Summit Security Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better Security Companies
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYOctober 14, 2015
Whatever Location you are sent to, be ready to work long hours. Depending on the location is how the job will be hard or easy going. Summit can be a decent job placement. My co-workers weren't the smartest of the bunch. It can be enjoyable if you don't let the hours get to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hectic work environment
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 12, 2015
i learned that one can be right and still get the dirty end of the stick. one of the hardest thing to do is to get customers and sometimes co-workers to operate in unison with one end goal in mind.
Pros
opportunity to interact and help various people from different ethnic and religious backgrounds
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  New York CityOctober 12, 2015
Security guarrds are disrepected by management, worthless to talk about it. They do not listen to the guards and don't care about any thing but the clients.
Pros
N/A
Cons
Plenty
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet new people.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  NY,NYAugust 19, 2015
The job it self was okay just depends on the contracts that you are working with which will dictate your pay. I enjoyed meeting new people everyday and everyone was easy to work with.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to apply if you are looking for a job
Security officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2015
Summit security is a good place to work if you like security but no benefits for the Security Guards
There is a lot you can learn about this job and you may be able to use that and move up to supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same old same old
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  NYJune 21, 2015
It is a place for people who are just coming into security but not the type of place for a person to stay for their career. It could be better but the same time it is one of those places that pays good so you just go and do it..
Pros
co-workers
Cons
mostly everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun to workplace
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Union, NJJanuary 7, 2015
no benefits, no promotion even though you ve been working for years
Pros
only free lunch
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
CORPORATE SECURITY OFFICER AT JP MORGAN CHASE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 16, 2014
Not a bad place to work for. Friendly, professional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Security guard (Current Employee) –  Rockleigh, NJNovember 22, 2014
they put you in far away locations always short on guards when need to take time off. i never called out yet just when i want to call in sick they never seem to have coverage for me.
Pros
easy job no action
Cons
bad handling employees and always short on guards
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but need to pay more money for things that they have you doing
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 28, 2014
at summit I learned how to use the cctv camera and also I got to meet a lot of celebraties and how to use the fire board and control the smoke and alarm systems and go on and off line in the buildings security system.
Pros
sometimes we get free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive Environment
Front Desk Attendant (Current Employee) –  New York, N.Y.October 17, 2014
A typical day would be directing visitors to proper departments, distributing mail throughout the office, filing paperwork and maintaining a high level of security for staff.
Pros
interacting with different people.
Cons
short working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 8, 2014
Management did not seem to care about the problems and concerns of the employees at my assigned site. We had no input into how security could and should have been improved at the site. I had to train every officer that came to the site. They lacked report writing skills. Every 11pm-7am officer did not know how to properly enter the shift on the timesheet. The 11pm-7am officers did not know the meaning of punctuality.
Pros
very reliable and outstanding 7am-3pm officer.
Cons
human resources never acknowledged requests for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summit Security
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  New York Metro AreaAugust 4, 2014
A great place to work. I was a floater so I got to experience different work settings and I learned a lot.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYJuly 13, 2014
great job pay to start is horrible but if you stay in a while it goes up to a decent price. however now i hear they start at 15.00 for certain sites
Pros
good people, co workers great, good management
Cons
certain sites are bad
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I told to expect
Security officer (Current Employee) –  New York, nyJune 4, 2014
Summit security gets average $30 per man and pays workers $10-$12 and doesn't provide the proper equipment. They don't hire non experience guard and pay the experience guard bottom dollar. Only recommend this company if can't find work elsewhere.
Pros
immediate hire
Cons
low pay and horrible job culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with this company
Concierge (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2014
I have been with Summit for ten years. To be honest all jobs have their ups and down. With Summit it wasn't that bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An abundance of brilliant minds and positive energy from building patrons.
Corporate Concierge (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 2, 2014
A typical day as corporate concierge involves psychical labor but most importantly psychological preparedness. Secondly, I maintain a professional, cordial and optimistic demeanor at all times. I find myself be a pocket sized personal assistant when it comes to the tenants. I provided services that help and ensure that a clients workload is simplified by providing them with assistance with out going parcels, phone calls, guest clearance, pampering of their guest and much more.
Pros
being given recognition and ackolades for the effort and attention that i focuse towards clients.
Cons
no health insurance benefits and little room for finincial and personal growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay cinsidering most Security companies dont even pay $10
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Suffolk County NYMarch 22, 2014
Got a nice gig 9-5 at a County building , share same descriptions with local police and county police . So nice co-workers and nobody talks down on you . Got a nice routine down and everybody likes to work with you .
Pros
dont have to wait on another guard, 9-5 in a security field is golden .
Cons
no health insurance, paid days off, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 14, 2014
good place to start security job.... the pay is not bad at all
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with oppurtunity for growth
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 22, 2014
a typical day at work is fast pace and fun.

I've learned how to use security camera systems

my co-workers are nice and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture