Find companies:
Subway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,883 reviews

Subway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me with sales skills and money candling experince.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Amherst, VASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: discounted lunches, 15 minute lunch breaks
Cons: no advancing in the work enivornment
A typical day at work I would show up in uniform, nice groomed, and presentable. I would clock in at the time I was to begin my shift. Depending if their were customers waiting what I would do next. I would wash my hands automatically regardless customer or not. If a customer was waiting apologize to them for the wait and begin to ask what kind of sub – more... would they like to try today? Go through all the subway questionnaires for the requirements for the job and proceed to up sale until they are ready to pay. If no customer were waiting I would begin to stock up foods by looking and comparing to the bar to the food preparation fridge. Then I would go back and prepare the foods we needed along with a bread count. Management wasn't as expected, Subway is all about "team work" but my manager didn't do her responsibilities so each co worker had to pick up slack for those who chose not to do their jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good
sandwich artist (Former Employee), Langley, OKSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: half off a sandwich for your break....
Cons: no pay and expect you to do all positions alone.....
the boss i had was not good at all; bad business.
the best thing here is being able to make a pretty sandwich..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Prep, Runner, Cashier, General (Former Employee), Far Rockway, N.Y.September 27, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short break
I really enjoyed working here cause you stay busy it's never boring you will always have something to do and that makes the work day go by fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun workplace
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Lomita, CASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: work is easy and enjoyable
Cons: we have to pay for our meal and no benefits
The store is always busy morning and night time. I'm assigned to work on the front and back to the store. Mostly customer service preparing food and after that cleaning the store.

I learned to work be courteous and polite to customer because we are always talking and doing there sandwiches.

I rate the management average but the is more room for improvement – more... since that time the owner is still new so he is still getting the hang of it.

My co-workers are great we all work together and make our work easier.

The hardest part of the job is on holidays that is the busies time we have to work double time.

The enjoyable part of the job is working with other team members the camaraderie is excellent and great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job until I found something better.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Ferndale, MISeptember 26, 2014
Easy work day. Did not learn much. Management was good. Co workers were ok. Nothing Hard about the job. Making customers smile was the most enjoyable part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what it is
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Centralia, MOSeptember 26, 2014
Fast food management, scheduling, hiring/firing, weekly inventory/sales reports, payroll, banking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and fast paced.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Somerset, KYSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: half price on food.
Cons: always being stressed. having to deal with many complaints from customers daily.
A typical day at work depended on what shift i was placed on. Day shift was more of a fast paced sub making basis and prepping the foods for the day. Night shift was more of an average paced sub making process and having to clean the store to help day shift the next morning. I learned how to work very fast and efficient and to deal with customer complaints – more... and make them happy. I listened to what management had to say but didn't always agree with it because i knew there was a faster smarter way. Most people i worked with were very easy going and we got all our work done. Hardest part was usually the lunch rush and the easiest part was prepping in the mornings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good product when not faced with a sloppy sandwich artist
Cashier/Sandwich Artist/Opener (Former Employee), Rincon, GASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: senior discounts on one single item per order, $3 breakfast combo, and pick of the day meal discounts
Cons: not all employees are able to work at the same level being unsupervised, pay rate wasn't a livable wage
I really enjoyed being employed at this particular location. Was mostly unsupervised and ran the show at times on my own. Very self-motivated position, with the product only being as good as the worker cares to assemble. Lots of flexibility, possibly too much for some. Overall, a great place to work. Enjoyed the customer interaction, and was a good – more... experience. Required good cash handling, as at times we had to go for change and smaller bills, and each employee was responsible for banking drawer upon opening and close. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face-paced, fun, and very enjoyable
Sandwhich Artist/Inventroy (Current Employee), Dyer, INSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: no actual set break time.
Start of the day usually begins with prepping food and maintaing store appearence of food displays.
I have learned to work in a fast environment while completeing each task correctly.
My management is wonderful to work with. They also participate with what needs to be done and encourage employees to reach daily goals.
I work with a younger group of – more... employees, where it has taught me how to direct and also encourage.
If done right, this job runs smooth and no task is to difficult to complete.
I love working with customers. I enjoy small chats with the regulars and meeting new people as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Opening/Closing Manager (Former Employee), Ballwin, MOSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no break and short staff
Subway was a good job I made sandwiches everyday and moved quickly, I did my paperwork I didn't have any problems, I had the best co-workers, we always worked as a team and got things done together we had a great time but people would quit and get fired every week this subway can not keep employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Lead Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Washington BlvdSeptember 26, 2014
Ive learned alot working in Subway...
I've learned how to handle irate customers or difficult co-employee. Giving good customer service makes me feel good especially when its busy and Im working all by myself. Doing multi-task is a challenge for me, I love challenges. Although, its hard but I can manage.

Most enjoyable part of the job is when its really – more... busy... you will see the team work ongoing on in that workplace. And its really nice to watch how systematic we are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
sandwich artist (Former Employee), Eugene, ORSeptember 26, 2014
Cons: 2 hours a week
Subway was okay to work at my some my co workers were really nice. The hardest part of this is not getting enough hours. i didn't really enjoy working there. It was a starter job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disheveled
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee), Danville, VASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: discounted food
Cons: no breaks if theres a customer youre on the clock if not you should be cleaning
If you are just starting out this is an ok place to work. Do not expect to make enough to get by in the real world. This job will teach you how to deal with high school all over again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't like this job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: everything about that place
It was not a great job to work for, the owner was always breaking his own stuff and the pay was not equal to the amount of work you were asked to do, 90% of the customers that go there are rude and not nice. The manager that manged the subway that I worked for was very dirty minded and made a lot of rude remarks about females. His ideals were molded – more... from someone that used to live in the 1930s, I don't really have anything good to say about my time there other then it was some money to maybe put me through school barley, and I am still having to figure out were to go now for work. When they laided me off there was no warning other then that I was barley getting any hours and then one day they just said that I was out of there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the public and the workplace is fun and productive
General Manager (Current Employee), Crane, MOSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: love working with the public and we have great employees and cutomers
Cons: pay no health insurance
it is a fun easy job
Some of the issues are the fact we are in such a small town and things break and I don't think they get fixed in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work, good people.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Pismo Beach, CASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: good management (depending), free meal with every shift
Cons: minimum wage, lots of waste
Management was strict in a good way. We were not allowed to slip up and we were spoken to if we did. My supervisor kept me on my toes and gave me an experience I will always keep.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Friendly environment
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), Neenah, WISeptember 25, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is the connections you make with your coworkers and your customers. I have learned and grown a lot as a manager here. A typical day includes maintaining a friendly customer oriented environment while keeping up with the fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee), Pekin, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: free sandwiches, 15% discount
Cons: short breaks, no benefits
A typical day at work involves making sandwiches and operating the register while customers are present, and cleaning the store in between orders. This job was a great first job, teaching responsibility and basic business skills. The hardest part about this job was closing at night and having the responsibility of the whole store on your shoulders. – more... The best part of this job was working with some great people who become really good friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at work
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Orland Hills, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: no health insurance
must be out going and ready to help every customer with there orders management and co-workers or friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great introductory job for young teens
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Clewiston, FLSeptember 25, 2014
i do have to say i did experience a bunch of knowledge, and got the basics of real life work. i feel that any fast food joint is a great place for teens to start in the work field, other than internships in their career fields of course.

About Subway

The SUBWAY restaurant chain is the world's largest submarine sandwich franchise, with more than 28,500 locations in 86 countries. – Read more