Find companies:
Sun Life Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
167 reviews

Sun Life Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company overall
Mutli-line Claims Administrator (Current Employee), Wellesley, MAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: *
Cons: *
It is a good company overall. Some departments have better management than others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Business Transformation Senior Consultant (Current Employee), Wellesley HillsJuly 23, 2014
Great place to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot.Great place to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot.Great place to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot.Great place to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot.Great place to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot.Great place to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot.Great place – more... to Work. Enjoyable Experience. Learned a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relationship Manager
Senior Operations Consultant (Current Employee), Windsor, CTJune 19, 2014
In my current role at Sun Life Financial, I am responsible for the day to day oversight of operations that is outsourced to a third party vendor. A typical day would include me reviewing claims, making business decisions as they relate to the operations of the business, reviewing and editing processes, managing projects that wil support the operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Culture
Annuities Distributor Service Liaison (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 8, 2014
Met some amazing people while working at SLF - everyone was always extremely willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Help multiple leadership positions (Former Employee), CanadaApril 7, 2014
Employer invests in their employees providing ongoing training/courses. Really enjoyed working with them!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace with good and fun people
On-site Support/ Win 7 upgrade specialist (Current Employee), Wellesley, MAApril 3, 2014
I come into work and check the ticket Que, and emails.
I will make phone calls and emails while, arranging times to troubles shoot and problem solve users computer issues. I also check and maintain inventory. I also build and configure laptops and desktops for users, and also for refresh user old equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with workers willing to collaborate and assist each other with daily work assignments
Implementation Consultant (Current Employee), Windsor, CTFebruary 14, 2014
I work out of a work basket and I am assigned work daily. I will review documents for compliance and quality assurance for each case, each demanding its own required attention. I have learned about our business, how it differs from my previous underwriting at the Hartford. My co-workers and more experience employees are willing to assist me with jobs – more... activities and policies that are still new due to the learning process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is lacking in knowledge and experience
LTD Claim Administrator (Former Employee), Windsor, CTFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: good insurance for employees, employees willing to each other when manangement falls short
Cons: low pay, lack of training for positions hired for
management disrespectful, lacking in knowledge of job function and training of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company but very stressful
Front End Claims Generalist (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAFebruary 3, 2014
This company has amazing opportunities for even entry level positions within the insurance industry. However, you'll need to be ready for a very very fast paced environment and a high volume of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: psychotic managers
I loved my job but my manager was not good at managing others. I went to HR for guidance and was promptly fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was first company i have worked in US, and great experience working for Sunlife
QA Analyst (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAJanuary 17, 2014
Sunlife was the first company I have worked for in US. I was new to US but I got great support from my colleagues and was awesome atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Insurance Carrier
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS REPRESENATIVE (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 8, 2014
This is a good opportunity if you are aligned with a significant amount of brokers that have a constant stream of good RFP activity. If not this position is not a good one and you will not succeed. This position is 80% based on your distribution partnership and 20% underwriting and organizational growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sun Life
Internal Wholesaler (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 2, 2014
Managed territory on annuity and linked benefit platform. Aided advisors with case work and product information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Vacation and Sick time
Senior Stop Loss Analyst (Current Employee), Windsor, CTDecember 7, 2013
Pros: paid overtime
Cons: set work hours
No flexibility within department
great vacation and sick time great 401K
Co-workers are good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job with good benefits
Multi-Line Dental Claims Manager (Former Employee), Greenfield MADecember 4, 2013
I was a manager and enjoyed my job. I really liked working with people. I enjoyed trying to figure out solutions to problems. Really liked to do projects and always met my deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and enjoyable environment
Sales Coordinator/Underwriter (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CANovember 26, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, no micromanagement
Cons: large company, less individual attention
Underwrote daily, coordinated and submitted sold cases. Learned a great deal about the industry and how to get along with all types of personalities. Great management team. Fun coworkers, had daily laughs. Hardest part of the job was not being able to say no and doing other people's jobs for them. Most enjoyable part of the job was the wonderful atmosphere – more... and amazing people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work,
Medical Billing and Coding, Short Term Temporary (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAOctober 14, 2013
Pros: great facilities, plenty of parking
Cons: not hiring for permanent positions
Great company to work for. Good hours, plenty support to workers. Training program needs to be updated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Wellesely, MASeptember 29, 2013
better understanding of the business and IT processes.
• Responsible for analysis and functional specifications of As-Is and To-Be Business model to conduct GAP analysis in comparison to the proposed system to enhance the functionality of the application.
• Gathered Business requirements through interviews, surveys and observing from account managers – more... and conducted controlled brain-storming sessions with project focus groups and documented them in the Business requirement Document
• Designed and developed project templates based on SDLC Methodology
• Planned and defined system requirements to Use Cases, Use Case Scenarios and Use Case Narratives using the UML methodologies
• Compiled financial, accounting, and economic data, developed investment guidelines, established comprehensive risk and asset allocation program for variable annuity subaccounts
• Created Use Case Diagrams, Activity Diagrams, and Sequence Diagrams using MS Visio
• Identify different types of users and analyze several important human engineering factors and guidelines and incorporated them into a design of a user interface using MS Visio
• Managed and coordinated the QA team to create the test approach and determine test needs, test environment, test data, resources and limitations
• Researched financial reports to support investment strategies of variable annuities separate accounts. Utilized trend reports to develop hypothetical investment returns models.
• Performed manual and automated tested related to the graphical user interface, functionality testing, security testing, and testing related to data sources
• Helped to develop test strategies, test cases, test plans, defect reports, Traceability Matrixes and test environments and managed the testing process, bug reporting and analysis of test results.
• Tracked the progress of system testing, and provided a daily status report to the Test Manager
• Used Test Director to house all test documentation and report/track all issues and defects
• Acted as a customer representative during the iteration cycles, and assisted in the data mapping process
• Interaction with the developers to report and correct bugs
• Worked with the business end users, project and technology management and their staff, to identify, define, interpret, and clarify scope of problems/issues in terms of complex business systems requirements and processes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, excellent flexibility
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: flexible home/life balance
Cons: not enough room for advancement
A typical day at work started with the team morning meeting, then review email inbox and resolve urgent issues, then prioritize all items on to do list. I learned how to communicate more effectively, I obtained my life and health insurance license. My co-workers were great and we had an amazing team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Annuity Commissions Specialist
Annuity Commissions Specialist (Former Employee), Wellesley Hills, MAAugust 26, 2013
Client-focused individual with proven ability to research problems, provide solutions, and communicate with internal and external customers using a diplomatic approach. Proven ability to juggle several projects simultaneously, while working under pressure in fast-paced environments. Strong track record in defining, developing, and implementing action – more... plans to maximize productivity, efficiency, and profitability while maintaining quality assurance levels. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Sun Life Financial

Sun Life is a leading international provider of protection and wealth accumulation products and services to individual and corporate – Read more

Sun Life Financial Photos