Find companies:
Sun Communities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Sun Communities Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Community Manager (Current Employee), Nappanee, INAugust 12, 2014
Pros: lot of vacation time for employees
Cons: my community
good company to work for, I just didn't get one of the better communities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great concept, but lacking in the basics
Maintenance Tech (Current Employee), GeorgiaJuly 8, 2014
Pros: low on call times
Cons: not the job i was sold
The company has a great concept of lease to own homes. The thought is that leasing homes to own eases the cost of the property, especially maintenance. The problem is comes in where the job of maintenance becomes more of a landscaping and janitorial position. I would say that 85-90 percent of my job falls in those two categories. The final 10 -15 percent – more... is miscellaneous and maintenance work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community, excellent training potential, good commision and bonus program.
Community Manager (Former Employee), Byron Center, MIJuly 1, 2014
Pros: pay, good community, good regionals, company promotions
Cons: high stress, ran out of homes and no empty lots to bring new homes in.
High expectation company. you are allowed to excel and bonuses and commissions support it. Standard monthly checklist and meeting with supervisor are constantly checked for opportunities for sales or leases. They are publicly traded and are always worried about numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great lunch with a bunch of great friends
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Middletown, OHJune 10, 2014
Pros: 1 sometimes 2 times a month free lunch - mgr. was great - i enjoyed working fro her.
Cons: no cons - i loved working there .
typical day was loaded with hard work,which is great because i enjoy
working with a challenge - co-workers (maint. staff) always joined in.
mgr. and office staff was always busy.
hardest part of the job ; was digging a 3-4 ft. hole to repair broken water lines.
hardest part of the job was cleaning out the waste station , daily.
it`s human waste , and – more... it stinks.
what i learned from this job is ; it`s not always about how much money you make,it`s about the people you work with.
there was no fighting , no arguing, no bickering, no politics,
everyone seriously are friends. and yes even to this day we still keep in contact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Community Manager and Sales Consultant (Current Employee), wMay 28, 2014
Enjoyable atmosphere, fun co workers and excellent corpaorate offices
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Firestone, CoApril 3, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: no benefits for hourly employees, low wages, bad management, poor working environment.
Very poor work environment. I was constantly threaten with my job. I was denied or made fun of when asked to take a 15 minute break. I was belittled by management repeatedly. Definitely NOT a good place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Pressure
Community Manager (Former Employee), Canton, MIJanuary 24, 2014
Don't believe in their employee's! Don't pay separation wages that are due and do not pay PTO earned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really rather not comment
Community Manager (Former Employee), Southfield, MIDecember 20, 2013
I dont have anything positive to say about this company, only that they allow one bad apple to spoil the bunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedule
KITCHEN HELPER (Current Employee), Geneva-on-the-LakeNovember 15, 2013
I enjoy my job and my co-workers. The hours in the winter time are less than I was expecting but during the summer months, I was able to have a full time schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, excellent pay
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), southfield, MichiganNovember 5, 2013
Corporate environment. Nice co-workers. Cool Management. Great Benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Work Environment
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Ft.Myers, FLOctober 13, 2013
Pros: the residents and guests were great!
Cons: two miserable front desk co-workers.
The very first day I worked for Sun Communities I was about to walk out.
Two women that were now my co-workers had big chips on their shoulders. They both were very rude and unwelcoming. Later I learned that one of the women applied for the opportunity that I was offered and she did everything in her power to try to make it miserable for me. My responsibilities – more... as the Office Coordinator were overwhelming but I managed to get my work completed. The manager had poor training skills; when it came to lease contracts the paperwork had to be redone over and over again and homeowners were inconvenienced by having to come in again and again to initial changes that had to be made. How embarrassing! Not to mention the manager took no accountability for these errors and instead left me to make all of the corrections and face the residents while she sat back and collected the commissions. The most enjoyable part of the job was leaving at the end of the day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company I've ever worked for.
District Manager (Current Employee), Southfield, MISeptember 26, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours
Great upper management, great support staff and great pay. My only problem is the long hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment with wonderfull coworkers.
Pool monitor (Former Employee), Goshen, INSeptember 14, 2013
Cons: seasonal job only.
I enjoyed this job a lot. It wasn't a real hard job, opening up the pool and cleaning it and the restrooms and surrounding area before people could swim. I would check the pool levels 3 times a day and do what I needed to do if I needed to correct them. My co-workers and management were all really nice, and I got along with them all. I think the hardest – more... part of the job for me was being outside all day, Im not a fan of hot weather. I enjoyed the job and all the new people I was able to meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for.
Office Coordinator / Office Assistant (Current Employee), greater Detroit areaMay 10, 2013
Pros: you have the availability to earn commission's on sales.
Cons: no regular medical benefits for full time hourly employees, extremely limited reimbursement compensation.
Sun Communities is very educational oriented with opportunity for advancement within the company. I've learned about listing, selling and closing on home sales. The hardest part of the job of an office coordinator is how demanding the job is. You have to be able to stay on task, while answering phones, being able to stop what you're doing at any moment – more... and running off to show homes available for purchase or lease. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees required to "wear lots of hats"
Resort Management (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLApril 19, 2013
Corporate Management increasing demands on employees, resort staff and management = forced to wear many hats therefore decreasing customer service. Fail to put guests first and reward loyal repeat guests and owners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the job upper support was great
Manager (Former Employee), Holly Hill, FlMarch 2, 2013
Pros: corporate would work with you and any problem
Cons: could not talk to anyone about regional vp she needs to be in jail.
The regional vice president could not tell the truth. She lied on a daily basis and cover her a--- all at cost. Even your job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management
pool monitor (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: i like most of my co-workers and working at a pool
Cons: very poor management
did not like this job only because of the property manager; she treated everyone not as equals and is racist towards anyone who is not white and she displayed this racism several times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day you are in fear of losing your job.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Hudson, FLFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: lots of cons
Very BAD middle management, you are begraded almost on a daily basis. We were even called "idiots".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
N/A (Current Employee), Main OfficeJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: great pay, gym, rapport.
Sun is a great place to work. In my short time here, I have noticed that the rapport between all of the employees is great. It is so rare to work in an environment where everyone greets one another and support each other's visions. The care about the well-being of the employees and off an on-site gym which can be used free of charge! There is plenty – more... of room for advancement and they strongly believe in promoting from within. If you are looking for longevity and reasonable flexibility, this is the place to work! – less

April 19, 2013

Read the other posts regarding Sun and you'll see how it really is. Your "short time there" is not enough to base an opinion on. The direction the company is moving into is correct. The way they have done it is NOT.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, growing company
Team Member (Current Employee), Southfield, MINovember 27, 2012
Pros: on-site fitness center, 9 company-paid holidays, awesome pto package
Sun is a great place to work! Our senior management team is very involved, good performers are recognized for their efforts, and the company offers great benefits.

About Sun Communities

Build your career from the ground up (literally)! Sun gives you an opportunity to “get your hands dirty” in all aspects – Read more

Sun Communities Photos