Find companies:
Summit Oaks Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Summit Oaks Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health Associate
Utilization Review Case Manager (Current Employee), Summit, NJMarch 20, 2014
Working on the units with the patients and assisting in their ADLs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Registered Nurse / Psychiatric Nurse (Current Employee), Summit, NJMarch 12, 2014
Pros: co-workers help each other
Cons: employees feel they are working in an unsafe environment
A typical day consists of medicating and monitoring patients, doing admission assessments, discharging, and transferring patients to other units. I learned how to multitask, how to lead a nursing group, and how to deescalate patients. The management does not seem to care that the facility is chronically short staffed. My co-workers are wonderful and – more... work as team members. The hardest part of the job is having to work in crisis mode where 2 nurses are responsible for 26 patients and are getting bombarded with new admissions coming in. There is no unit secretary and the nurses have an excessive amount of paper work to do. There is only one security person for the entire facility. The most enjoyable part of the job is when patients thank me for helping them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi-tasking skill needed.
Charge/Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Summit, NJMarch 12, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, free coffee, meals available, clean atmosphere
Cons: busy, fast paced, not getting paperwork completed by end of shift
Busy, dynamic, and always improving skills, as you work on each unit. Ability to mulitask is essential ,with good organization, and time management skills necessary. Co workers are basically dedicated and caring, and management are down to earth, and approachable. The hardest part of the work is: the amount of paperwork (no computerization, or EMR) – more... all documentation is hand written. Best part? Getting done and leaving on time. Health care is not ever called "easy or fun" but it has its' rewards when done well, and you then see the good results reflected in reviews and patient surveys. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needed treatment just as much as the patients
assessment counselor (Former Employee), NjNovember 13, 2013
Pros: ??
Cons: management has favorites
Worst department to work in is assessment and referral. Staff is pinned against each other and management will never back it's employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Mental Health Associate (Former Employee), Summit, NJNovember 6, 2013
Not a place I would like to go back to though I did learn a lot about all different kinds of patients and sicknesses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst facility I have ever worked at !
registered nurse (Current Employee), Summit,NJAugust 15, 2013
Pros: could find none
Cons: every thing
90% of fellow nurses very unhappy with incompetent supervisors expecting unrealistic work load. Directly impacts patients level of care which is poor.Unfair to nurses who do hold standards in regards to optimal patient care and respect.( Bill of Rights) . No time available to actually talk with patients,educate or offer emotional support.No preceptors – more... for new nursing staff.Patients complain of not being offered treatment and rights as stated upon admission. Older units dirty and in much need for repair.Not enough activities offered to patients on the weekends. Everyone disappears except for the NURSES !!..Shocked at the impersonal,lack of knowledge of hands on nursing C.N.O.presented. These are LIVE patients,not textbook doubles. Unfortunately most enjoyable part of job is leaving. Looking for new job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tedious environment to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Summit, NJMay 6, 2013
a company experience good for a starter ready to struggle in the field of nursing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most healthcare facilities are experiencing the same cutbacks, and "working more with less" for nurses.
Registered nurse (Current Employee), Dual DiagnosisMarch 23, 2013
Pros: free coffee, meals are available at reasonable prices, 401k with matching, dedicated staff.
Cons: staffing ratios based on census, non-computerized documentation, admissions, medication administration, duplication of paperwork.
Summit Oaks is a face-paced alcohol, drug and mental health facility that operates without computer technology. The old-fashioned way of passing medications, charting, admitting, and documentation is in effect. This makes everything, nurses, and all other disciplines do, take longer, with more chance for error, as we try to get the paperwork completed. – more... The facility can use upgrades, and more house-keeping after hours, especially for admissions that are most concentrated on evening shift. A typical day at work is fast-paced, and rarely is all paperwork work completed by the end of shift. Co-workers are better than past experiences I've had, as far as treating each other, for the most part, with respect, and being a team-player. Administration, and management are caring, and are approachable.
In healthcare many facilities are experiencing cut-backs, down-sizing, and higher acuity, with less inpatient stays, yet nurse's are still trying to provide "excellent patient care" in a healthcare environment that is cutting back on literally everything. I believe you have to decide what matters most at work, when choosing your place of employment. The staff work together, because there is plenty to do, the old-fashioned way. Summit Oaks doesn't have computer technology, and I miss that, it's important for the future of nursing, and decreasing the time nurse's spend away from patient care.
The hardest part of the job is, the never-ending flow of paperwork to complete on a daily basis. The most enjoyable aspects are, the staff, and many of the patients, who are motivated toward recovery, and grateful for the care they received. I have experienced that, and it keeps me coming back. We can choose to dwell on the positive, or negative aspects of any job we take. Summit Oaks is what you make it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and under staff
Mental Health Technician (Current Employee), Summit, NJDecember 11, 2012
Pros: nothing important
Cons: short break, cancellations
The working environment used to be great but now it's not. It is stressful and under staff. Nice co-workers which we get along very well. I learned to do my best, be myself and help those who are in need. The hardest part of the job is under staffing and the most enjoyable part of the job is working as a team and at the end of the I know that I have – more... help somebody who was in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced intense inpatient psych unit
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Summit, NJMarch 29, 2012
Worked as intern. Conducted psycho-social assessments, informal counseling, mental status exams, discharge planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the patients at summit oaks.
Mental Health Associate(MHA) (Current Employee), summit NJFebruary 27, 2012
I love working with the patients at summit oaks. They make me value life and make me a better person by sharing & caring for all the patients i come across.