Find companies:
Sun Tan City
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
110 reviews

Sun Tan City Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energentic and fun workplace
Manager (Former Employee), Omaha, NEDecember 1, 2014
I was a manager so I had a lot on my plate. A lot of new client paperwork, inventories and account balances to complete, send off and file away. It was a fast paced workplace, almost constantly busy. Even with a hectic day with a million and one things to do, the atmosphere was always upbeat and positive. My perfect example of the best of both worlds. – more... ;) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Green Hills, TNNovember 24, 2014
Good place to work if you're looking for a job and not a career. Opportunities will arise but the turnover rate was a bit much. Of course every place of work could have improvements but this was a good place of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I've EVER Had
Assistant Salon Director (Former Employee), Kingsport, TNNovember 20, 2014
Pros: free tanning
Cons: terrible management, no work/life balance, overworked & underpaid, hard work goes unnoticed, pushy sales tactics, constant audio monitoring, etc etc etc
Where to even start.... I was actually excited to start my career with STC and it seemed great for the first month or so. I worked in both the Kingsport and Johnson City locations and let me just say this is one of the most corrupt, backstabbing companies I have worked for in all my life. Within the first 8 months I was promoted to an Assistant Salon – more... Director and let me tell you I was SEVERELY overworked and underpaid. The District Manager was a total witch whom everyone hated because she was completely condescending and fake. You are basically trained to lie to your customers and trick them into signing contracts and forced to harass them until they give in and purchase products. They eventually put audio recording devices in the stores to monitor whether we were asking EVERY customer to purchase lotions, EVEN IF THEY JUST BOUGHT A $90 BOTTLE OF LOTION YESTERDAY, you still had to suggest something new to them today. I tried to be the best employee possible, coming in early and staying late (because my manager was binge drinking every night couldn't get her life together) and never got so much as a "thank you" from my direct manager nor the DM for all my efforts, so don't be surprised if your hard work goes unnoticed. I could say so much more but I'm sure you get the picture... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Corporate Training Salon Director (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 22, 2014
Fast paced.
Several job responsibilities.
Great experience with management responsibilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work.
Tanning Consultant/Key Holder (Former Employee), London, KYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not much hours
I loved my job at Sun Tan City.
It was a very fun job.
And I loved my co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Tanning consultant (Current Employee), Jackson, TNOctober 5, 2014
Loved my job. interacting with customers. management was amazing. the coworkers I learned to handle. hardest part of the job was cleaning beds. most enjoyable connecting with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too high stress for a tanning job
Key Holder (Former Employee), Mooresville, INOctober 1, 2014
Management changed every two weeks, but coworkers were very fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Salon Direction (Former Employee), multiple locationsSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits, good discounts, clean environment
Cons: great corporation, horrible franchise owners (at least one of them)
Boy, did I wish I took the advice I had read prior to working for this company. It started off pleasant, worked for a rude Salon Director, but she did a half decent job of training, and I was being trained for upper management, so I dealt with it. The sales goals were outrageous, but so are they in any sales job, again, I dealt with it. It wasn't until – more... I was transferred and promise a much higher salary (my DM did not put anything on paper) and paid a decent chunk towards moving, and did a great job of helping advance me anything else I needed. About 6 months into the new opening, business was great, but I got a bad batch of TC's that were being manipulated by my DM and I started having complications with my pregnancy. I required special accommodations that they reluctantly conformed to, so that I didn't report them. I was pulled out of work early on leave for complications and during that time, my job position (which was protected by FMLA) was filled without my being aware. After I had my child I was told by several of my staff members and clients of mine that I saw around town that they were told I was demoted/fired/transferred, and addressed it with the franchise owner and HR and it was brushed under the carpet and pretended like it hadn't happened. Two days before returning back to work, my son passed away and required that I take off more time for personal reasons, again protected and promised to me by FMLA. At this point I addressed where my disability checks were, and was told that I didn't have short term disability, even though my DM told me that I would have it, contingent on my transfer to the new state), again, ignored. They had me come back to work, just to corner me in the office and order me to not speak of the death of my son to anyone, and I was scolded when my DM was made aware of the fact that they all knew already. Exactly four weeks to the day later, they terminated me for "violation of policies" that did not exist. Yes this can all be proven and is fully documented. Please take my advice and do not make the same mistake IF YOU WANT A CAREER with them. Their hourly employees are treated decently, but once they get you on salary, the lies and cheating starts. And by the way, TRUST NO ONE, they are ALL scandalous. Oh and by the way this particular franchise lied and therefore prevented me from being rehired by CORPORATE is does not operate the same crummy way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bed Technician
Bed Technician (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYSeptember 18, 2014
Typical day would be cleaning beds and ensuring client safety. The management knew how to manage day to day operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment large bonus opportunities
Salon Director (Current Employee), Henderson, KYSeptember 11, 2014
I value my position at STC. The clients are great and the equipment is top of the line. The only negative is very few advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay part time job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New Bern, NCSeptember 11, 2014
Job was fun, customers were nice, current management at the time was not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hands on
Floater"/Assistant (Current Employee), Owensboro, KYSeptember 10, 2014
Cons: the pay and hours
thankful to have a job and to learn something new. need a second job though in order to make ends meet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makes a good entry level sales/retail job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Ozark, MOSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: no scheduled breaks
The position itself is easy, the company has an unrealistic sales goal that changes every hour based on over 200 salons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIAugust 30, 2014
Laid back and fun environment. A lot of strict rules you must abide by but as long as you follow the rules it is fine. There is plenty of ways to make extra money and advance in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intresting work place
Assistant Salon Director (Former Employee), michiganAugust 27, 2014
Typical day was either opening and closing of the salon. Helping with the inventory and daily stats with salon director every day. Make sure QOH was turned in weekly.

