Find companies:
Suburban Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Suburban Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality of care and services are excellent
Nurse Practitioner, Cardiovascular Services (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDAugust 22, 2014
Pros: close to home, good environment, collegial staff
Provides patient and family focused care. Areas of excellence include cardiac, stroke, oncology and orthopedic services. Affiliation with the NIH provides ongoing opportunities for clinical research within the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SUBURBAN HOSPITAL
Associate 1/ Dietary Aide (Former Employee), BETHESDA, MDJuly 28, 2014
GREAT JOB TO WORK JUST DON'T MAKE A CAREER UNLESS YOU IN THE MEDIAL FEILD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaders in Nursing Home Phlebotomy
Lead II Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJuly 8, 2014
It was a very relaxed environment. We worked independently but we had a manager that expected us to do our assigned tasks in a very efficient and professional manner. The employees averaged about 10 years in my department and it really became like a family atmosphere. It was a great experience and I learned and did much more than the job description – more... required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place to work and allows you to the ability to learn a lot.
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDJune 28, 2014
Pros: nice hospital and is located in a good area.
Cons: the pay could be a little more.
The operating room suite are equiped with good working equipment. The staff are helpful and overall have good teamwork attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new grad
Registered Nurse, Clinical III (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDMay 23, 2014
I started at suburban hospital as a new grad, worked on adult surgery unit, and also floated to other units as they had needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAFF NURSE
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDMay 13, 2014
I worked on a medical surgical floor.

The nurse worked together.

It was a teaching hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working on the cancer unit
Housekeeping III (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDMay 7, 2014
Pros: awards, breaks, medical
My day was great. I never had complaints because I loved my job. Management was good and I enjoyed working with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job but......
Registered Nurse-Contract Nurse-8 wk assignment (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDApril 16, 2014
Pros: busy, challenging, nice patients
Cons: 30 minute break, bad attitudes, poor culture
I came in as a contract nurse and all I can say is that you will NOT be treated the same when you are a contract nurse. You are viewed as an outsider and don't plan on getting too friendly. Job culture is poor. Management is good though, although they overlook their staffs attitude and subtle remarks to contract nurses. You have to be tough, stay to – more... yourself and do your job. Any mistake, and you are seen as incompetent. It's crazy. Other than that, job isn't bad. Typical hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for great learning and training.
Lead Patient Care Tech, Unit Secretary ICU/ICUSD (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 27, 2014
A place of opportunity to increase your knowledge and skills. Could use some improvement on management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull work place
Staff Nurse, Rotating Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: very short distance from home.
Cons: stress
As a new nurse, I felt felt like the workload was heavy. We were also understaffed on most days, but I experienced great team work. I still refer to my co-workers as the best group of nurses that I have ever worked with. The hardest part of my job was that I did not spend enough time with my patients due to my individual patient load.The most enjoyable – more... part of my job was watching a patient recover from surgery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ER high acuity patients
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJanuary 27, 2014
was bought by Hopkins became more big business than quality care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and open to experience seeking students
Behavioral Health Unit Volunteer (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDJanuary 26, 2014
The staff was a diverse mix of professions; ranging from technicians, other volunteers, and health professionals (psychiatrsts, psychiatric nurses, department directors, managers, therapists and group therapy coordinators).

As an eager and continuous student of psychology, I was pleased with the availability of staff to answer all my questions and – more... their willingness to allow me to interact and help them assist in-patients as needed.

Overall, comfortably heightened my exposure in the field that I am most passionate about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient workplace
Registered Nurse/Traveler Nurse, Intensive Care (Former Employee), MarylandDecember 30, 2013
Great for patient safety. Nice place for a travel nurse to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to make money and move on
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 21, 2013
Pros: good money
Cons: no room for advancement, currently unstable
As of right now, the OR is very unstable due to new management. Before they came it was a nice place to work but there was no advancement for Techs. Nurses were praised and given opportunities but techs were not treat equally. The money is good so if that is all you want it would be great for you, but if you are someone like me always looking to move – more... forward and higher, stack your money and get a better job when it comes along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a multi-culture place to work
Part of the RN (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDNovember 9, 2013
Pros: wonderful co-workers
Cons: very high acuities
Working on the med-surg with tele unit where there is never a dull moment. It may be small with only 222 beds but my co-workers all come from different backgrounds from around the world and we share the common bond of caring for others as well as interested in each other and where we come from and share our culture with each other as well as joking, – more... laughing and helping each other out at work. I truely enjoy working with such wonderful and caring people as well as my patients who are also diversed. The hardest part is the acuity level that keeps increasing on our unit. Our patients are living longer but also are so very sick when they come to us to care for them, it is a challangen but also a blessing to see them improve over their stay at the hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDOctober 22, 2013
Pros: great team playing
Best job I ever had. Was able and responsible for almost all duties in my scope, if not trained in house.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
RN Clinician ll (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDOctober 14, 2013
Great co-wokers
8-10 hrs a day
keeping up with the changes is the hardest part
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not enjoy working here.
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDOctober 2, 2013
My typical day was very hard dealing with the employees and the other workers at the hospital. I worked 10 to 12 hours five days a week. I didn't have anytime for me and my family. The hardest part was dealing with the different personalities and driving the 100 miles a day. I did enjoy learning different things about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occupational Therapy Field Work
Student OTA (Former Employee), 16453 Colorado Ave, Paramount, CAAugust 21, 2013
Friendly staff, great learning experience. Great client care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for the summer to help out a friend
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJuly 11, 2013
Pros: summer job
Cons: worked in basement; no windows and not cheery
Not enough intellectual stimulation for me. The job was fine for the summer.