Stripes Convenience Stores Employee Reviews

Showing all 258 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXNovember 1, 2015
nice training, very detail, good workers and fast pace job, work hard and achieve success. though company must develop proper lunch and break policy for employee
Pros
good work environment
Cons
long hours, insurance is very expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high paced work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Porter, TXOctober 26, 2015
does not always support hard working people and promotions are slow and rare. very busy stores, specially due to the Laredo taco food, store are usually busy in almost all locations
Pros
stays busy, times goes by fast
Cons
no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, Friendly customers and coworkers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXAugust 5, 2015
Good place to work and I say this because of my coworkers.
They make my work day good, my customers made it even better!
My manager was fun at times and strict which was good for when we needed a laugh and when we needed to get work done.
This job was like a "same thing just a different day" type of job, not really complicated for me.
Pros
Free Breakfast tacos
Cons
no lunch break, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job I was married to my job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXAugust 6, 2015
I would work all three shifts and I loved it. I'm a people person
I would work double shifts frequently and at different stores that need help. in an average week I would work 40-60 hours a week. in three to four different locations. I worked my way to Asst. Mgr. and If I wouldn't have had my son I would probably still be working with the company.
Pros
great training
Cons
no time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Benito, TXJuly 29, 2015
-Stocked and replenished merchandise according to store merchandising layouts.
-Cleaned and organized the store, including the checkout desk and displays.
-Alerted customers to upcoming sales events and promotions.
-Resolved all customer complaints in a professional manner while prioritizing customer satisfaction.
-Answered customer telephone calls promptly and in an appropriate manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was OK
Kitchen Help (Former Employee) –  2426October 1, 2015
At the time I was there, there had been a management change and things where chaotic. Hard to keep up with. Went back for a visit and the atmosphere was different, and better. Hope all gets better and better.
Pros
***
Cons
You will most likly end up doing other peoples work and almost no break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wish it didn change
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 8, 2015
idk where to start but it was great at first then when down hill they left me in a store where gm and agm hated each other, never told me that i was transferred till the day i was supposed to be at new store, upper management make false promises,got passover for a job they said i was nexted in line and was doing the work of the salary but not being paid as one
Pros
friends made
Cons
upper manage ment and poor hiring and broken promises
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stripes
Assisting customer (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKSeptember 15, 2015
Great place to work if you are looking for a fast pace environment. The hours are crazy long but you meet a lot of different people. The hardest part of the job is making sure nothing gets stolen but when its just you and you have to man the register it makes it difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Cook/cashier (Former Employee) –  Brady, TXSeptember 24, 2015
Would treat there employees with respect and would ask how you were doing management was very helpful with any problem that they could help with and were very strict about over time which was the only down fall.
Pros
feed us free lunch
Cons
no brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXDecember 13, 2015
normal work day. always kept busy. management was okay. always had work. good hours. i worked there for a while until i had my daughter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work unless you can go 12 hours no breaks or food
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXJuly 14, 2015
Co-workers were ok, however the environment wasn't worth the pay. Expected many workers to go 12 hours or even typical 8 hours with no breaks and/or food. No backup plans for people calling in sick or having emergencies. Destroyed a system that was fixed when a professional came down to help the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crabs in a bucket
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 12, 2015
No communication between GM and employees, no regards to staff, shows no respect to staff and their concerns. Management is very in-direct with staff and must drag information out of management to get a answer to a question. In regards to CEO have never meet the person so I can't answer question.
Pros
free meal at the subway
Cons
no communication, shows no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stripes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 4, 2015
I loved all of y co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the lifting and the most enjoyable part was the chance to interact with customers.
Pros
Full shifts
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome advancement opportunity
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Andrews, TXJuly 2, 2015
Great company to work for. Well established company that offers the tools to succeed. People and working environment are competitive there for it encourages ones self to embrace the opportunity with the company and take advantage of the many training programs that are provided as learning tools on many levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice to work there
Restaurant lead (Former Employee) –  San Juan, TXAugust 27, 2015
It was fun work there the co worker were great . we had thing done at the end of shift for the next one
We had to prep things ,cook , clean and make sure things were up to date to meet state orders make the food and make the customers order as they order them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work alot of hours for ok pay, this is the job for you.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXMay 25, 2015
Go in at 4 am-do close and count money. Do all the bookkeeping and computer work. Listen to all employee and customer complaints. Try to figure out solution to all the problems. Make sure kitchen staff is performing correctly and writing down temps and times cooked. Do store order and work on schedule that has to change 20 times a week because people have to be off or don't show up at all. Re-stock cold vault and rest of store. Complete all additional paperwork. About 4 pm you may be able to leave if people show up.
Pros
Had a very good Area Manager and a few really good people to work with.
Cons
Too many hours and get woke up in the middle of the night, after you've already worked 12 hours that day.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 22, 2015
Productive and very busy environment ok job. good employees at the location upper management need to have better people skills in order to serve as role modes. Which most of them don't.
Pros
Good team members at current location
Cons
upper management need to have better people skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work in
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXSeptember 28, 2015
there wasn't a day where it was boring. there was always something to do while working at stripes. people were great to work with. fast pace and always keeping busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXSeptember 24, 2015
was fun
i learned how to get along with people and work hard
management was nice
hardest part was all the mean customers
the most enjoyable part was just having fun
Pros
free food
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced position
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXAugust 26, 2015
this position was very fast paced and the room for advancement was not an option.. i think that if they would have had better management the store would have operated more organized
Cons
no breaks..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 258 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

Stripes Convenience Stores Reviews by Location