Find companies:
Sun Tan City
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

Sun Tan City Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job with advancement opportunities
Salon Director (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: commission, uniforms
Cons: management, no job security
I gained a lot of friends through this job. Guests confided in me and I took pride in the fact that I could help them with their skin care and color.

It is a sales based job so hours are based on performance but it is extremely easy to move up in the company if you can perform to their standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable part time job
Tanning Consultant (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJuly 27, 2014
This job was super easy & was fun. We always had something to do & were busy quite a bit of the time. The management was very good & easy to work with. The other employees were also fun to work with & everyone got along well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management.
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great clients
Cons: no breaks. long days. poor management.
The management at STC is by far the worst management I have ever had to deal with throughout the 4 years I have been working. If a manager does not like you, they will do everything they possibly can to get you out of there. The management there is comparable to a "click" in high school. They are all friends and going above them to deal with issues – more... within the salon will only get you in more trouble. The job is fairly easy if you are ok with a lot of responsibility. The clients who come in, for the most part, are great. If it weren't for the management, I could have seen myself there for the remainder of my college years. There are weekly and monthly bonuses but are taken away if you do anything less than perfect while you are there. You work very hard to reach "personal goals" only to get the money taken away for being a penny off at the end of the night or being 30 seconds late. (no exaggeration) I am not one to leave bad reviews for any kind of company, but anyone who is looking for employment with STC should be aware of these issues. This bad review is not because of a personal issue with the management or with STC, but working there and having them completely screw over each employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, laid back, learn skills needed for better jobs
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Waynesboro VAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: free tanning. laid back environment.
Cons: no benefits. not enough hours. full time not available.
My typical day at work consist of clocking in, opening cash drawer, managing customer accounts, safely recommending tan times, selling lotion and upgrade packages, cleaning beds and salon, providing great customer service while always keeping a smile on my face. I've learned computer skills, customer service skills, as well as sales techniques. I get – more... along well with management and my co-workers. The hardest part of my job would have to be selling to the customers that never want anything. With my job being commission based, that is the most important part but either way I always try my hardest. The most enjoyable part is just communicating with customers, getting to know them while building my clientele and the satisfaction of a big commission check! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tanning Consultant
Key Holder Tanning Consultant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 9, 2014
Provided outstanding service to customers; sales; operating a clean, well-maintained and efficient tanning centers; along with supporting store management needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Hendersonville, TNJune 27, 2014
Pros: free tanning
Cons: late hours
A typical day at work for me at Sun Tan City is to approve payroll for the day before, to do the deposit and get it to the bank. To make sure all my daily stats (outlook on sales, performance, labor)
are all completed. I have to make sure my schedule is completed for the following week, I also do daily inventory of product. I coach on a daily bases – more... with my employees on sales and client service. I make sure that all my clients needs are met. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the client interacting and all of the wonderful people I have been able to meet. The hardest part of the job for me was working until midnight some nights. At Sun Tan City I have learned many different things that I know will help me to achieve success in any area that I go to. I have learned how to take a deep breath and handle any situation that comes my way, being with clients or with handling employee situations. My coworkers were all really great people, everyone had something unique about them, I have enjoyed the time I have got to spend with everyone.
I have decided to look at different options for my career because I have a three year old and I work very late hours and I have missed much of his life because of my work schedule, I am leaving Sun Tan City on good terms and would have the door open if I ever wanted to come back, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with the ability to make a career out of
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJune 24, 2014
Pros: free tanning, promoting within
Cons: short breaks, consuming schedules
Fun atmosphere with the ability to utilize an interest(of tanning) as a job that can provide an income as a career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Hours
Tan Consultant (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, KYJune 18, 2014
Pros: easy, stay busy
Cons: lack of hours, no benfits unless your full time
