Subway Employee Reviews

Found 17,577 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work balance
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAAugust 22, 2017
Good balance of work and time off, poor management. Good first job, no way of building a career here. learned a lot about customer service and how to deal with the general public here.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
poor management, no full time positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Orange, TXAugust 22, 2017
A typical day at work at subway included walking in and greeting everyone, listening to what the manager says needs to be done, then do it at a fast pace.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great first job setting
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INAugust 22, 2017
This was my very first job for a year. I was proud at some point, and disliked it at others. It taught me responsibility and how to be the best kind of person at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all a good experience for me to, see what the working world entailed
crew leader/ sandwhich artist (Former Employee) –  saint marys wvAugust 22, 2017
over all it was a good experience through highschool to see what the working world entailed. I would of continued to work there but, the company was running in a poorly fashion.
Pros
job experience
Cons
the way the company was being ran
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job experience
Worker (Former Employee) –  Bartow, FLAugust 22, 2017
I really loved this job because it was my first. I was bery happy working here making the sandwhiches even though I wasnt really properly shown how to do things but I learned on my own in due time.
Pros
People were nice
Cons
Pay was low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Brazoria, TXAugust 22, 2017
Subway is really productive with constant cutting vegetables and preparing the meats. While doing all the prep work you are constantly having to watch the front for customers.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway is a very fun place to work at if you were with the right people!
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  New Smyrna Beach, FLAugust 21, 2017
No matter where life takes you subway will follow. It teaches you life and how to deal with the public. It can be hard at times but it’s easy! I always go above and beyond and because it’s in my nature to help others as I would want to.
Pros
Discounts, enjoying your day, tips
Cons
Non stop doing stuff without a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful for no reason
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAAugust 21, 2017
you have to keep up with unrealistic expectations when you're on the line for the first time, and management does not staff appropriately for after hours.
Pros
free food
Cons
working late hours with minimal staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
General manager (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, INAugust 21, 2017
Very competitive and very upbeat work environment. Love the people I worked with and the customers were always happy no matter what just because they know what they wanted and how they wanted it made.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job...
Cashier/Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2017
But don't make a career out of it. They want you to do a lot of work for little pay. Like.....climb this chair and clean the ceiling fans for 8.25.... And you don't even get a great discount. Most stores make you pay for everything. All that work u should at least get 50% off a sandwich.
Cons
Little pay, stressful owners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work environment
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Robert, LAAugust 21, 2017
I was not trained properly at the subway I was at which resulted in my firing but this is not to speak for all subways. Besides that, it was a basic work place.
Pros
Discount lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sandwich artist
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INAugust 21, 2017
The best part of this job was that it was fast passed. The days that you were busy went a lot faster. There was order in every step of the job, and everyone worked together as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people working there
Team member (Current Employee) –  Fairlawn, OHAugust 21, 2017
nice people work there and a lot of amazing regulers. almost all workers are minors. manager can be nice but likes to say things to other people about you then tell you what you did wrong in a condescending way.
Pros
free food if you work more then 5 hours.
Cons
manager makes you feel stupid and they don't train well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 21, 2017
subway is a easy job. you just give customer service, be patient with customers whether they are rude at you or not. the most enjoyable part of the job is working with your coworkers who are nice and kind to you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
Sandwich Artist/Closer/Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILAugust 21, 2017
Subway, provides a good starting place into the food world. it give you customer service experience as well as the back of the house knowledge.
A typical day is prep taking orders and making bread and cookies.
Management could be reached and contacted if there was problems and was the higher ups if needed.
it is a good work place culture, everyone gets along, but is divided between morning and nights.
The hardest part is having a few employees to cover the positions. Also having a high turn over rate and constantly training a new staff.
The most enjoyable part is the fresh baked bread and cookies the smell wonderful.
Pros
free sandwich every four hours worked
Cons
not always getting a break. running out of ingredients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just probably not the best first job
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Lodi, CAAugust 21, 2017
Very nice staff but for a first job it wasnt rigt for me. I would like t become a waitress due to the fact that i love greeting people and making them smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brawley, CAAugust 21, 2017
I worked at subway for a little over a year and i can say the typical day at work is like no other everyday is different and you learn new skills everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 21, 2017
The work was not hard at all, just the management. The manager was not the best. The workplace was always clean and customers were usually nice. The work schedule was very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
Subway Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXAugust 21, 2017
I do schedule and truck orders paperwork and make sure everything is good n we have everything for the day n week...
Make sure all employees are at work on time and is working n staying busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once you get there you will like it
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Greenwood, SCAugust 21, 2017
Overall nice place to work you allowed to take break there and once you get the hang of it you move up to something better that's all I have to say from me working there.
Pros
You can bond with customers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 23,336 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5