Find companies:
Student Conservation Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Student Conservation Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great intewrnship
Highschool Program Summer Intern (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 26, 2014
set me up to transition into a full time positions after graduation. Defiantly not a making copies getting coffee type of internship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a terrific view
Intern, Voyageurs National Park (Former Employee), MNMarch 14, 2014
I worked at Voyageurs National Park for a summer. It was a great experience, where I met a lot of different people. I also learned a lot about nature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Internship
Plant Community Intern for The Natural Conversancy (Former Employee), Blakely, GAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: supervisor is willing to teach
Cons: very limited compensation
Work are mostly treating invasive plant species. Hardest part of the job is work under very muggy and hot weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCA is great
Conservation Crew Member (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NY/ New HampshireFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: scholarship money, great life experience
Cons: strange lifestyle
Working with the SCA was a great experience. I completed two internships with the SCA both of them awarded me scholarships that helped pay off college loans.
One internship was with the New Hampshire Conservation Corps based out of Bear Brook State Park in NH. My duties for this internship were to build trail structures such as bridges and staircases. – more... Structures were built out of logs and stone. I worked in both front country and back country settings using chain saws and hand tools to achieve the crews goals. This was not only a job but also a life experience because crews were asked to go on 24 day work hitches on location. This involved living and working with your crew mostly out of tents in a backcountry setting,
The other internship was at The Gateway National Recreation Area in NYC. During this internship my responsibilities included developing a Bike tour for the public at the historic Floyd Bennet Air Field, taking inner city youth on sailing excursions on Jamaica Bay and leading environmental education programs with local youth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Team Member (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 22, 2014
We cleaned up the community, planted trees and tended to lawns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start for students to get their feet wet and find suitable work
Manuel Laborer (Former Employee), Columbia County, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: worked outside, was fed, had cigarette breaks
Cons: didnt pay well, bi-weekly paychecks
It was a good starting job, the pay wasnt fantastic but the work that the SCA had us doing was fun, interesting and hard. The SCA gave workers a chance to build a resume and get an idea what the green collar industry is like. Mostly outdoors, the work kept me active and wanting bigger and better things for myself. Character building would be what I – more... would call the SCA, and especially the group leaders opened up my mind to more than just kitchen duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job - summer program
Recruiting Coordinator - internship (Former Employee), Stamford, CTDecember 20, 2013
it allows you to increase your knowledge about the environment in Stamford. Green projects are part of this program. you have to start with a great motivation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work in the Outdoors during the Summer
Visitor Use Surveyor (Former Employee), Oxford, MSOctober 30, 2013
Pros: conservation work, being outside, sightseeing, being active
Every five days, we go to ACE recreational sites to interview visitors that were leaving for the day. We did this so that we could understand how we could make the parks better. We stayed at a rental house for the summer and were able to get along and know each other. Once a week, we do conservation work at a certain place such as trail maintenance, – more... trash pickup, and gardening at a farm and community. I got to learn how to manage waste and conserve energy better than usual. The most enjoyable part of the job was being family with my team, working together, and got to do fun things as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fun, Fun
Student Crew member (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 25, 2013
Pros: planting tree & digging paths. wonderful experience
Cons: physically challenging
I worked there for two summers during my high school years. I enjoyed collaborating with my fellow team mates. I also felt I made a difference with saving the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 6, 2013
I must say that volunteer work is so much fun especially when your in another state plus meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCA
City Crew Leader (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 7, 2013
Had a great experience as a city crew leader in Pittsburgh. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested as it really was an experience that changed the way I view the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
City Worker (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 5, 2013
Pros: working in nature
Cons: some cew members were negative
walking to get tools to work on building the trail or picking invasive plants. and cleaning the park area.
i learned about plants and much more about nature then i knew.
the managers were very nice and helpful.
some were postive and some were negative.
working with people that expected others to do their job.
meeting new people and working in nature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative, and difficult physical work
Conservation Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 28, 2013
Pros: trips and information learned
Cons: seasonal position
A typical day at SCA was amazingly beautiful. It was moderate pace. We either learned more about organics, GMO's and toxins that pollute our planet or went out into local neighborhoods to clean streets and sometimes even go out into forest preserves. We often used hand tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hands on volunteer work
Volunteer (Current Employee), Oakland, CAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: lots of fun activities, going camping, fixing nature, the food, going out to nature, and not being home
Cons: a workout kinda, short breaks
Its a year around volunteer program. We would meet up every month for a meeting on what we'er going to do a week ahead. Tell us what we are going to be working on and do fun activities to keep us all involved. A week later we meet up in Oakland early in the morning. Pack our tools and camping supplied and drive off to where we go.We would do volunteer – more... work cleaning parks or planting trees. I learned the name of a lot of tools and the proper way to use them. My teammates were all help full and we worked together and they are all friendly. The hardest part of the job wasn't all the lifting and working, it was the heat that was killing me. The most enjoyable part of the job was when we finished the job and took a look at how it looked before and how it looks now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and understanding
Environmental Educator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: outdoors
Cons: short breaks, underpaid
Working with the SCA helped me overcome different obstacles on a day to day basis. The job was mostly based outside and gave me the opportunity to learn new things as I taught children about local ecology. I was able to give local city kids a look at what was around them in New York City.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Crew Member intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 18, 2012
Pros: free bus cards, trips, and occassional food
Cons: short breaks, lots of working in hot weather
Outstanding improvement for a shy person. It helped me improve on public speaking and the drive for leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to find FT permanet positions, but amazing people
National High School Crew Leader (Former Employee), Charlestown, NHNovember 6, 2012
Incredibly rewarding work, great culture among staff, but finding a FT permanent job working for the Student Conservation Association is extremely difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate co-workers, but not much room for career growth.
Marketing (Current Employee), Charlestown, NHAugust 27, 2012
To work at SCA you need to be passionate about the mission. Hard to get a job or advance here because the number of openings for full-time staff is limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoting Conservation Crews for the Outdoors
Regional Program Manager (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 30, 2012
Pros: being in the outdoors
Cons: management support and structure lacking
Providing opportunities to be involved with conservationa and restoration of the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A young idealist's game
High School Backcountry supervisor (Former Employee), Wilderness areas throughout the U.S.July 5, 2012
Pros: unforgettable, rearding experience
Cons: terrible pay
The High School Supervisor positions are - or at least were - very rewarding on a personal and sociological level. After six weeks of a successfully run trail crew, the transformation in the "kids" was phenomenal and, from my accounts so far, permanent. If you want good Karma and an unforgettable, at times breathtakingly beautiful and extremely adverse – more... wilderness adventure, then this might be for you. But it is a highly demanding job that pays peanuts (you're with the crew 24/7) and offers neither benefits nor advancement. I stopped working for them in 1996, chiefly because they began to require that supervisors be certified as Wilderness First Responders, rather than the every-bit-as-useful and much cheaper Wilderness First Aid course. They also required that HS supervisors pay for the course out of their own pockets (we're talking hundreds of dollars for - in my opinion - nothing more than a fancier title. Anyway, if you're young and rugged and relatively footloose and fancy-free, check em out. – less