Sumitomo Electric Wiring Systems

Sumitomo Electric Wiring Systems Employee Reviews in United States

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Stable Place to Work with Good Teamwork
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Moody, ALJuly 13, 2012
SEWS is a fun and challenging place to work. Management can be spotty, depending on who you end up with, but general cooperative atmosphere is enjoyable. The only low point in my opinion is the low compensation rate and slow promotion system when compared with other companies.
Pros
teamwork, challenging work environment, always new challenges
Cons
low pay, slow advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hectic place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scottsville, KYMarch 28, 2013
There were very few typical days. As an Admin. Assist., things change quickly in an automotive mfg. facility.
I learned when there are customer complaints, we move fast.
Management changed constantly. My coworkers were great!
The hardest part of the job is communication between Japanese and Americans.
The most enjoyable part is having good laughs when the Japanese misunderstood American slang and things!!!
Pros
pretty good benefits.
Cons
management not being organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits & Fast-Paced Environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  KentuckyDecember 11, 2012
SEWS' offers excellent benefits and is a great place to work. If you like the challenge and fast-pace that the automotive industry provides, I would definitely recommend a career with Sumitomo.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plesant atmosphere with nice people to work with
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Scottsville, KYSeptember 24, 2014
When I got to work I would go to the station I was assigned , start your paperwork and then you would begin. I learned to operate some machines I'd never seen before and management kept us informed on how the QA lab had been doing . I worked with pleasant people and as a team we did our jobs . I had never used some of the equipment before and it was hard to learn but I did learn how to use them and I guess that was the most enjoyable thing.
Pros
good healthcare
Cons
not giving time off for receiving custody of kids like they do if you adopt kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with excellent benefits and opportunities!
Administrative (Current Employee) –  KentuckyFebruary 8, 2013
Sumitomo has been a great opportunity for me. It may not be the perfect place to work for everyone but it has been the PERFECT place for me and my family. There is a close knit family atmosphere especially due to the history of SEWS started here in rural south central KY. Althought SEWS started in a rural area, we are located throughout the globe. Please join our team if you want to work for a dynamic and intercultural company.
Pros
best benefits!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IF you can't find a job anywhere else...
Logistics (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 31, 2013
Always Hiring because of high employee turnover
Slow and boring - not a dynamic or motivating environment
Everybody wants to leave the company
Pros
there are some good people.. but they're in the minority.
Cons
terrible hr, little chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Press Operator/QA
Machine Press Operator and Quality Assurance (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, KYMarch 12, 2015
Operated a machine die press of fuse boxes for automobiles,assembly,stock,and quality checks for final product.
Worked in a team environment to hit production targets. Some mandatory overtime was issued at last minute.. Being able to listen to a radio and go outside for breaks
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
over time given at last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment
Engineering Co-op (Current Employee) –  Northville, MIDecember 14, 2013
Sumitomo has been a very great learning environment for me. I have learn a great deal on what engineers do on a day to day basis. The co workers are friendly and the managing staff are great as well.
Pros
diverse culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a nice clean place to work
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYApril 1, 2014
I was engineer assistant that wrote operation standards, did time studies and line balancing. I also built trial harnesses and evaluated them. One thing I liked about my job is I was not always sitting at a computer, some days I was up moving around building harnesses and other days I did computer work all day. I also was involved with Kaizen presentation and projects. There was very little that I disliked about that job, too bad it went to Mexico.
Pros
free kaizen trips to differrent areas of the world.
Cons
life insureance kept going up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Operator (Former Employee) –  ScottsvilleFebruary 7, 2013
Overall good place to work. Safety and quality-oriented, and have recommended family to work there. Plant was clean and organized compared to other places I've been.
Pros
team atmosphere, safe and clean environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive professonal company
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, KYJuly 13, 2013
Found the managment and opertions at SEWS to be very proffesonal and growth minded.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

See more Sumitomo Electric Wiring Systems reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Sumitomo Electric Wiring Systems Reviews by Location