Summit Credit Union Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Hardworking company
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Sun Prairie, WIJanuary 5, 2017
Great atmosphere and hard workers. Really enjoyed building relationships with members and co-workers. Hardest part of the job was working with large amounts of money.
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Had to work Saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for
Member Service Teller (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIDecember 20, 2016
A typical day would include handle member transactions and seeing if there is any way Summit could benefit them in any way. Cash handling from vault to vault, vault to teller or teller to members.
Schedule appointment and make sure all BOC duties are finished.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summit
Member Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Baraboo, WIDecember 16, 2016
Teller Transactions
Cash Handling
Member service request
customer service
cash balancing
transaction perfection
multiple layer requests
Pros
hour lunches
Cons
had to drive 20 min
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good, not great
Membership Service teller (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 5, 2016
lots of benefits, definatly keeps you busy for the time that you are there. but can get very dull and uneventful at times. would work their again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Job
Learning and Organizational Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 3, 2016
I have worked for Summit for 8 years. From day 1, my manager supported my quest to find the right fit for my talents and needs. I have been incredibly happy with this company! PLUS, the benefits are amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture
Member Service Teller (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 17, 2016
Overall this was a very good place to work. The pay is competitive, the benefits are great, and most of the people you work with are friendly. My one criticism is that they try to convince you being a Teller or Universal Banker isn't a sales job, but you have referral goals to meet every month. Sales are absolutely part of the job. Granted, the sales are mutually beneficial for both the credit union and its members, but they're sales nonetheless.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was not cooperative or considerate
Peak Time Teller (Former Employee) –  WisconsinApril 20, 2016
No matter what you do to be the best employee you can it's never enough. The environment was depressing and no one liked each other but faked it.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great benefits
Financial Dream Coach (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 7, 2016
I have been in this position for about 5 years now and I am bored and looking for new challenges. I met with HR and unfortunately there are no positions that interest me at this time.
Pros
great job satisfaction
Cons
Bored
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Teller (Former Employee) –  MadisonOctober 7, 2015
Summit Credit Union is a very unethical place to work for. I would not recommend it if you are looking for a long-term and professional career.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior underwriter
Senior Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Beaver Dam, WIOctober 3, 2015
Taking loan applications, decision the application, to closing the loan. there was a lot of selling. I was at a small office, so it was very nice, 6 employees.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
selling
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has good concept but many different people butting heads
Senior Member Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 2, 2015
Overall, they're ok. They try to talk their company up in the hiring and onboarding process and then you see the reality once you've been there for a bit. They seem to be becoming more sales based and less member/employee centered. They try to do a lot of community involvement, but I question if this is just for attention. Their is a lot of turnover and makes for an unstable workplace.
Pros
Gainshare
Cons
politics, "favorites", you feel replaceable
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lending Advisor (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 6, 2015
Teamwork is awesome, good customer service and hospitality, could be stressful at busy shifts, not much benefits, flexibility with schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credit Union
Teller (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJuly 21, 2015
I worked as a teller. I often operated the drive-thru alone. As a teller I assisted members' with their transactions and managed the cash transactions of my drawer. I processed payments and at times balanced the vault and ATM machine by myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little room for advancement, terrible culture in Milwaukee market and 0 senior leadership.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 30, 2014
Senior management does not listen to employees, does not care about solutions only popularity.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job review
Member Services Representative III (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 27, 2014
 Handled all customer service needs, as well as assisting with deposits, withdraws and payments
 Responsible for troubleshooting client issues as well as opening/closing accounts as needed, and inventory
 Trained staff in teller related functions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Financial Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIDecember 29, 2013
Overall good, I like the people and the customers (members).
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with great core values
Financial Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 23, 2013
This was an extremely fulfilling position and company. Their member service is top notch! Changing a members financial position was one of the most rewarding aspects of this position.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun at work makes it more productive
Financial Specialist (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 20, 2013
Typical day at work starts with looking at our calendar to make sure we have it uptodate so our call center can setup appointments for our members.
My coworkers are great and we enjoy talking about things we have in common, e.g. kids.
The hardest part of the job is working weekends and the most enjoyable is throughout the day we tell jokes and say silly things to each other to keep smiling.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Co-Workers, Enviroment.
Cons
Working Weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive CEO
Chief Retail Officer (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 15, 2013
Solid credit union with a lot of fun. Needs more work in the sales culture.

Great co-workers. great place to work and a fun environment.

Hardest part was firing people and seeing people leave.
Pros
Great Benefits -- to good
Cons
Too many hours -- good employees can burn out
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a high volume job.
Member Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greensboro,NCJanuary 22, 2013
The regular day at work was never the same. It was exciting our customers made it fun as well as co workers. Their was room for advancement I went from Teller, to Member Service Representative, and the to the Accounting Department. I would process all the checks through Federal Reserve.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Summit Credit Union. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.9