Studio Movie Grill Employee Reviews

Showing all 144 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supervisors; terrible job culture
Server (Former Employee) –  Pearland, TXOctober 10, 2016
My supervisors and my co-workers were the highlight of my work experience while at studio movie grill. However, the culture of the job itself left a bad taste in my mouth, to include the compensation and the oddly consistent crass of the guests.
Pros
Free movies Monday through Thursday; 50% on food
Cons
No breaks, inadequate compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio Movie Grill
Box Office Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJuly 18, 2016
A Day at studio consisted of helping out guest and showing them where to go, trying to up sale and just being cool. Studio was a cool place to work when it first opened it was crazy busy and it was a little rough but the busier it was the faster time went by.
Pros
Great management, good benefits and good hours.
Cons
Box office people got pushed around by the servers, they say what ever they feel like. they were very rude when i worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great friendly enviorment . Wonderful staff and management .
Runner, Server, Host, Bartender (Current Employee) –  Roswell, GAAugust 25, 2016
I have worked for Studio Movie Grill for 5 years it has been one of the most rewarding jobs I've had. it has taught me how to deal with people and how to multi-task and handle different situations in many different ways I wouldn't have known to on my own.
Pros
Free Movie Tickets, Great people
Cons
No benefits or Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive friendly fun environment
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 21, 2016
A typical day at work was pretty productive and intense met a lot of people dealt with many customers with very different personalities and attitudes. I learned to be able to deal with erratic customers and make everyone as comfortable and as happy as possible. The management was pretty poor they didn't really listen to what the workers told them when it came to the different problems going on throughout the workplace. The hardest part of the job was trying to do your job as well as others jobs because a lot of workers were lazy and sat back and watched you do all the work. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with a very diverse group of people that were willing to work hard in order to make the job easier.
Pros
free food overtime offered
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring work enviorment
Server (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 17, 2016
Working for Studio Movie Grill there was a lot to be desired from the upper management as far as ensuring the guest have the best possible experience. A lot of times it came down hard on the servers the most, mainly because hiring 16 year- olds and trusting them to make sure that the food was delivered to the tables was an issue. A lot of times the younger people or non servers working for the company did not care enough about doing the job well. Their apathy cost the servers tips and made whole meal comps and customer complaints a very frequent thing.
Lazy people and tip sharing were a problem as well.
Pros
free movies, 50% discount on food, free pre showings for big movies
Cons
no healthcare, virtually non existent breaks, unusually long shifts, no certainty on clock out time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Place
Server (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 12, 2016
This job is for people in high school. Don't offer many benefits but watching movies for free. Don't not offer good pay. Managers don't care nothing about employees just about the job. co-workers can end up being friends for life.
Pros
nice work enviornment
Cons
hard to get off on holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Box Office Cashier (Former Employee) –  Upper Darby, PANovember 14, 2016
my co-workers were really fun and i met some great friends and my job was really easy i worked at box office so ring up tickets and i was just in the front of the house .
Pros
long hours, good pay
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has potential to be great, but still needs some work.
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAJuly 1, 2016
A typical day at work is pretty fast paced. The area of this location brings in a lot of different people. What I've learned while working here is how to advance on speed and how to check for accuracy 100% of the time. Management will fix any issues you have with a guest immediately, sometimes organized, and want the best for us. Co-workers are okay. Just the same as any workplace, some are very good and some are okay. The hardest part is working as a team with your co-workers and communication, but there are ways to get around that.
Pros
Volume of guests gives you the opportunity to make more money as a server.
Cons
Short breaks, frequent changes, time management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Runner (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXFebruary 27, 2016
A typical day at work during the weekdays are long and boring because there are many people going out to watch movies, but o the weekends it is really busy and can sometimes get hectic. Compensation is 6.50 + tips share, so you make about $8.40/hr on average.
Pros
Free Movies. 50% off food
Cons
Boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work at everyday was a fun day and you get to learn something new
Box Office Cashier/hostess / server (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 18, 2016
It's a great experience as a part time job if you just wanted to make one extra cash & plus it's a great way if you wanna grow in that company. Studio made me feel like it was my second home the managers were nice & understandable if you asked for a day off.
Pros
You get half on your food, free movie tickets and get to watch a new movie at midnight they call it " screen opening night"
Cons
you get a 30 min break if you work a double
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast-paced work environment with many perks
Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 9, 2016
Excellent management crew, hard working, unquestionable integrity and always supportive of one another. The hardest part of the job is also the most enjoyable part of the job, people. Working with/for people is what I do best and Studio Movie Grill is an excellent concept to grow those skills even further.
Pros
Free movies!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace with a lot of young faces.
Runner (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 1, 2016
Long hours on your feet with a face paced work load but easily manageable. Offers a very flexible work schedule so when you can't make it to work your coworkers will cover for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, lots of room to grow
Trainer/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXOctober 8, 2016
Great place to work if you enjoy long hours and fast pace. Plenty of room to grow if you apply yourself. A lot of staff is young so sometimes difficult to manage
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment fun
Server director (Former Employee) –  Roswell, GANovember 30, 2015
The atomosphere was awesome, your co workers feel like family. Management was easy to get along with and the work load was awesome. The one thing I didn't like about the company were the way they handled there yearly bonus system which wasn't organized and continually skipped compensation for some of the workers including myself.
Pros
great staff, amazing enviroment
Cons
yearly bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but very hard to move up to management or corporate
Server (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 5, 2016
Awesome for beginning servers and also for high school students not recommended for college graduate students but also good for pre-grad. Do not get stuck it is very easy
Pros
Fun atmosphere, free movies, half off food, awesome rewards for reaching sale goals (gifcards, skyjumps, promotional gift bags
Cons
Long hours, no promotional opportunities, easy to get stuck in the same area, inconsistent managers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for first job
Ticket Host (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXDecember 23, 2016
This job is awesome for young men and women. The environment is great for those that are young and are looking for easy job where you can make friends as well as get experience in customer service and food sales.
Pros
Free movies, discounted food, easy to make friends
Cons
No or very short breaks, not a ton of working hours during non seasonal times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place with very good people working there
Server (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 20, 2016
Met a lot of people that will be in my life for a long time. It is a lot of work just because the facility is so big. So really all the running around is the most draining thing. I enjoy coming to work and just being able to be comfortable around all my co workers
Pros
good people, good money
Cons
A lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company at the time
Certified Server/Bartender Trainer (Former Employee) –  Simi Valley, CAJanuary 6, 2017
Worked here for awhile and it was great money in the beginning and then it started to fade off. I excelled really quick in the company but every one wanted the position so it was a dog digg everyday lol.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and friendly work place
RUNNER/ TICKET HOST/ LINE COOK (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 16, 2016
very few rude guest came into the theater, the food was great. Movie theaters and bathrooms were well cleaned. the management showed some favoritism to boys but didn't discriminate gays.the most enjoyable part was my co-workers where very friendly and always willing to things outside of the job description.
Pros
50 percent off meals, free movie tickets for you and 3 guest
Cons
very little breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio Movie Grill is a unique concept with a fast paced kitchen.
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Rocklin, CAOctober 7, 2015
Studio Movie Grill is very fast paced, high volume, unique place to enjoy food and a movie. There is ALWAYS something to do when working in the kitchen; cleaning, prepping, restocking or cooking is pretty much what to expect to see in the back of the house.
Pros
Free Lunch and Free Movies
Cons
No benefits, long hours, no holiday pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Studio Movie Grill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 144 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7

Studio Movie Grill Reviews by Location