Find companies:
STRIPES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
104 reviews

STRIPES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work here again
Cashier (Former Employee), Sanderson, TXApril 19, 2013
Cons: unspecified hours and hardly any training before being thrown into the job
Even though you are hired as a cashier you do everything in this store. The only thing I learned is Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission guidelines. Co-Workers and Management only cared about them selves. The job wasn't really hard except there were NO breaks! I enjoyed NOTHING about this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy place
cashier (Former Employee), San Saba, TXApril 12, 2013
Cons: no overtime available
A typlical day was just greeting customers and making sure they were satisfied and found what they were looking for. The most challenging thing was when the computers would shut down and customers would become upset from the delay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Was A Fun Expirence.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Eagle Pass, TXApril 5, 2013
Everything Was Great About This Job. There Were Some Ups And Downs But Nothing That Anyone Can't Handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Cashier (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXApril 5, 2013
this company works thier staff to death and the pay is not great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bellow Expectations
Store Manager (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 26, 2013
Pros: good retirement plan
Cons: lack of adequate training
The culture in the home office of the company is great and inviting. I found that the regional office and upper management did not have the same culture as the home office. The training system was very bellow par. The help that was expected from upper management was always promised but never was actually given. The pay was sufficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working @ Stripes
Clerk (Former Employee), Abilene, TXMarch 25, 2013
Pros: great full time hours
Cons: did not take harrasment calls from customers seriously
It was a good company to work for,but management needs more training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and stressful
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Donna, TXMarch 12, 2013
Pros: learn how to be a great friendships with the customers
Cons: there was no team work so most if the slack was picked up by me
what have learned at stripes. i learn team work is what a company needs you cant just skip a day and let the other co-works pick up your slack. you must get there 5 minutes early to be on time.but also never be friend most of the co works because some of them are only looking for get you fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee), Odessa, TXFebruary 27, 2013
busy store good company to work for.Just wish everyone in the company went by the company values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun enviroment to begin work in.
Assistance Manager (Former Employee), Lawton, OKFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: great learning experience!
Cons: no breaks of any kind no matter how many hours you worked.
I would come into work and clock in and begin helping customers. After being there for 2 months I was put into the assistant manager program. This was a great time, and I enjoyed being able to move up quickly. Management was great at first, then things began to change, so I talked to my area manager about the issues and she moved me to another store. – more... After working here for 2 years, I honestly got tired of people taking advantage of me, so I quit. There was nothing about this job that was hard, except having to do everyone's job as well as my own by the time my shift was over. The enjoyable part of this job was meeting people and becoming friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really team oriented work culuture.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2013
It's a place for people who like to stay active and constantly on the move. It's a very busy place and the demand for the food is always high. The hardest part of working at Stripes is the breakfast rush, sometimes the lack of active hands can really put a damper on the time it takes to serve each customer, other times it can make it too congested and – more... confusing. Although it got busy and sometimes stressful at the end f your shift all your co-workers will make numerous attempts to make you smile or laugh and it's a VERY interesting place to work and meet new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST JOB EVER!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXFebruary 2, 2013
I have nothing negative to say about this company! They were so welcoming and very patient with me. I would LOVE to work for them again!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyble work place.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Harlingen TxJanuary 24, 2013
Getting to work in the convinence store setting was great. The hardest part of working for this company was dealing with irrate intoxicated customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot from this job.
Lube Tech (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 17, 2013
I had the opportunity to help and train others how to well maintain their vehicles. I did alot of inventory on all our products that we shipped and received.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough people,to balance a shift
Cashier part time (Former Employee), McAllen, TXJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: no insurance
love the customer service like to stock theirs no hard part
about management is great understand family valules and
acknowleged your concerns thut out the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and a very fun workplace at night
Crew Member - Chef, Cashier (Former Employee), Sterling City, TXJanuary 2, 2013
i learned that cooking was my muse i love to cook now all the time. i also learned how to make tortillas now as well. working at night was very fun working with people who made me feel like family was great. i also enjoyed having my daily customers ask for me personally at night to cook them dinner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Move product
Assistant Store Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2012
Pros: free fountain drinks
Cons: no breaks medical package needs help unprofessional
I became serve safe certified along with t a b c certified . My day would start about 4 am and end at 5pm. I washed dishes and dumped trashed and stock the store cleaned ice machine remove trash from the store . I checked food temperatures and clean kitchen ,prepped food, order food ,inventory kitchen controlled cost ran a cash register cooked the food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient & productive maintenance operations
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), McAllen, TXDecember 12, 2012
Life long Electrical / Mechanical Tech & Mgr Servicing HVAC, Refrigeration, Food Service Equip, & Ice Machines;generally start day with follow ups on previous day tasks, organize up coming tasks, review work orders for billing, quotes, etc. Perform needed training as per Tech's performances, coordinate equipment and parts ordering and receiving, assist – more... Techs as needed to complete said tasks thoroughly & efficiently. Hold Internal office meetings on productivity, up coming projects, & any other issues that arise.Make sure all tasks are completed in timely manor and plan for next day; also handle PR problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but very political
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXDecember 10, 2012
Very fast paced. Management team is very political and unprofessional for the most part. The co-workers were like high school all over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Working with people
Cashier (Current Employee), Sterling City, TXDecember 6, 2012
Some of the people are good to work with. But just like any job there are some people that make you want to walk out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really stressful environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Refugio, TXDecember 6, 2012
Pros: gift cards
Cons: short breaks, long hours no appreciation
Typical day at work would be checking out people nonstop. Everything was always unorganized because our managent. I would work from 4-12am then come back in from 7-3pm pulling 40 hrs a week. The hardest part of the job was learning how to use the machine to take care of the truck drivers gas. the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing different people – more... everyday as well as some of the regulars. – less

About STRIPES

Stripes are in, Circles are out at Susser Holdings. The company operates¬†about 550 Stripes convenience stores in Texas, New Mexico, – Read more