If you are looking for an easy job that you only work four hours a week than this is a great job. Also there is no benfits unless your full time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your a salesman that sells alot this job is awesome!
Salon Director (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJune 15, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: bad management
If your a salesman that sells alot this job is awesome! better bring your A game every day or you will make no money!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Bardstown, |KYJune 12, 2014
A day at STC is completely unpredictable, but that is what makes it so great. you always have an opportunity to assist clients in making informed decisions regarding their wants and needs. I like working with the public, it is never boring due to every new client promotes an individual challenge to either overcome, or an experience to learn from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Bed Tech (Former Employee), Greenwood, INJune 9, 2014
Pros: tanned for free
Cons: poor hours, poor pay, boring, etc.
Working at Sun Tan City wasn't very fun. The people I worked with didn't communicate much. We were very busy at some times and then others very slow. I didn't like it very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for college student, flexible hours, free tanning
Tanning Consultant (Current Employee), Keene, NHJune 9, 2014
Pros: free tanning, employee discounts, flexible hours
Cons: late nights, weekends, no room to grow
A Typical day at work is going in opening your drawer, checking people in, advising clients on tan times and lotions, cleaning beds and salon, and closing your drawer. I have learned a lot of great customer service skills. The management is new and needs a little work but the co workers are great. The hardest part if the job is the hours a lot of the – more... time you will work until 10 pm and almost every weekend and only get 16 to 20 hours. Its a good job but not a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Low Wages, Hard Work
Tanning Consultant (Former Employee), KentuckyJune 4, 2014
Pros: free tanning, product discount
Cons: low wages, long hours, physical labor
STC in general is a decent place to work. They do the best they can to make sure are trained and knowledgeable on the products before throwing you in front of customers. I never left at the end of my shift not drenched in sweat and completely exhausted. The rooms gets hot after so long and running back and forth cleaning really will wear you out. They – more... have great incentives for employees and track how much product you sell. If you fall below a certain number they try to find ways to help you sell more product per tanner. I will say that with it being a tanning salon and it being retail, you get young/immature/catty/bratty people. My salon was horrible for keeping employees which caused those who stayed to have to work more hours than they really signed up for. I feel that management could really do more as far as the work environment, atmosphere, and handling attitudes from current employees. Don't go to upper management unless you have all your ducks in a row, or you will be made to feel that you are completely wasting their time. I found a better paying job, better hours and better work environment. I would not go back to STC unless it was my last resort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Store Director (Current Employee), Bossier City, LAMay 28, 2014
I will make sure laundry is caught up, beds are clean, put customers in bed, and count inventory. With each customer we will make sure their current products they are using are working and if not we ask questions so we can find them a better product!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment with a great company.
Assistant Manger (Current Employee), Altoona, IAMay 25, 2014
Pros: free tanning
Cons: no benefits, unstable hours
A typical day at work includes checking clients in and providing the best results within the tanning industry. I train my tanning consultants, take inventory, sell packages/products based off of our clients needs. I am a team player. I have learned a lot about sales and certain techniques to meet my daily goals. The management is overall pretty well – more... balanced, keeping the salon running smoothly. I love working with my co workers. Hardest part of the job would have to be dealing with upset clients. I love staying busy and working in a fun, upbeat, busy environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment!
Tanning Consultant/Cashier (Current Employee), Fishers, INMay 20, 2014
I enjoyed working for Sun Tan City! All the extra work they put into each employee to make them knowledgeable about their products !
The thing I took most out of working for STC was learning a sale technique which helped me excel in my sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work
Salon director in Training (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYMay 19, 2014
Pros: free tanning nice clients
Cons: childish co workers
loved sun tan city, worked hard and did my best. management could have been better. co-workers were catty and did anything they could to get you wrote up. loved sales and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Tanning Consultant (Former Employee), Holland, MIMay 12, 2014
Nice employees, fun atmosphere, learned a great deal! Pay isn't that good though, and owners are rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
results driven
Sales associate in a small group environment (Current Employee), Brentwood, TNMay 3, 2014
Great opportunity for growth, have to manage your time well in order to meet all customer needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Tanning Consultant (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 3, 2014
Loved working for sun tan city, it was an amazing job. Loved my manager and the clients.

1 2 3 4 5