Find companies:
Sun Chemical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Sun Chemical Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want a job and not a career
Customer Account Analyst (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 28, 2014
Sun Chemical offers you the opportunity to have a job and make a decent wage, but if you have ambitions to be promoted within the company, this is not the place for you. You will consistently be busy answering calls, placing orders, completing reports, etc., but you'll notice that your workload becomes heavier and you'll have more responsibilities but – more... no increase in pay. It only seemed as though lateral movements were available in the Customer Support group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work.
Material Maker (Former Employee), Maumee, OHJuly 22, 2014
Make materials for polymer plates, Polymer plate maker.
Learn how to run imager, exposure unit, wash out unit and dryers
Management was great. Co-worker were very helpful always there to help when I needed it. loved the job. It was only an assignment job from Manpower.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SUN was a good place to work
Laboratory ink technician (Former Employee), West Allis, WIJune 26, 2014
I would like to say Thanks for the opportunity to work with such great people back then. It was a great experience. I feel I made the best of it during my time with them. They taught me the industry from the ground up. I spent time in the LAB doing QC of all the inks produced in that plant. Special projects in the LAB. Filling in for vacationing employees – more... at inplant sites. I had a varied amount of duties and enjoyed it alot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good environment
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Saint Charles, ILMay 27, 2014
The work was good, training was solid, which was especially helpful as it was my first venture into the field of commercial/industrial inks.

Typical day was largely the same from day to day, creating ink samples, matching colors to recipes and reformulating the recipes to get a closer match to the color that the customer wanted. Repetitive, but not – more... boring.

Direct management was good, though the upper management communication could have been better, as there were some times when there was confusion as to what exactly was going on and what was supposed to be happening at a particular time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Lead Computer Operator (Former Employee), Fort Lee, NJMay 15, 2014
Pros: learned a lot, great manager and workers.
Cons: none.
My first job in IT.
My manager was great, he helped me a lot along the way and was a great friend.
My co-workers were the best and helped me learn everything.
Thanks to the awesome Manager and Co-workers for everything that i learned and am today in this field.
To bad the company moved to Chicago.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work.
Chemical Operator (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYApril 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch every friday
Cons: it was always pizza
The job was a great place to work, I would recommend to anyone looking for a career .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Grade 10 Chemical Tech (Current Employee), Goose Creek, SCApril 6, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: lack of training
Average place to work, plenty of hours but lacks solid training area for new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Ink Processor (Former Employee), jacksonville,flFebruary 4, 2014
•Place ink in 55gallon drum, 3 ½ gallon kits and tankers.
•Printed labels for correct ink placement.
•Fork lift operator hoisting and transported heavy objects to loading base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and organized company
Interactive Control Room Operator (Former Employee), Wurtland, KYJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: excellent place to work
Cons: – pay is less than stellar, most people are paid below industry average. benefits are probably above average, but have been declining over the last few years (as i suspect everyone's are)
The most enjoyable part of this job was the work schedule. After seven days of harsh chemical exposure in the work environment, we were treated to seven days off work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited room for advancement
Material Requirements Planner (Former Employee), bay area,caDecember 17, 2013
Management had limited knowledge of the day-to-day routine and therefor compensated based on assumptions rather than who was contributing the most to the company's success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something differnet to do
Ink Operator (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXDecember 11, 2013
Pros: there wasn't to much fuss on long lunches or breaks
Cons: wanted work done on time some time
When making ink there is always something different.I was always ontime. Very dependable work well with others.I was also invited to go to a company meeting to Chicago.And i was giving a good report from those 3 days of meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Warehouse (Current Employee), New Brunswick, NJDecember 11, 2013
Pros: perfect hours
Cons: they only have temp positions
I only worked for kvk as a temp but it seems to be more like a family then work .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work nice people
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 12, 2013
i really enjoyed the people and environment. the place has a gym which is nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interned under corporate IT management.
IT Assistant (Former Employee), Muskegon, MIAugust 7, 2013
Pros: comfortable workplace
Cons: internship instead of employement
The days starts out with a short meeting with my employer covering what was done already, what still needed to be done, and what future plans were in store. After that, I was luckily kept busy because of dated systems so we got to work. I learned about older systems and software that was very familiar to me from school, even though it was a bit more – more... dated than I expected. I accompanied my boss with the weekly meetings so that I could get a feel for what it was like as far as corporate meetings go. None of the job was exceptionally difficult as it was fairly easy going, but I suppose having to learn how systems that are far older than what I was taught on proved a enjoyable challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me advance to my next goal, management
In-Plant Technician (Former Employee), Wixom, MIJune 26, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement
Cons: on call, even during class.
Follow up with managers, supervisors, and workers to serve their needs as I was a rep for my company, Sun Chemical. I learned a great deal about customer service and dealing with tense situations and deadlines. Management and co-workers were great! They helped me get familair with the company's day to day routine so I could develope a better understanding – more... of my role. The hardest part was leaving the company but it was for a better opprotunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st In-plant
Ink Technician/Manager (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJune 15, 2013
My first In-plant with Sun Chemical was my first look at my future of all and any future management position's. I can remember like it was yesterday., for the first 6 month's nothing went right. But, as soon as we got a handle on thing's, it was so much better. A stepping stone for my future endeavor's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work from home at least once a week
Master Data Analyst (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 4, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: many changes
Very busy and productive. Every day a learning experience becasue of the changes made daily by programer or customer. My co workers were freindly and helpful. The hardest part was keeping up the the changes. The enjoyable part were the people there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IN MY OPINION, SUN CHEMICAL IS A DEAD END JOB, WITH LITTLE CHANCE FOR ADVANCEMENT IN PAY OR POSITION.
CHEMICAL PRODUCTION TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Goose Creek, SCMay 21, 2013
Pros: co-workers.
Cons: management.
A TYPICAL DAY, STARTS OFF WITH A SHIFT TURNOVER MEETING WITH SUPERVISOR, AND CO-WORKERS. ONCE WE GET THE STATUS OF THINGS, OUR SUPERVISOR GIVES US THE PRIORITIES FOR THE DAY. MY CO-WORKER AND I SPLIT THE WORK IN HALF, BUT ASSIST EACH OTHER WHEN / WHERE NEEDED. DUTIES COULD INVOLVE: RUNNING BATCHES, CLEANING EQUIPMENT, DOING MAINTENANCE ON EQUIPMENT, – more... WORKING IN THE LAB, FORKLIFT WORK, OR COMPUTER DATA ENTRY. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In general good company to work for
Global Cash Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 15, 2013
Pros: good benfits
Cons: internet is taking over large portion of the business - publications.
In Global Cah Operations depoartment you are accounts payable, receiveable and bank reconciliation at the same time. You are involved in all areas of a finacial field of the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work !!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), carlstadt njOctober 15, 2012
I have worked for this company many years ago and from what I can remember it was excellent that's why I am looking for work there again

About Sun Chemical

Sonoco Products believes you can judge a container by its packaging. The company is one of the world's largest makers of industrial – Read more

Sun Chemical Photos