes Convenience Stores Employee Reviews

Showing all 437 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Food Prep, Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXApril 18, 2017
Its a wonderful place to work Management is very understanding in all aspects. employees r willing to help and work with you as long as you will do the same for them
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales/kitchen associate (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXApril 16, 2017
Great place to work if understanding all requirements and sacrifices. If working more then 35 hours a week then they have good benefits. Customer Service is a plus. Having great customer service will get you to love your job as well as your customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, great workers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 15, 2017
The customers there are all ways nice, and the co-workers there are very productive and love to help you out if you need and help with anything. They all ways have a smile on there face and a great attitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Olmito, TXApril 13, 2017
A typical day at work can be described as a fast day to passed by. The duties in working in a convenient store require customer service, handling amounts of money and responsibility.
Pros
Good communication with co-workers
Cons
Short breaks and work on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to be management
General Manager (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 10, 2017
This position required to be available 24/7. This was a wonderful opportunity in management. Due to needing a daytime Mon thru Frid position needed to resign
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups & downs
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Hobbs, NMApril 9, 2017
From personal experience, when it is good, it's good but when it's bad, it's bad. It can be fun at times. It is very fast paced in the mornings and in order to keep up, you must hustle hard. You run in to angry customers quite often. That sometimes is the hard part.
Pros
Fast paced, learning experiences
Cons
No breaks, No vacation time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXApril 8, 2017
Loved working here, very relaxing environment. Customer Service is a must here. Flexible schedule, free drinks with ur own cup. Have to work holidaus.
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok if you need a part time job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Del Rio, TXApril 8, 2017
Worked night shift, only one person to attend store. Safety is a concern. Other shifts leave work for third shift assuming its slower. This does not make for a team feeling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting company to work for, with its ups and downs.
Graveyard Shift (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXApril 7, 2017
It's an okay job to work for if is your patience is at a masterful level. Interruption is an integral part of the job as well as well as the unfortunate theft happening more often than not.
Pros
Meeting different people.
Cons
Theft, unperdictable schedule changes, different prices on the same product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXApril 4, 2017
Job is stable customers are great. A lot of turn over. Upper management not great to work with. All in all easy job but advancement isn't easy. Not a great balance of home and work life in management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy productive work environment.Management could be a bit better as well as too many changes and some are not very beneficial.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXApril 4, 2017
Well start at interview it was actually not as professional as it should have been. Changing managers frequently. Out of items too often. Did meet interesting new people. Gained better sales promoting skills. Managers did listen to employee suggestions, and tried their best to meet all employees needs to make a better work environment.
Pros
better team player. Current skills had improvemnt.
Cons
unable to really have a break depending mostly of the stores location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad at all
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Robstown, TXMarch 31, 2017
Besides the rush hours, seldomly rude customers, and time constraints its not too bad of a job really. When i worked everyone was really nice and the atmosphere was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
retail (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 31, 2017
had a great time here. meet and talk to so many people had great oppurtunities when it came to learning about careers and other jobs. love how management engaged employees in every espect of the store. It was very essential to every employee and we all learned and new much about how our business was operated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Register running, cleaning and stocking
Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMarch 31, 2017
Strict work environment. Not allowed overtime or breaks. Some stores don't have the best people to work with. Can't always call in sick. Usually won't work with your schedule.
Pros
Good for a first job
Cons
No breaks or overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 30, 2017
Didn't care for company. They over worked me and didn't give me full time benefits. Lousy management. There is definitely room for advancement for anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Liberty txMarch 28, 2017
This is a good company to work for , everything went so smooth working for them the bosses was so nice they helped if you needed anything , I felt at home working for them .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed meeting new people everyday
cashier (Former Employee) –  Post, TXMarch 28, 2017
The job itself was ok. I enjoyed working with the public and meeting new people everyday. The management was unstable which caused several problems with people not being held accountable for their lack of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Customer Service Setting
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXMarch 23, 2017
the most enjoyable part of the job was my regular customers. their kind hearted tedious attention to the little things we would do in the store was rewarding. The overall scheduling was a nightmare you are told when you get hired on certain hours due to scheduling and then they schedule the complete opposite. The scheduling issue was my only issue or else I would still be working for the Stripes store.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good job
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Donna, TXMarch 23, 2017
Working at stripes was a great experience. Interacting with customers everyday was amazing. I learned a large variety of skills for customer service.
I had been working for stripes 3 years and 10 months and I had learned a lot. when you work at stripes you get to work around a lot of people and you get to work around them. you just have to work fast and be friendly at the same time.
Stripes gave me the opportunity to learn how to work with money, deal with clients, and get experience. This was my first job. I had a good manager and some coworkers that help me lean and gain experience while I was working for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXMarch 21, 2017
Typically everyday is about the same, when you get to work get your cashier drawer signed in and clean and stock items within store, usually your customers are the same people so you know what they will want and that about it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stripes Convenience Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 437 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

Stripes Convenience Stores Reviews by Location