Summit Merchant Solutions Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place To work
Merchant Consultant (Former Employee) –  Carlton, TXJune 3, 2016
It was door to door sales. They said that they had schedule appoints but it was far from the truth.

They lied to customer, it was credit card sales.

I would not recommend this job to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very difficult way to make a living and did not live up to promises made
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 29, 2015
I was told that calls would be scheduled for me and that there would be no cold calls. I was scheduled to make calls but most of the people contacted had said that they would not be interested in the product. I had to resort to make cold calls, and could not close many sales.
Pros
My immediate supervisor was very personable and helpful
Cons
The market for this product is oversaturated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GaSeptember 16, 2015
Team leaders are rude and disrespectful. It's all about the money. You spend 7 hours training with the trainer then the team leader tells you to do it the way they want you to do it.

The appointments are fake. Clients don't even know your coming there. Waste of their time and your.
They tell you they will only send you 10 to 20 miles from your home. Lies, Lies,lies.
They will send you 26 miles west then while your there set you next appointment 29 miles east. Which is over 55 miles. Avg mileage on car a day is 150. Wasting gas to make Nothing

I started and ending on my first day due to terrible business practices
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 11, 2015
A day at work is to call and set as many appointments as I can. I find ways to talk to the business owners. The best part is sometimes we have contest to see what person or group can set the most appointments. The winners get to go home early with pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Sales for Summit Merchant Solutions
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 4, 2015
...A joke. A shame... Glad that I did not waste too much time with the company. Really the company needs to consider a base pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to work on my own terms and to accept as many jobs as I could take on
Merchant Salesman (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 6, 2015
I enjoyed working for Summit because I could plan my week based on the amount of work I wanted to take on. The benefits of working there were great. Working here allowed me to advance my personal and social skills, especially recently moving to a new city and not knowing anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will not pay earned commissions!
merchant sales consultant (Current Employee) –  WisconsinDecember 1, 2014
I have been working for "summit" which is really Certified payment processors for a few months. I have only been paid on a fraction of my sales. THIS IS NOT LEGITIMATE EMPLOYMENT JUST A SCAM! Beware of positive reviews as they are clearly written by managers in their boiler room to keep their scam going.
Pros
none.
Cons
still waiting on 1000's in commissions. fake appointments. scam to merchants. embarrassing "job".
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced challenge for strong self starters
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 6, 2014
A typical day starts at 8:00 am by calling in to your team leader and getting the first business location you are to call on. This is called an appointment, but rarely is the merchant actually expecting you. You make most of your money by generating your own sales by cold calling on businesses. The toughest part of the job is getting turned down so often. You probably go into about 25 businesses for every one sale on average. The best part of the job is that you are interacting with people all day and get to meet a lot of interesting people.
Pros
you can make money quickly
Cons
customer service and followup with existing customer is discouraged
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Enviroment
Corporate Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TxNovember 21, 2012
Handled bulk applications received from Hot Jobs, Monster, and various job search engines
Worked various computer applications Microsoft Word, Power Point, Excel
Conducted phone interviews stating specific details of job description. Hired sales representatives to sale merchant processing services and equipment to small business owners
Entered text and 10 keyed numerical data throughout work day
Maintained high close ratio in competitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your Typical Telemarking Job
Telemarketing/ Sales (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXFebruary 24, 2013
Any Commission job is going to be hard but it wasn't a terrible job. their company is based off in Texas, it is kind of like work from home job and everything is handled over the phone and email but in a professional way, they sell credit machines and you are like a Representative selling for them and you have a closer and they call you and give you the leads, i made a couple of sales, its a legit job but its isn't for me
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a break room
Appointment Planner (Former Employee) –  Richardson,TexasMay 8, 2012
I had a nice experience but when you first get hired you are mislead. They do not tell you that your rate of pay is basically pay plus commission I was told that I would start at one rate of pay but it was three dollars less . the management told me that if I wanted to make more than I would have to schedule more appointments
Pros
good hours, close to my house
Cons
no health care, short breaks pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summit was a very similar work environment to APEX as it was owned and operated by the same individual who would later own and operate APEX.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXMay 21, 2014
My duties at Summit were the exact same as those at APEX with the exception that I did not manage the inside Team Leaders at Summit.
Pros
same as apex
Cons
same as apex
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXApril 12, 2012
it was very easy customer service phone service the coworkers were great only thing is that we had to meet certain requirements or we would get laid off didnt really like that about this job but it was a good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviorment to work in
Appointment setter (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXMarch 27, 2012
you have to be very money motivated for this job its very verbatim, and you have to stay positive doing this because appointment setting it can break your spirts
Pros
bonues everyday
Cons
pay changes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous...
Outsales Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 20, 2013
I hated this job. The Team Leaders were horrible and rude and the training was definetely didn't help. Save yourself the time and don't apply.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for security reasons
Appointment Setter/Data entry agent (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXAugust 23, 2013
This job was okay. Management not so great but otherwise this was the best job I had. Good pay and wonderful hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summit Merchant Sollutions would rate a D- in my book
Merchant Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 23, 2013
Summit Merchant Solutions is a company that I learned was not a company of clear honesty and integrity. My experience there was that what is promised is not always gained or received. I went long distances on supposed appointments where the supposed manager or business owner said that there was never a secured appointment made. Some even said that they told the telemarketer that they were not interested in the services or making any changes from their current provider. The supervisor doing the phone commands at SMS often told the prospective customer things that were not true about what the cost and services would be, on occasions causing the customer to totally disengage from the business prospective. The projected commissions were reduced by free items and services offered by the supervisor in an attempt to lock business in the SMS account. I spent more for gas and supply acquisition than I received in pay for a total of only $255.00 for the month and a half that I was with SMS. For the time that I was with Summit Merchant Solutions I drove 40 to 80 miles per day for January 2013 and February 2013 with no mileage compensation and with contract often not agreed nor signed.
Pros
prospective good pay if occurs by the projected outline.
Cons
so many competitors that unlikely to maintain contracts. total straight commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Summit Merchant Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.1
Management
2.4
Culture
2.7

Summit Merchant Solutions Reviews by Location