Find companies:
Student Transportation Of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Student Transportation Of America Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to work
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Portersville, PAFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: i like to see the kids every day
Cons: not enough money and no good benefits
My co-workers are very nice. We all help each other out. They start the buses in the winter time. The terminal manager is very nice too and gets along with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if going to school
Bus Driver (Current Employee), riverside, caJanuary 19, 2015
Get up early pre-trip bus, pick up children and take to school. There is 3-5 hour break depending on the route you get. This could be good or bad. I used this time to attend classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace Environment
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Alexander, NYNovember 15, 2014
Pros: paid training, great atmosphere, free company gear.
Cons: low hours
Overall STA is a company dedicated to escorting children to school safely, the fun-loving people who are at the forefront of the company smile and proudly do their jobs. Management pays attention to every detail, answers questions promptly, and isn't afraid to let you know if you have done something exceptional. The most enjoyable part of the job is, by far, the children we transport.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nonfriendly, unwilling to listen to staff
Monitor Trainer/Driver (Current Employee), Bradford, NHOctober 15, 2014
Pros: bring your children with you
Cons: poor management
I believe that upper management has allowed STA-Bradford to be lost in the wind. Numerous people have gone to management with problems and concerns and they are told its fine and to go about their job. The plus side is you are allowed to take you children with you to work; however, it depends on who you are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and growing company
Admin (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 13, 2014
A typical day consists of reviewing the challenges for the day and tackling each issue as it arises. I've learned a tremendous amount about the transportation industry as a whole. The most challenging aspect of this job is addressing and closing-out the high volume of calls that come-in each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
BUS DRIVER (Former Employee), Porterville, CAMay 18, 2014
there are not a lot of hours here at this job, and the management is not good at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Monitor (Former Employee), Hanford, CAApril 29, 2014
Tied down the wheel chairs on the bus
Monitored the children to insure that they did not fight
Helped the children on and off of the bus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just started
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 20, 2014
I have just started working for STA. So far I enjoy everyone and the work is something I enjoy doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to be at
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Riverside, CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: traffic
drove students to school I learned how to deal with many different attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving in Lakewood
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Lakewood, NJDecember 7, 2013
Its not easy Driving a School Bus in Lakewood.
Try to get them to send you to Wall, or Freehold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Days Keep me going.
School Bus / Van Driver (Current Employee), Bangor, PAAugust 2, 2013
Love working with all different types of students. Patience is a virtue and working with different personalities on a daily basis has given me high tolerance and great patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very comfortable and freindly enviroment
Bus Aide (Former Employee), Palmdale, CAApril 16, 2013
Pros: friendly enviroment
Cons: not enough working hours
every day is a challenge when working with special needs children.. I enjoyed my job very much. my co-workers were very easy to get along with and very helpful. evry day was a learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Envoirment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: strong concept and culture for school transportation
Cons: needs to improve on some of the vp's concepts on management and loyatity.
I enjoyed the work experience learned during my time at STA. The company overall has a wonderful concepts and developments in student transportation and safety culture that was a pleasure to be part of, I love the driver's and the office personal that I was in charged of. Because STA allowed me the opportunity to incorpate the proper and most suitable staff together to make a while balances cultural terminal. And STA has a good life balance opportunity for both the Mangerment level and Mid-level Employee's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved driving the school bus
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Riverside, CADecember 17, 2012
Pros: worked during hours when kids were in school
Cons: not enough hours
Had a great experiance working there. My daily days were picking up and dropping kids off at the schools and also at there homes after school. Co-workers were good people who helped who with the routes assigned to you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving school bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Harborcreek, PAOctober 17, 2012
it is different. every day is different, no 2 days are alike.the kids are moody, some are mad others are happy. some will speak, some won't. then you got the really funny ones. i like driving school bus, i have been driving since October,1999.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving school bus
school bus driver (Current Employee), grove city,paOctober 17, 2012
i like for working for STA of GroveCity,pa The other employee are o.k. to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management fear
Schooll bus driver (Current Employee), Pine Brook, NJOctober 12, 2012
Cons: not benefits
is a fear place to work not many hours as used to be, co- workers are ok hardest part of the job for me is i have a long days because
i live far from the base the most enjoyable part is pick and drop off my kids every smile make my day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellant place to work.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHAugust 18, 2012
Cons: too many days off.
Driving kids to and from to school and having fun at it. I've learned communication is one of the most important part of the job. Management is always helping, whether it is learning new aspects of the job or if there's a problem. I have always gotten along with co-workers. The hardest part of the job is when the weather is not the best and maintaining control. Seeing the smiling faces everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible work inviroment
School bus driver (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 31, 2012
Pros: flexibilty of schedule
Cons: healthcare, unpaid time off
Insure safe tranportation of students to and from school. Insured safety of children by learning and following strict DOT regulations. Management was Awesome and very fair.I truly enjoyed being able to make a differnce in the lives of the students I transported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term dedicated bus drivers
Bus driver trainee (Former Employee), Naugatuck, CTMarch 4, 2012
Pros: being around the children, bringing my daughter to work with me.
Cons: lots of gossip, very clicky, take awhile to warm up to new employees.
The trainer was very knowledgeable and really knew how to break everything down in ways that made it very easy to learn the job.

About Student Transportation Of America

A┬ádaily grind is the secret to Archer-Daniels-Midland's (ADM) success. It's one of the world's largest processors of agricultural – Read more

Student Transportation Of America Salaries

Bus Driver
$16.50 per hour
Operation Manager
$56,000 per year
Bus Driver
$12,000 per year