Hardest part of the job was doing everything we were suppose to working the majority of the time by ourselves.

Most enjoyable was getting to know the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in with great people
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Fort Wayne, INAugust 19, 2014
greet clients
consult with them about tanning needs
make a reccomendation based on clients needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job with advancement opportunities
Salon Director (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: commission, uniforms
Cons: management, no job security
I gained a lot of friends through this job. Guests confided in me and I took pride in the fact that I could help them with their skin care and color.

It is a sales based job so hours are based on performance but it is extremely easy to move up in the company if you can perform to their standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable part time job
Tanning Consultant (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJuly 27, 2014
This job was super easy & was fun. We always had something to do & were busy quite a bit of the time. The management was very good & easy to work with. The other employees were also fun to work with & everyone got along well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management.
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great clients
Cons: no breaks. long days. poor management.
The management at STC is by far the worst management I have ever had to deal with throughout the 4 years I have been working. If a manager does not like you, they will do everything they possibly can to get you out of there. The management there is comparable to a "click" in high school. They are all friends and going above them to deal with issues – more... within the salon will only get you in more trouble. The job is fairly easy if you are ok with a lot of responsibility. The clients who come in, for the most part, are great. If it weren't for the management, I could have seen myself there for the remainder of my college years. There are weekly and monthly bonuses but are taken away if you do anything less than perfect while you are there. You work very hard to reach "personal goals" only to get the money taken away for being a penny off at the end of the night or being 30 seconds late. (no exaggeration) I am not one to leave bad reviews for any kind of company, but anyone who is looking for employment with STC should be aware of these issues. This bad review is not because of a personal issue with the management or with STC, but working there and having them completely screw over each employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, laid back, learn skills needed for better jobs
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Waynesboro VAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: free tanning. laid back environment.
Cons: no benefits. not enough hours. full time not available.
My typical day at work consist of clocking in, opening cash drawer, managing customer accounts, safely recommending tan times, selling lotion and upgrade packages, cleaning beds and salon, providing great customer service while always keeping a smile on my face. I've learned computer skills, customer service skills, as well as sales techniques. I get – more... along well with management and my co-workers. The hardest part of my job would have to be selling to the customers that never want anything. With my job being commission based, that is the most important part but either way I always try my hardest. The most enjoyable part is just communicating with customers, getting to know them while building my clientele and the satisfaction of a big commission check! – less

1 2 3 4 5